We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just can't wait to be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #88 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We simply love Prague and there is only one hotel for me and my wife: Barcelo Old Town Prague! We have stayed many times and now in every room type in this hotel. Deluxe rooms are very comfortable, plenty of space and the most important thing is the quietness! This summer we stayed two times in this wonderful hotel! First time was in deluxe room and
the second time we were upgraded to Junior Suite Deluxe and now we have found our room type! I have never before had such a good sleep like in this hotel room although the room is
penthouse and this summer it was really hot weather!
The breakfast has always been great but I think they are, little by little, still improving it.The are so many things we like in this hotel but the friendliness of the staff is the thing we like
the most! Last time we got especially good service from Front Office & Reservations Manager, Miss Sedláková, but who could forget also gorgeous and always smiling Kathrina in the reception.

Room Tip: Try Junior Suite Deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

The location of this hotel is great but the hotel itself is very average and not particularly smart. The rooms are very spacious but the air conditioning units are behind the floor length curtains which makes them less effective than they could be. Also, the shower wasn't very efficient and however hard we tried to prevent it water always escaped onto the bathroom floor. The breakfast was included in the price of the room and was pretty good, with plenty of choice and we dined in the restaurant on our first evening and had a really nice meal. The staff were friendly and helpful but I can't really find much to recommend about Barcelo Old Town Praha and wouldn't want to stay there again. My review may be a little harsh but, having stayed at the Palazzo Zichy in Budapest for 6 nights prior to our stay in Prague, there was just no comparison.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 816Lorna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This is a boutique hotel - newly built so its quite modern and clean.
Location is excellent. 5 mins walk to Old Town Square. However you pay a premium for this privilege.

Negatives:
- breakfast is priced extra at a ridiculous 15 Euros or thereabouts. Grab yourself breakfast at the Cubist house opposite for 5 Euros.
- parking is unavailable - they do a concierge parking in a parking house 7-10 mins walk away. Very inconvenient wait of about 30 mins each time you need to retrieve your car.
- stalls in the lobby selling jewellery
- tacky adverts in entrance for casinos etc.

Positives:
- location
- very nice modernisation of main building including high vaulted glass ceiling

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GK1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel has a good location, although there are numerous as good or even better nearby. Our suite (416) was very nice indeed! Spacious, stylish, and well designed. Air-conditioning couldn't keep it all cool, though. Bathroom was big too, perhaps 30 m2 with whirlpool for 2-4, nice shower and tv set you can take a look while in bath or shower.

Unfortunately the service was quite poor. No porter, room was not made for night, glasses were not washed after use... Breakfast in the restaurant was inferior: it was too full, no one was guiding us to table, we were delivered wrong check to our table (breakfast was included in the room), poor servings, etc. Other morning we had breakfast in our room (there was a nice dining table to enjoy it), but unfortunately it was not much better. Continental breakfast did not include any cheese, ham or anything on top of bread, only half a cup of coffee instead of a pot, etc.

Wifi (free) was working good, and a valet parking was good too.

Room Tip: If youl'll have a suite, 416 is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_aaltonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spent only 1 night for business but I really loved both the location (5 mins walking from the Old Town Square and the hotel itself). An historical building reconverted into a modern and charming hotel. Very fast check-in with a complimentary glass of sparkling wine. Very spacious room with a huge king-size bed superconfortable, On the other hand, in comparison the bathroom was rather small but everything was so functional and loved every single details. Free wifi, altough sometimes the signal was a bit weak, maybe because my room was located at the very far end of a corridor, far from the central patio-reception area.
The buffet breakfast was ok, automatic coffee machine (quality so so), no fresh juices but overall quite a decen choice of hot/cold dishes, with a lot of traditional local pastries.
I would definitely stay here again, both for business and (hopefully) pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fijitime71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We had a great time with lovely rooms and breakfast included. It was in an ideal location right in the middle of the old town. You could easily get to all the tourist routes yet just as easily get off the beaten track. The breakfasts were great with an egg chef making you whatever you wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful and I didn't really experience anything significant to criticise.

Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I spent 4 nights in the hotel with my daughter. The hotel is located right in the city centre within walking distance of the main places of interest. At nght it was very noisy but when we closed the windows and switched the air conditioning on it was quiet. The breakfast was a very good, with a good variety of foods. Although sometimes the employees needed to be told when things like milk needed refilling. The fruit juices were not fresh but were diluted squash. Even in hotels we have stayed in with less stars, fresh juice was offered. The waiters and waitresses did not look very happy - a smile costs nothing. The receptionists were very friendly and when I complained about the bathroom floor not being cleaned the first two days, the man at the desk said he would deal with the matter, which he did. The floor was clean when we returned to the hotel. I would have given 5 points for the hotel but I am deducting one because of the small need for improvement at breakfast and because the cleaners had to be told to do their job. If we go to Prague again we would choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#42 of 648 in Prague
1,806 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 648 in Prague
2,043 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 648 in Prague
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 648 in Prague
1,562 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#108 of 648 in Prague
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#48 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#78 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £89 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Booking.com, Splitty, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing