We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alqush Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Ranked #129 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, very good location, wonderful rooms and awesome breakfast. The price was just unbelievably low for this room (to be honest I didn't expect much for this price at this location). For my next visit in Prague, I will definitely try to find a room in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Nella,
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers using Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate the time you took to write this review and will be looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    207
    36
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
320
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Landshut, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel is located ca 5 min walk from Pavlova Station ( Metro and Tram, also the 22 ). Our room was very clean, not too small. The staff were all very nice and helpful. There is a small covered terrace to the back of the building, where you can enjoy breakfast al fresco, if you don't mind carrying your plate out.
Downside: our room faced a main road, so earplugs were a must.
Alqush is now a smokefree hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Andrea,
It was a pleasure reading your review about your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation and found the ladies at our reception helpful, they always do their best to make all the clients happy. Great that you took advantage of our green garden, this calm terrace is available for our guests all day long. Yes, it is true that all our rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is possible in the garden or in front of the hotel where ashtrays are available. Thank you for your compliments and for the time you spent writing this review. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly for a sweet discount.
Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I really like hotels that are not too big and that are placed in beautiful historical buildings. Well, this one was definitely it. We were a bit surprised to find out it's located on a main four lane road but thankfully our room faced the interior yard and was absolutely quiet (except for the occasional noise from the elevator right next to our room). The decor is nice, the room is huge and the breakfast was fine as well. To get to the historical center you either take the metro, which is close, or you walk, it was a comfortable, half an hour stroll.
The only downside was the paid coffee and tea in the room. Seriously, never heard of this throughout Europe, you either have coffee service in your room or you don't but not that you are offered one but asked to pay like for the mini bar.
If you're local, you may find it strange that one of the receptionists will only speak to you in English despite being Czech herself. Why, we really didn't understand, but the other receptionist was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Nina,
It was a pleasure reading your detailed review, I am sure many Trip Advisor users will appreciate it. We are happy that you are one of the guests who leave with an unforgettable impression and will come back one day, we will be looking forward to that. Taking into consideration the attractive prices of accommodation in a top 4* hotel, we do not have mini-bar and coffee/tea complimentary; however, anyone can definitely enjoy it at an affordable price if they want to. Regarding your comment of English speaking receptionists, I suppose she didn’t know you spoke Czech/Slovakian as well, otherwise she would definitely speak Czech to you since we do not have any restrictions on that for our hotel personnel. Once you know when you will be coming, please contact us directly so we provide you with our best offer for regular guests.
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked 2 double rooms for 4 nights in Alquish Downtown Hotel. The hotel is very good located. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from metro (I.P.Pavlova). However, it is also easy to reach Museum and Wenceslas Square (Václavské náměstí) by foot. It took around 10 - 15 minutes. The staff was very friendly, they answered all our questions. As we had late arrival, they recommended good restaurants and bars nearby. They also highlighted main city sights on the map as well as provided us with a 24 hours transport card and helped with currency exchange. The breakfast was included into the room price and was good. Finally, the price for the room was really reasonable. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volkovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,
EXCELENT PLACE? You made our day, because this is actually what we are trying to achieve, to surpass our guests’ expectations and provide all of you with a prime service and care. We appreciate your compliments on the helpful receptionists, as well as services providing – of course that not only currency exchange, selling public transport tickets, but also stamps are available. Apart from that we also rent notebooks, socket adapters, etc. Thanks to our central location you can find a great variety of Czech and international restaurants and bars, great to hear that you took advantage of that :)
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Having stayed in a variety of hotels and hostels in Europe in the past month it was a delight to stay at Alqush Hotel. The service was friendly and informative. The hotel is situated out of Old Town Prague but the metro is very close by and it was very easy to purchase metro tickets from the front desk and go off for an adventure each day. The breakfast consisted of a large selection of quality breakfast items which were more than adequate. The room was nicely lit and the large bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay at this accommodation again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Stacy,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. We appreciate being rated top from the hotels where you stayed so far. It was our pleasure having you here as well as reading your review of your stay with us. We highly appreciate your compliments and are glad that you will recommend us to your friends. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon!
Best Wishes
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuhan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for four nights when we visited prague for the first time.
It was the perfect place to stay, really lovely to return there at the end of a long day.
The staff were friendly and accommodating, they answered all of our questions - and spoke great English, German, and czech. The rooms are immaculate and spacious, there was aircon and a safe in our room.
The free breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had, but considering it was included in the price I think it worked out fantastic value for money.
Lastly, it is close enough to walk to the main sights if you fancy a longer walk, but it is also really easy to jump on the underground/tram from this hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Lauren,
It makes us happy to hear that you appreciate the standard of our services. Thank you for your compliment on our staff being multilingual, it is among other things one of the prerequisites that we have when employing new staff as we want as much comfort for our guests as possible. Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor!
Best Regards
Your Hotel in Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

A good hotel, great staff...we had a room at the back, overlooking the garden and it was quiet, perfectly comfortable, no problems at all. The staff were very helpful and professional, happy to help. Breakfast is very good, lots of interesting local and traditional European choices. The hotel is close to a metro station, tram stops, so easy enough to get to on public transport from the airport, and an easy walk to the museum end of Wenceslas Square. There are bars and restaurants close by. If you're going to Prague for a few days and want a good hotel at a reasonable price then this should be on your list of places worth considering.

Room Tip: Might be better getting a room at the back and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheodoreBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Theodore,
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers using Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate the time you took to write this review and will be looking forward to your next visit!
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#191 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#74 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#83 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#216 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#85 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#68 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alqush Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alqush Downtown Hotel

Property: Alqush Downtown Hotel
Address: Legerova 15, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alqush Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO ALQUSH DOWNTOWN HOTEL ****Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is a luxurious family hotel situated in the heart of historical Prague. Its convenient location offers our guests a close proximity to the fascinating sightseeing highlights of Prague. Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is located only a few minutes walking distance from the famous Wenceslas Square, National Museum and the Congress Center. Hotel´s limousine service and reliable public transport guarantee quick access to the beautiful Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Quarter and State Opera. The hotel is surrounded with restaurants, bars, banks and close to various shopping centers.Alqush Downtown Hotel **** offers 24 air-conditioned rooms, suites and family apartments, providing free Wi-Fi with high speed Internet connection. Our guests enjoy refreshments in the hotel lobby bar with a garden or take advantage of the conference room during their business meetings. Among special services, we also provide our guests with an airport transfer, and those of you coming by car, with a monitored parking space. We believe our hospitality, friendly approach and effort to meet all your needs will make your stay in the Alqush Downtown Hotel **** in Prague unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alqush Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing