We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, unbeatable location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #81 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, unbeatable location”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spent only 1 night for business but I really loved both the location (5 mins walking from the Old Town Square and the hotel itself). An historical building reconverted into a modern and charming hotel. Very fast check-in with a complimentary glass of sparkling wine. Very spacious room with a huge king-size bed superconfortable, On the other hand, in comparison the bathroom was rather small but everything was so functional and loved every single details. Free wifi, altough sometimes the signal was a bit weak, maybe because my room was located at the very far end of a corridor, far from the central patio-reception area.
The buffet breakfast was ok, automatic coffee machine (quality so so), no fresh juices but overall quite a decen choice of hot/cold dishes, with a lot of traditional local pastries.
I would definitely stay here again, both for business and (hopefully) pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fijitime71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    403
    63
    23
    16
See reviews for
287
814
46
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We had a great time with lovely rooms and breakfast included. It was in an ideal location right in the middle of the old town. You could easily get to all the tourist routes yet just as easily get off the beaten track. The breakfasts were great with an egg chef making you whatever you wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful and I didn't really experience anything significant to criticise.

Helpful?
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lorrach, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I spent 4 nights in the hotel with my daughter. The hotel is located right in the city centre within walking distance of the main places of interest. At nght it was very noisy but when we closed the windows and switched the air conditioning on it was quiet. The breakfast was a very good, with a good variety of foods. Although sometimes the employees needed to be told when things like milk needed refilling. The fruit juices were not fresh but were diluted squash. Even in hotels we have stayed in with less stars, fresh juice was offered. The waiters and waitresses did not look very happy - a smile costs nothing. The receptionists were very friendly and when I complained about the bathroom floor not being cleaned the first two days, the man at the desk said he would deal with the matter, which he did. The floor was clean when we returned to the hotel. I would have given 5 points for the hotel but I am deducting one because of the small need for improvement at breakfast and because the cleaners had to be told to do their job. If we go to Prague again we would choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Walk out the front door and you are in Old Town Prague. Location couldn't be better. But some things need to be fixed. Our hand-held shower head holder was broken, so they fixed it; unfortunately, with a holder that didn't fit. So one had to hold the shower head with one hand while soaping with the other; awkward! Full length drapes cover the air conditioning vents; mini bar refrigerator fits so well into the cabinet, you need a knife to open the door to the refrigerator, or as I used, a cork screw tip. Poor lighting; nothing overhead, just low lights. Worst part was that we had reservations for king deluxe rooms, and they gave us twin superiors. After telling us they didn't have any king deluxe rooms as stated on our reservations, I showed them their website which claimed king deluxe rooms. They told me their website was wrong. So many little things were wrong. TV was about 10 inches square. Espresso machine in the lobby was expensive; not free. I do have to say that the rooms were clean, although after using the cups for coffee one morning, the maid didn't take the dirty ones with her; she left them there and expected us to wash them ourselves, I guess, because she didn't leave any clean ones to take their place. As I said, great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Barcelo Old Town in Prague and must congratulate all of the staff at the hotel for providing us with a truly fantastic stay.
We emailed the hotel informing them that the reason for the trip was to celebrate our Ruby wedding, they promptly emailed back saying that they would ensure we got a nice room.
We arrived at the hotel to be informed by the wonderful reception staff that we would have a nice surprise when we get up to the room, we certainly did as they had put us in room 418 which was a huge suite.
We also had chocolates, champagne & there were also some nice silk red roses to set the scene, the room was certainly a big surprise which helped make a truly memorable experience.
Well done to all of the staff who made the stay great and a hotel we will certainly try and get back to to try and see some more of Prague.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Prague, the hotel was very nice, we booked a junior suite and the room was nice but there were a few things that were not good. The TV was in one part of the room as you couldnt watch TV in bed.The room where the TV was placed was a bit austere and not warm and wlcoming. The room didnt have a bath which we prefer. The breakfast was good but the staff appeared to be more interested in clearing your table rather than stocking the breakfast table ( it ran out of water for tea. orange juice, no cups etc) you had to ask the staff to replenish what was missing. If you left your table for a minute it would be cleared. We had lunch, i had a burger which was so full of salt it wasnt edible. I would choose the hotel again as it was so convenient and even with the small niggles was nice

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valron1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hi,
Just returned from a 4 night stay at The Barcelo Old Town in Prague and just have to say what a fantastic time. It was our honeymoon and I emailed simply to ask for a flower decoration on the bed as a surprise only to find on arrival we had been upgraded to a suite and also found fruits and champagne waiting for us. My wife's face coupled with her words OMG said it all !!!. Thank-you so much the location is perfect the rooms spacious and extremely well equipped and the staff were fabulous throughout the stay. It's certainly the best hotel we have stayed in and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. We loved it. Just book it !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrappydoo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#75 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#50 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Property: Barcelo Old Town Praha
Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#49 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#73 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Barcelo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing