We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waiting to come back next week :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Ranked #128 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Waiting to come back next week :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Amigo is first of all located great - 5 minutes walk from Pavlova station where you can get Tramve or Metro, but also 15-30 minutes walk from the train station, the main boulevard and the old city. The room we got was big, classic (but not outlandish) decorated and very very clean. The breakfast was very good, and there is strong free wifi everywhere. The staff was nice and helpful, really gave us the filling that they genuinely want to help, for example they recommended a restaurant for dinner and said there is no need to make a reservation, but when we got to the restaurant we found out that the girl from the reception called them anyway to make sure they give us a nice table... All in all, a wonderful experience and a great choice for Prague. Tip - don't necessarily book through Booking or similar sites, first address the hotel directly sometime they might give you an even better price.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rellyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing an objective review on Trip Advisor, it is highly appreciated. I am glad that some guests do realize what the differences between smaller local hotels and big famous chains are and that based on that comparison, they choose to stay in a local hotel. It is definitely not only about the huge price difference and the culture, but one definitely gets much more personal services and feeling of being at home once they stay in a family hotel like ours as you described in your review. Thank you for your review!!
Best Wishes
Your Hotel in Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    208
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
321
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a 3-days trip to Prague and was delighted with this hotel.
The rooms are spacious, and the room styling is classical, well suited to the city, with a large bathroom. The tv channel selection is quite limited, as most channels offered are in czech.
The hotel is located at around 7-8 minutes walk from the Wenceslas Square, where you can catch the metro to the downtown or a tram to the castle. There's a convenience store 200 meters from the hotel open until late.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
If you are going by plane to Prague, I highly recommend the shuttle services, that cost around 25 euros and will get you to the hotel very fast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure reading your detailed review, I am sure many Trip Advisor users will appreciate it. We are happy that you are one of the guests who leave with an unforgettable impression and will come back one day, we will be looking forward to that. Thank you for your comment regarding limited choice of channels, it a pity you didn’t ask our staff for assistance because it sounds like you did not switch to the foreign section of the channels and rather stayed only at the Czech ones. Next time you visit, we will be more than happy to assist you!
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

In short Alqush Downtown Hotel is a great place to stay at. The rooms are luxurious compared what I actually paid and the staff are really great and helpful. The room I had was spacious with a balcony (not the best view, but it was more than I expected). The breakfasts which was included was okay, it filled my hungry stomach the mornings I actually was able to get up. I wish they could extended the breakfast time to 10:30 so that it did not have to be so stressful. I used to do small talk with Hana, the girl in the reception every night, when I came home late. She was always very friendly.

The location of the flat is okay. In I.P Pavlova which you have the metro and the trams are within 5 min walk and the city centre within 15 min walk.

I will diffidently stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roosbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,
GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY! You made our day, because this is actually what we are trying to achieve, to surpass our guests’ expectations and provide all of you with a prime service and care. Thank you for your compliments regarding Hanka from the reception, she indeed is a very friendly person who enjoys taking care of our gusts. We will be looking forward to your next visit, please don’t hesitate to contact s directly for a sweet discount.
Best Regards,
Your Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Good European breakfast (every day the practically the same dishes, but good range of dishes), clean room, polite staff. Just 20 minutes away from the old town center.
The balcony in our room unfortunately was blocked.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Inna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Alexander,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. It makes us really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the accommodation as well as other services. We also hope to have you back so we can make sure you spend another unforgettable holiday with us. Once you know when you will be coming, please contact us directly so we provide you with our best offer for regular guests.
Best Wishes
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We spent 3 nights in early April at the Alqush.

The rooms are fairly large, especially for European standards, and while the decor could be updated, it doesn't look run-down or decrepit. The heat works great, (too good) and the mattress is firm and comfortable. The rooms/hotel was quiet, which is important to me as even with a little noise, I have trouble sleeping.

The bathrooms are large and the shower is great as well.

Breakfast is very nice and while some have stated it changes every day, expect only very minor changes. Still it is a quality breakfast and if your only staying 3 days or less you will not get tired of the choices. Their was eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, pastries, yogurt, fresh vegetables, etc.

The location is OK. It is about a 5-7 minute walk to the closest metro station, which requires at least one change to get to most of the pedestrian sites. It's about a 25 minute walk total if you choose to skip the metro, but keep in mind coming back, that 25 minutes is uphill, which is not fun.

The hotel is located next to a grocery store and a couple of restaurants all less than 5 minutes away. The grocery store is great if you like to keep drinks and snacks in the room.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They offered some suggestions for sightseeing during check-in, provided us with a typical tourist map and took their time in explaining directions. At one point I called down to bring up an extra pillow, and it arrived no more than 10 minutes later, with the woman smiling. They take your refresh the breakfast continuously and work hard.

The only negative is the WIFI is a bit slow. As in almost doesn't work slow. Though it is better depending on time of day, their were times when you basically just give up. This can be frustrating for people like us, as we like to read and plan what we are going to do the following day, during the evening.

Overall if you don't mind the walk to the metro, I would recommend this hotel due to the value for the money. As stated the WIFI can be annoying but the quality breakfast makes up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Keith,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. I am glad that you mentioned the hotel is not run-down, we have actually recently renovated it preserving all the original architectural features and paying attention to making the rooms as well as bathrooms spacious to increase our guests’ comfort. I highly appreciate your compliments regarding our staff; it is great to know that we have the right people on the right positions. Thank you for the comment regarding Wi-Fi, we are currently working on its improvement because to be honest, more guests have lately mentioned this issue. I am sure that next time you pay us a visit, it will be faster :)
We will be looking forward to having you back.
Best Regards
Your Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delebio, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at the Alqush hotel for 3 days and everithing was perfect.
A good position near the city center and all public transports.
Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Big clean rooms and bathrooms. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre-Saby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Andrew,
It was a pleasure reading your review about your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation and will be looking forward to your next visit.
Best Regards
Your Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perm, Russia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Good location, to Wenceslas Square 15 minutes to metro IP Pavlova 5 minutes. Very beautiful rooms. The room was cleaned every day. This room has a kettle, TV, hair dryer. A good breakfast. Courteous staff. The staff speaks English. I recommend this hotel for sightseeing holiday in Prague.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altunin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. We appreciate your compliments on our location, room design, cleanliness, breakfast and staff. We would be very glad to welcome you back soon and take care of you again. Please don’t hesitate to let us know once you consider visiting Prague again.
Have a great day!
Best Wishes
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#197 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#75 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#65 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#93 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#118 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#109 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alqush Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alqush Downtown Hotel

Property: Alqush Downtown Hotel
Address: Legerova 15, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alqush Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO ALQUSH DOWNTOWN HOTEL ****Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is a luxurious family hotel situated in the heart of historical Prague. Its convenient location offers our guests a close proximity to the fascinating sightseeing highlights of Prague. Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is located only a few minutes walking distance from the famous Wenceslas Square, National Museum and the Congress Center. Hotel´s limousine service and reliable public transport guarantee quick access to the beautiful Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Quarter and State Opera. The hotel is surrounded with restaurants, bars, banks and close to various shopping centers.Alqush Downtown Hotel **** offers 24 air-conditioned rooms, suites and family apartments, providing free Wi-Fi with high speed Internet connection. Our guests enjoy refreshments in the hotel lobby bar with a garden or take advantage of the conference room during their business meetings. Among special services, we also provide our guests with an airport transfer, and those of you coming by car, with a monitored parking space. We believe our hospitality, friendly approach and effort to meet all your needs will make your stay in the Alqush Downtown Hotel **** in Prague unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alqush Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing