We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully renovated and reasonably priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Ranked #139 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
2 reviews
“Beautifully renovated and reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Alqush Hotel in Prague during May 2012 and our accommodations were excellent.  It is a small, 24-room hotel, fully renovated with lovely appointments and all the amenities.  The rates are 55-58 Euro per night, approximately $75, including a full breakfast and all taxes and fees, free WiFi in the rooms and complimentary use of computers in the lobby if needed.  It is located just off the downtown area, not the busy and expensive tourist area, about 3 blocks from a major tram line as well as a metro subway station, a 20-minute tram ride to all major tourist attractions, 10-minutes from the National Theatre, or about a 20-minute walk from Wenceslas Square.  They have dependable drivers available at reasonable rates for train station and airport pick-up or for private tours.  Diana Shayaova, one of the managers, extended us every courtesy and addressed all our needs.  All of the front desk personnel speak English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoNoscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. We highly appreciate your detailed review and compliments. I hope that next time you come to Prague you will stay with us again, please don't hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than happy to provide you with our best offer.

Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    208
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
321
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in early April and we could not fault it. From the very helpful reception staff who assisted this non-Czech speaking group with fluent English through to the quality of the rooms and superb breakfast we felt all our needs were met to a high degree. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was beyond our expectations and we certainly did not leave the hotel for our day's activities needing any further food during the day. It is a bit of a walk to the Old Town but you get to see Wenceslas Square on the way and other beautiful buildings. ATM and metro close by. Overall we were very satisfied with the highlight being the friendliness of staff

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knightsupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a positive review, it was a pleasure for all us to read it and I believe that it will provide many travelers with a lot of useful details. Once you plan another trip to Prague, please make sure you contact us in advance so we offer you our best prices.
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed with my partner and mom with friends (ladies over 50). This is firsthand experience and not hearsay or rumors.

The only good thing about this hotel is that we were able to book it cheaply from booking.com.

The hotel is probably 500m away from IP Pavlova train station. If you're getting in at night, when it might be raining, walking to the hotel could be tedious. It's a long walk with your luggage!

On Service and Cleanliness
We stayed a total of 4 nights and 5 days. Sheets were not changed!!! We notice this on our 3rd night and had to ask the front desk for this to be done. They only clean the bathroom, they do not vacuum the room.

The weather was transitioning to spring from winter and it was becoming hot in our rooms already. We called frontdesk for the remote. The night front desk Filip informs us that he does not know where the remote is, and is most likely locked in storage somewhere by his colleagues. He also added that he is only temporary staff of the hotel and would not be able to help us.

On Value for Money
Booked the junior suite for a good price through booking.com. When we got in, we informed front desk that we wanted to stay an extra day, the front desk (Tereza) simply informs us that the hotel is fully booked and that we would have to pay double the price for the last night.

Lastly, the three older ladies we were traveling with had a very bad experience over breakfast our first day there. One of the waitresses rudely pointed out where the coffee area was and did not have the patient to point things out. This was brought to management and they apologized sending them a bouquet of nuts. I commend management on this. I hope they can keep tabs on the rest of the service staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyalevatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. We appreciate your review, not only the positive side of it, but also the negative one because it helps us improve our services even more and that is what we are most interested in.
I am aware of the miscommunication you had with one of our restaurant employees and I am glad that she apologized and you explained the misunderstanding to each other in person. I see that overall your experience was not so positive as our guests usually have, but in case you decide to give it another chance, you can be sure that we will make your stay unforgettable.

Please feel free to contact us anytime if there is something we can do for you.
Have a great day.
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel is very comforting. It's really close to the I.P. Pavlova metro station and you can even walk to the city center within a couple of minutes. There are a lot of shops in the neighborhood, so getting groceries is absolutely no problem.

The hotel is situated at a very busy road, but my room was very quite and calm. The bathroom was nice and everything was very clean.

All in all a very good value for the money, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a descent affordable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room on the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magikMaker666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, which we appreciate. Yes, our guests are lucky to have such a strategic location which is a walking distance from the main Wenceslas square and National Museum, and next to a metro and tram station which easily takes you around the whole city during day and night. We are glad that you would recommend us to other travelers and hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Have just returned from Prague and would recommend this hotel to anybody! Great location and top class service! Only problem was that we could not control our air conditioning but luckily it was not too hot when we stayed here! Would gladly stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dcomkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review; it was a pleasure reading it. I suppose you have visited us in the beginning of spring when the remote controls for air conditioning was not available in the rooms due to not so warm weather in Prague; however, please note that all the rooms are equipped with remote controllers since the end of April again. Once you plan another trip to Prague, feel free to contact us directly for a special offer.

Best Regards
Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Alqush hotel over the New Year and were quite satisfied with this newly (re-)opened establishment. The reception staff was courteous and knowledgeable; the room at the top floor was spacious and newly renovated and we did not hear any street noise.
The hotel is located on a major street a bit of a walk south of Wenceslas square, so if you wish to roll out of bed and be in the old town this probably isn't for you. A subway stop is four blocks away. It does seem convenient for those who drive into the city, however.
Only suggestion for the hotel: the breakfast was ample but the basement room was narrow and somewhat overfilled.
Otherwise, the hotel was affordable and the staff made us feel welcome. Recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. It’s a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with your room as well as our hotel staff, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it even though you stayed with us a long time ago. For your information, we have made a reconstruction of Restaurant Amigo where breakfast is served and also added an extra room to increase the total capacity and prevent from the crowded feeling of our guests.
It would be great to have you back so that you can experience the difference. Please feel free to contact us directly for a special offer for our regular guests.

Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is based in Vinohrady area in Prague, the closest metro station is IP Pavlova. We were based on the second floor of the hotel. The room looked nice, very clean, the beds were VERY comfortable, the bedding was good quality cotton. The breakfast was average although there was a variety which was good. One issue we had was the noise coming from the main road where the hotel was based on, it felt at times like it was a motorway, rather than a main road as the cars were constantly driving past at high speed, making lots of noise. Yes, the windows in the rooms provided some sound insulation, but we could still hear the cars all day and night. We learnt to live with it, but for those with sensitive hearing, this could be a major annoyance. Another problem to highlight was the area in which the hotel is based in, not many bars are around and you have to go to the metro to go to other more exciting parts of Prague where there is more entertainment and things to see. The reception staff were very friendly. Free internet facilities. One more final thing to mention, we travelled in April, for a city break, however we had no idea that this is the month where Prague has the highest rainfall - it was raining all day for 2 days!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VVNJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review which we appreciate. It’s great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially the comfortable bedding :) We did put a lot of effort into achieving high quality sleeping for our guests so such review like yours is definitely great feedback for us. For your information, we now have double-glazed windows which minimize the noise coming from the street so even the lightest sleepers should have no problem with noise at all.
Since you were satisfied during your stay with us, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly in order to get the best offer for regular clients.

Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#197 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#75 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#64 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#93 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#119 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#109 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alqush Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alqush Downtown Hotel

Property: Alqush Downtown Hotel
Address: Legerova 15, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alqush Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO ALQUSH DOWNTOWN HOTEL ****Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is a luxurious family hotel situated in the heart of historical Prague. Its convenient location offers our guests a close proximity to the fascinating sightseeing highlights of Prague. Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is located only a few minutes walking distance from the famous Wenceslas Square, National Museum and the Congress Center. Hotel´s limousine service and reliable public transport guarantee quick access to the beautiful Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Quarter and State Opera. The hotel is surrounded with restaurants, bars, banks and close to various shopping centers.Alqush Downtown Hotel **** offers 24 air-conditioned rooms, suites and family apartments, providing free Wi-Fi with high speed Internet connection. Our guests enjoy refreshments in the hotel lobby bar with a garden or take advantage of the conference room during their business meetings. Among special services, we also provide our guests with an airport transfer, and those of you coming by car, with a monitored parking space. We believe our hospitality, friendly approach and effort to meet all your needs will make your stay in the Alqush Downtown Hotel **** in Prague unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alqush Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing