We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Old Town Praha

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #78 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We recently spent three nights at this hotel, after discovering it on a trip in 2011 while staying at another hotel.

We had 4 rooms for our group, all well appointed and unique.

Hotel is perfectly located, intimate in size, modern in decor, very clean and quiet.

Staff was excellent and thanks to Tereza and Katerina for making our stay even better.

Breakfast buffet was expansive and very good, though the servers here could learn to be more friendly. That is my only negative observation.

Live entertainment in the lounge was of very good quality.

Prices for drinks were reasonable.

We loved the hotel and had a great experience. Last visit we stayed at Hilton Prague, which is very large and impersonal as well as not conveniently located. We much preferred Barcelo Old Town.

We will make this our regular hotel when in Prague.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Pay the extra and book a Junior Suite, they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caviargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    381
    60
    22
    14
See reviews for
278
789
43
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Great hotel - great service. Arrived to find our room had been upgraded - which was a fantastic introduction to The beautiful city of Prague. We had had a small problem with our taxi from the airport which the hotel promptly dealt with for us. They couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms were very large and very spacious.

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Location couldn't have been more central - walking distance of everything you would want to see

Have already recommended it to friends since our return yesterday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmand60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I booked this hotel as I was taking my boyfriend to Prague for a surprise holiday. The hotel was more than I expected. In a perfect location, within walking distance of all the sights.

The breakfast is amazing, anything you can ask for really sets you up for your day.

The staff were all very friendly, and the hotel was very clean. I would highly recommend this place to stay while visiting Prague

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoF_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Things looked good from the start - an ice old glass of sparkiling wine on arrival. We were upgraded from a delux room to a junior suite - and we were not told - we had to ask as the room was so big and in sections we wondered what a suite was like if that was just a room!

Clean room(s)/suite, nice toiletries, helpful staff, reasonably priced 24 hour room service, good breakfast and amazing location.

4 Stars only for some minor matters - smoking allowed in hotel(smoking is the only bad part of Prague in general I found), only news TV in english, fridge was not cold, and shower temeperature was a bit random.

We are planning to go to Prague again and fully intend staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

As usual, I list out the goods and bads/improvements needed to back up my rating

The goods:
- Location: perfect, Celetna an old town street, everything is within walkable distance including the main station
- Room: even the standard (which I had) is great, very spacious, comfortable, clean, firm mattress (ideal for a good rest/sleep; kettle and tea available; bathroom with a couple of products
- Internet : free wifi as it should be
- Staff: very friendly and helpful, no attitude there, which was greatly appreciated; if you forgot you toothbrush, they will be happy to provide one with toothpaste for free
- Breakfast : i didnt try it but 10eur is a bargain

The bads / room for improvements:
- Internet: some apps of your smartphone just wont work (viber, grindr,...), not sure if they are blocked or something; on computer everything went fine
- Fitness center: there isnt any, too bad

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank einmal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

If you are looking for a good standard of accommodation, warm, immaculately clean in the right location, then look no further.
This is a great hotel, I too have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable base to explore this beautiful city. The location couldn’t be better, for exploring the Old Town, its 2 minutes from the Old Town Square. Friendly staff (bit of a rarity in Prague, sorry). We were also celebrating a birthday and found they had left bubbly & cake in the room on our arrival. (We also received a glass on arrival whilst checking in which is another nice touch).

I have never stayed in such a large room, huge lounge with well stocked mini bar, comfortable sofas and lovely large comfy bed. Huge luxurious bathroom with bath and shower and all essentials, good hairdryer.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, everything you could want to set you up for the day and more bubbly on offer if you wanted it.

Pick this hotel and you won't be disappointed - a lovely hotel with history in a perfect position. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel! Just to finish we would both like to thank the lovely staff and their professionalism for helping to make our stay in Prague unforgettable - when we visit again this is our hotel of choice!

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPortunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel and will definately return. Great location, friendly staff who made my husbands birthday celebration extra special with a room upgrade, bubbly & cake! The breakfast was a treat, the cocktails at happy hour a bonus and Prague itself was such a surprise-lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#76 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#39 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#70 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Property: Barcelo Old Town Praha
Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#49 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#70 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Barcelo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing