We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #88 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Old Town Prague for three nights. Overall an excellent stay. First impressions are of a modern, recently refurbished building. We were offered a glass of sparkling wine at check-in which is welcome and unusual.

We booked a Junior Suite and these 5th floor rooms are quirky, being attic rooms with exposed beams, but enormous; I have lived in smaller apartments!

Breakfast was fine with a station where a lady would freshly cook eggs as you wished and the usual breakfast buffet items.

Hotel location is excellent, a few steps from the Powder Tower and a few minutes walk to the Old Town Square.

One tiny criticism is that the room safes are at floor level - not much fun for those with dodgy knees!

Room Tip: Junior Suites are on the 5th floor; Suite 501 has no bathtub and a rather narrow shower cubicle. Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Location is prime
Away from noise of square .
Junior suite was massive
Shower was bad
Location cannot be beaten
Checkin was seamless and quick
Hard to find good hotels in prague
I don't think many people stayed here while we did

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is awesome situated in the best possible location for all the top tourist sites.
The whole experience was superb from day one spacious modern room with outstanding views
and amazingly smoking was allowed .
The breakfast was excellent and catered for every taste would recommend the omelette cooked in front of you to your requirements.
Very friendly and polite staff bent over backwards to make your stay enjoyable.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 310 outstanding views and triple glazed no street noise whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Overall totally recommendable. 2 minutes to the main square. 5 minutes to the bridge. On the main tourist street but at the end so it's not loud and massified.

Our room was very spacious. It was a standard with king size bed (they call it queen but it's king). The hotel looks new and the rooms have that feel too. The bathroom is big. The only downsize is the shower. I don't know why it's so small. They have plenty of room but you feel like you can hardly move in it. But besides this a very good experience.

We had breakfast included and it's a buffet with everything you need. They cook you eggs if wished, espresso coffee, bakery, fruit, etc.

I would definitely recommend it to everyone and this would be my choice if I come back.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank neuronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Visited Prague and stayed at Barcelo for 5nights. Traveled with 4 ppl- including a 9 and 6yr old. The hotel helped us with a private car from the airport, and same to our transit point to Vienna.

Highlights:
-ROOM- Family suite was fantastic. There's a separate bedroom for the adults. There is a powder room near the entrance of the suite, and the shower+tub (separate) separate and in the bedroom. Very very high ceilings, modern furnishings- couch+chair, dining table with 4 chairs. Amenities were clean and kept very tidy. My 6year-old has allergies and had no triggers/no reactions at all.

-VIEW- View of the street and surrounding area is ok. There are a number of groups that stop by the area nearby to enjoy the cubism history including Cubist House of the Black Madonna which is right across the walkway (it's not really a street; not really any vehicles go by on any of the sides).

-LOCATION- Very central location just steps away from the Powder Tower, and couple more steps to the Municipal House for a 5:30 or 8PM concert that our kids just loved! Need to shop? Paladium is across the street from the Municipal House. In the opposite direction lots or great places to eat (I'll post separately)

-FOOD- Ate at the hotel restaurant every morning for breakfast. Good assortment of fruits, cereals, some hot food including an omelet cook-to-order dude. 5-6 drink types, separate coffee/tea sections. Good. The restaurant was a little warm (AC could have been turned up higher) but I asked to open the side windows and fresh air helped.

-SERVICE- Great service. Very helpful and friendly. Jana helped us out...travelers should ask for her!

Enjoy Prague and have a great hotel stay! Just for reference, we are SPG Gold-level members (Westin, W hotel etc).

Room Tip: Rooms facing Celetna street (on the 2nd floor) will have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SoCa2Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is situated in the heart of Prague and thus makes it an ideal base for a holiday, especially a short one. All the major tourist sights can be walked to from here. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The buffet breakfast was perfectly fine. The hotel, however, appears to have been designed by someone more interested in style than convenience and never "road tested". We were moved to the Grand Suite. This had a refrigerator that was practically unopenable, due to the position in which it had been fitted and bedside lights which could not be turned on or from from the bed! (one had to actually get out to do this). The bathroom, which was enormous, had a magnifying mirror with no light anywhere near it - so useless. This was not a cheap hotel and, moveover, required the money to be paid in full months ahead with no refund possible. I would go again, but not to the Grande Suite!

Room Tip: Our first room was on the top floor and had a pleasant outdoor terrace. However, it was very hot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A nice hotel, perfectly located. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout my stay. The sparkling wine and chocolate cake were a nice treat for my Birthday. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and had good facilities which were in good working order. The flatscreen TV's were a bit on the small side and the range of channels was poor, but this was not a big deal as I didn't have much time to watch anything. Buffet breakfast offered a good range of foods, nice touch with eggs cooked to order. Dinner at the hotel was not so great as the service was poor and slow. Menu options were good but the standard/quality was below what I would expect from from a hotel of this rating (there may have been staffing issues which can be quickly and easily resolved).

Room Tip: If you need wifi, check with the hotel which rooms are best as the signal cut out frequently in my f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LittleBubbleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#43 of 647 in Prague
1,818 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 647 in Prague
2,051 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 647 in Prague
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 647 in Prague
2,539 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 647 in Prague
1,574 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#48 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#77 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £87 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing