We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay and Lovely Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hunger Wall Residence
Ranked #1 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Torino
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to stay and Lovely Staff”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stay here for a long weekend two weeks ago. Hunger Wall was the right choice because the place is charming and located in a central street on the other side of the river but not so far from the Prague Old Town and the Castle (you can walk or use the frequently trams near the Residence).
The apartment on the third floor was rather silence and fitted out with everything (all the main appliances including a dryer).Rooms were big and the cleaness flawless.
But the Hunger Wall Residence strong point are the Staff and the Café Lounge downstairs. All guys are helpful and friendly and the quality of all the services is great, including the car services from/to the Prague Airport. Food is fine and the kind attention for all the details is pleasant.
We founded this Prague accomodation by chance and really it was a great surprise. We can say that the experience at the Hunger Wall Residence was greatly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cinzia_Giacomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
207
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely, comfortable, fab.
We booked a 55sq m suite and were not disappointed. So spacious and smart.
Cafe has a lovely cosy atmosphere, very nice breakfast selection and ohhhh if you are a coffee drinker :-)
Service was great, nothing too much trouble. We booked taxis to and from the airport.
We had a late flight and though we offered to pay an extra nights fee, they jiggled things around and let us stay FOC which I thought was very nice of them.

I really liked the location ... Being on the other side of the river is nice.

Supermarket 100 steps away.

Only one criticism, we happened to be there in a mini heat wave and temperatures were around 32 degrees. There's no air con and the rooms were hot. Would be nice if hotel could get some plug in air conditioning units for these times.

Having said that, if I came back to Prague, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road are sunnier but noisier (okay with windows shut)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi0na1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plimmerton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We booked the junior studio apartment and were not disappointed. The apartment was well equipped and spacious for the two of us. Nice to spread out once in a while. The staff are helpful and friendly. If you want breakfast in the hotel cafe you will have to book. Breakfast is reasonable and there is a good selection of coffee including specialist filtered. And more important they know how to make it (for all those kiwis out there). Location is within walking distance of old town and there is some good bars/restaurants nearby. Only downside was shower over bath but I can live with that. Another plus was apartment included washer and dryer, useful for those traveling light or on long vacation.

Helpful?
Thank Horrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a lovely property, location is great, Staff helpful & friendly, convenient restaurant downstairs.
Rooms are amazing beautiful furnishings , huge rooms and space, Washer & Dryer, all one could want except air conditioning. It was hot in Praque, and street noise though not bad did make sleeping a challenge. When asked the staff said it was not possible to install A/C equipment in a heritage building, but we have seen it very similar buildings in Europe, still I don't really know about such things.
Location is excellent, we used the trams a lot, & there is a stop very close by, Also close to supermarket. I would say very well situated.
We found the TV set confusing, but did negotiate its complexities.
Stay was overall very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evere
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It was wonderful stay... we took the Junior Suite... one bed room apartment you may say but different is someone clean it every day which was very pleasant. Even though the Cafe downstair is not owned by the hotel but you get room service without any extra charge.
The place is walking distance from Charles bridge & old town or you can take a connecting Tram near by. For Airport line take tram 20 then change to Bus 119 in 45 min you can be in Airport. The Hunger Wall and the Funiculor for the Patrin Hill is just at the same place of the hotel. The river side is 5 min walk. I want to say this is ideal place & quite inside the rooms. Even though outside temp was 33C but inside without Airco still was fine.
I would like to thank the nice sweet lady "Suzanne" in reception for her nice welcome and explaining to us everything very nicely & the advices for traveling. Really appreciate. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank true f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We are 3 of us traveling: 2 adults x 1 nine year old and our 1 bedroom apartment was perfectly suited for our 4 night stay in Prague. We had traveled 37 hours from Australia and it was like a home to us with our own washing machine, kitchenette and some of the best coffee served at the downstairs restaurant we gave had anywhere in the world plus a couple of food markets right on the corner that had v. cheap beer and pastries. We could walk to Old Town, the castle and the National Theater is a 7 minute walk. I got the last ticket on Saturday morning to see Swan Lake that evening, one of the highlights of my stay. Very easy to walk to several very good parks for my son, especially the low ropes course playground on the park in the middle of the river, highly recommend. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially with figuring out the tram system.

Room Tip: Higher up has less street noise, but we were staying during an unusual heat wave and had to sleep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisavon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just came back from a week in Prague at the Hunger Wall Residence. There are no words to describe this place ... wonderful host Karolina, excellent location, beautifully restored building, luxurious flat, tastefully decorated and appointed ..... walking distance to everywhere, lots of bars and restaurants in the vicinity. We didn't want to leave this place and if possible, would have stayed forever :) Now counting the days till our return to Prague, which without a doubt, will be soon and will always be at Hunger Wall Residence. Děkuji a nashledanou Karolina, Hunger Wall and Praha!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GizmoZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Praha 5
Aparthotel City 5
Aparthotel City 5
#4 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunger Wall Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunger Wall Residence

Property: Hunger Wall Residence
Address: Plaska 615/8, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 5
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunger Wall Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunger Wall is a newly opened elegant residence with complete service, ready to provide full comfort to a demanding clientele. The early 20th century (1903) building underwent a complete renovation with the preservation of elements of Secessionist architecture. A historical gem is situated in the courtyard of the building - a fragment of the Hunger Wall that was built in 1360 - 1362, during the period of the reign of Charles IV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunger Wall Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing