We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent For Family Vacation with Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #84 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent For Family Vacation with Kids”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Visited Prague and stayed at Barcelo for 5nights. Traveled with 4 ppl- including a 9 and 6yr old. The hotel helped us with a private car from the airport, and same to our transit point to Vienna.

Highlights:
-ROOM- Family suite was fantastic. There's a separate bedroom for the adults. There is a powder room near the entrance of the suite, and the shower+tub (separate) separate and in the bedroom. Very very high ceilings, modern furnishings- couch+chair, dining table with 4 chairs. Amenities were clean and kept very tidy. My 6year-old has allergies and had no triggers/no reactions at all.

-VIEW- View of the street and surrounding area is ok. There are a number of groups that stop by the area nearby to enjoy the cubism history including Cubist House of the Black Madonna which is right across the walkway (it's not really a street; not really any vehicles go by on any of the sides).

-LOCATION- Very central location just steps away from the Powder Tower, and couple more steps to the Municipal House for a 5:30 or 8PM concert that our kids just loved! Need to shop? Paladium is across the street from the Municipal House. In the opposite direction lots or great places to eat (I'll post separately)

-FOOD- Ate at the hotel restaurant every morning for breakfast. Good assortment of fruits, cereals, some hot food including an omelet cook-to-order dude. 5-6 drink types, separate coffee/tea sections. Good. The restaurant was a little warm (AC could have been turned up higher) but I asked to open the side windows and fresh air helped.

-SERVICE- Great service. Very helpful and friendly. Jana helped us out...travelers should ask for her!

Enjoy Prague and have a great hotel stay! Just for reference, we are SPG Gold-level members (Westin, W hotel etc).

Room Tip: Rooms facing Celetna street (on the 2nd floor) will have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SoCa2Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    412
    65
    26
    18
See reviews for
296
829
46
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is situated in the heart of Prague and thus makes it an ideal base for a holiday, especially a short one. All the major tourist sights can be walked to from here. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The buffet breakfast was perfectly fine. The hotel, however, appears to have been designed by someone more interested in style than convenience and never "road tested". We were moved to the Grand Suite. This had a refrigerator that was practically unopenable, due to the position in which it had been fitted and bedside lights which could not be turned on or from from the bed! (one had to actually get out to do this). The bathroom, which was enormous, had a magnifying mirror with no light anywhere near it - so useless. This was not a cheap hotel and, moveover, required the money to be paid in full months ahead with no refund possible. I would go again, but not to the Grande Suite!

Room Tip: Our first room was on the top floor and had a pleasant outdoor terrace. However, it was very hot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A nice hotel, perfectly located. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout my stay. The sparkling wine and chocolate cake were a nice treat for my Birthday. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and had good facilities which were in good working order. The flatscreen TV's were a bit on the small side and the range of channels was poor, but this was not a big deal as I didn't have much time to watch anything. Buffet breakfast offered a good range of foods, nice touch with eggs cooked to order. Dinner at the hotel was not so great as the service was poor and slow. Menu options were good but the standard/quality was below what I would expect from from a hotel of this rating (there may have been staffing issues which can be quickly and easily resolved).

Room Tip: If you need wifi, check with the hotel which rooms are best as the signal cut out frequently in my f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LittleBubbleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Arrived 6/6/2013, our rooms were not available so we were put up in the 5* Grand Hotel Bohemia next door for the first night (amazing first class hotel). For the rest of our stay we were given upgrades to 2 x Junior Suites with VIP status to compensate us for our inconvenience.
The Staff are pleasant and accommodating and very helpful. The choice at the breakfast buffet is amazing although the only ready cooked eggs option was hard boiled eggs, strange to us British. You can have eggs fried, scrambled or omelettes with a wide range of fillings prepared freshly by a resident chef in the buffet but may have to wait a few minutes at busy times. Up to date coffee machine grinds and prepares a range of coffees.
My wife and her sister had dinner one night in hotel restaurant and liked the food and service. Les and I preffered to pig out and drink the dark Czech beer at one of the many Czech restaurants locally, a very good one next door to hotel, only for those with big appetites, the pork knuckle is the size of a Sunday roast for 4.
Together we visited some of the fine Italian restaurants close by. Meals with drinks for four about £50 on average, so great value.
The suites were large with seperate toilet and bathroom with walk in shower. An ante room acts as a private bar, the lounge area was spacious and comfortable and the beds massive and a dream to sleep on. There was a TV at the end of the bed but (my only gripe) they only have 3 english channels, all being news channels. No pay tv or movies.
The hotel is a few metres from the Powder Tower and 5-10 mins walk from Old Town Square and Wenceslas Square. Metro stations close by and 15mins to Castle by metro and tram. Although Charles Bridge was closed due to flooding for the first 4 days of our week it opened up again and is definitely one of the sights to see. We had a showery afternoon on Monday but the rest of week was warm and sunny which really added to our stay at one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and the most beautiful city we have ever visited, we will return again to The Barcelo and Prague, many thanks for a wonderful stay to all at Barcelo Old Town Hotel staff.

Room Tip: Higher rooms less noisy at weekends when the hen and stag parties are around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A very nice property, with a very central location...minutes from all three squares.
Clean rooms , all of us were upgraded to suites so we all had a lot of space. Breakfast was ok ...service could be better.
Only thing missing was a bell desk and concierge though the girls at the reception were very helpful and always eager to help out.

Room Tip: All were ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepikagoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I decided to vist Praga in detail and we booked six nights at Barceló Old Town Praga. The whether was very good; the quality of the hotel excellent and the city truly wonderfull.

We did a Praga town tour and also a visit to Karlovy Vary, both with Martin Tours; they were very well organised and well guided.

We noticed that the prices in Praga are affordable; having always good alterntives for all kind of budgets.

We atended a couple of concents. One of them in the Smetana Hall (trully outstanding) and another at Saint Nicholas church, also a very interesting place.

Room Tip: Our room had windows to a peaceful court and it was very quite and confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro_isabel_huertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a very good hotel, and we had a comfortable stay. It is excellently situated close to the Powder Tower and a five minute walk to the Old Town Square. The interior is very smart, and there is a small outdoor terrace at the rear. Staff were helpful and courteous. Our standard bedroom was very spacious and well equipped, with comfortable beds and linens. It was excellently sound-proofed from outside noise. There was a tiny shower room, just about adequate, and separate toilet with wash basin. Storage was ok, but not over-generous. Breakfasts were of good quality, well-presented, with a good choice. Eggs are cooked to order, in addition to heated foods.

General service is not consistent. One morning at breakfast, we ran out of cereal bowls, and had to wait for them to be replenished. On another day, tables were not cleared, resulting in a backlog of plates and dishes on tables. Housekeeping in the room was hit and miss. One day, toiletries were not replenished. On another, coffee/sugar/milk were not refilled. The parquet floors were dusty. Inexplicably, the floor-length curtains cover the air-conditioning vent. All of these things could be easily addressed, I'm sure.

Yet all-in-all, we'd certainly recommend this hotel, and for the excellent web-deal we received, it was very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,285 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 649 in Prague
712 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 649 in Prague
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,504 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,083 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Property: Barcelo Old Town Praha
Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#49 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#75 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing