We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel but well situated”
Review of Hotel Rubicon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rubicon
Ranked #216 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Very basic hotel but well situated”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The entrence of the hotel is very poor. A big wooden door which looks old. When you enter the hotel it looks fine. Small reception. Staff spreaks english very well, but you have to be lucky if they are kind to you. Some weren't.
Our room was on the second floor, almost next to the breakfast room (noisy in the morning). The rooms were clean and warm. There were some small things that could have been better, like a door fell out of the shower cabine. But the staff fixed it quickly. Crutains which were way to small for the windows. They are renovating the hotel so it will be better in the future. Also the oudside looks of the hotel.
Breakfast was very good, lots of choise in drinks and food.
The location of the hotel was very good aswell. Just a few minutes walk of the old town square (Staromestské námestí). Here are lots of bars/restaurants/shops. I can recommend this hotel if you are making a citytrip in Prague.

Room Tip: Don't get yourself a room on the second floor. You'll be awake at 7.00 because people have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    216
    120
    61
    56
See reviews for
105
183
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

-1st impression very bad, poor reception, poor room without mirror, bad smell, freezing inside the room(i had sleep in hoodie), view on the roof. I couldnt sleep. My friends move to other hotel after 1night. The room looks very depressed. The receptionist was rude and in bad mood

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is a basic hotel that my wife and I stopped in for 3 nights on a pre xmas city break. Hotel check in was simple and the staff spoke good English. Our room was basic but clean and warm. That was fine for us, as we only needed the room as a place to sleep. The hotel has a breakfast restaurant and in the morning you can help yourself to cooked sausage, boiled eggs, cheeses, cooked meats, cereal, juice, rolls, cake, coffee, tea or hot chocolate.

The hotel is perfectly situated for the old square (5 mins walk away) and is close to many hotels, friendly bars, coffee shops and patisseries.

Don't expect a 5 star star, it isn't that sort of place. However, nor is it the youth hostel or hovel that some people claim in their reviews. We are both in our late 40s and felt very safe here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Ok - really the word to desribe this hotel, first of all a travellers destination Prague with hotel staff not knowing any language except there own, 2nd problem safe did not work after paying 25 kz a day to use and refund refused as did not understand me, 3rd problem every day was an issue with the card swipe for the doors and just kept swiping on the machine in reception and still nothing worked after like 15 attempts, 4th problem other guests noisy banging on hotel doors this was a problem every night from 8pm to 7am just top of this experience cleaners onlast day arrived at my room at 6am never come before and just opened my door no knocking or warning and had never come to the room before. would not stay again.

Room Tip: Not a place to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K13r4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The location to tips hotel is good If you Are interested in walking around in the old town, but If you fancy a fancy hotel, stay away.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballefresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SATU MARE
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel it is in the old jewish quarter,at 5-10 minutes walk to the old square.The room was cleaned every day,towels changed etc.The price includes a various and tasty breakfast,usefull for the next hours of walking,visiting,admiring.I strongly reccomend the pub near the hotel:tasty local beer,good food,smiling personal and very good prices(a beer at 1 euro,not 3-4 euro like in the Old square or Charles bridge).

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOASCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the second time this past July for spending three nights. The hotel is nice, cheap and centrally located, next to the Jewish quarter and Staroměstské náměstí (the square where we have the Astronomical Clock).

We hadn't any serious problem at this hotel, our room was clean and the breakfast, included in the price, was good. The only downside I could make is that WiFi only worked in reception and the walls are very fine and the last night we had some noisy neighbours.

If we ever return to Prague we'll back for staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaulGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#123 of 649 in Prague
329 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#111 of 649 in Prague
1,456 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Central Hotel Prague
Central Hotel Prague
#200 of 649 in Prague
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Casa Marcello
Hotel Casa Marcello
#162 of 649 in Prague
562 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bene
Residence Bene
#261 of 649 in Prague
433 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubicon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubicon

Property: Hotel Rubicon
Address: Hastalska 371/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rubicon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rubicon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing