We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #88 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We visited Prague for the first time, three girls age 25-30. The hotel location in the old town was a perfect place to live - walking distance to all sightseeing, nice nightlife with concerts and dining. And the hotel was clean had great service and a friendly and helpful staff. I will definitely stay here the next time I visit Prague.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannaGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is perfectly positioned in the old town. It is a beautiful building but a lot of the character has been lost inside. Our room was a deluxe junior suite and was great.The living room was vast with sofa ,2 armchairs,dining table and sideboard.My only criticism was it did not have enough lighting.The bedroom was large with a comfortable bed and choice of pillows. A great bathroom with double sink, bath and separate shower.The drawback was the toilet as this was through the living room and down a corridor ,not ideal when you need to visit in the night!The reason I have only awarded 4 stars is due to the very poor breakfast.The room was barely large enough and felt more like a café than a luxury hotel.The sausages were hot dogs and the bacon preformed meat. Items were not refilled towards 10am.Parking is valet and costs 30 euros a day ,worth it as parking is difficult in Prague.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were very happy with this hotel during our stay in Prague. The location is perfect, just a short distance to the old town square, restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly. The room was very clean, modern and well appointed. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I travel quite often, and am always looking for great hotels. I feel most comfortable in places that have a modern vibe, and that are not overly stuffy or formal. I appreciate good design in hotels, but what comes first is great service. I found great service at Barceló Old Town Hotel. My trip to Prague was a celebration of my birthday, and I must say the staff and management team made sure everything was perfect. They arranged transportation to and from the airport - at a fair price, and upon my arrival surprised me with cake and champagne for my celebration. My room was a Junior Suite. It was on two levels and had a townhouse feel to it. The space was functional and comfortable. Even though the hotel is located on one of the main streets in Old Town it was very quiet, and I was able to sleep peacefully every evening. I really liked the high ceilings and skylights in the room. There was a remote control to open and close blinds on the skylights so you could darken the room even in the middle of the day. The bathroom was well appointed, modern and ample toiletries were provided. I had breakfast each morning in the hotel. There was a wide selection of offerings to please most tastes and preferences. The gentleman running the breakfast service does a great job in seeing that every guest is taken care of, and he does this with a smile. There is a young man making omelettes cooked to order, and he does an amazing job- always perfect! This was a great way to start the day. My choice of this hotel was first based on its location. It is within walking distance to all of the major sites in Prague -only a few blocks to the town square, and about 20 minutes to the castle. I spent a week at the hotel and I believe I saw all major sites, without the need for any transportation. When I come back to Prague I will be staying at Barceló Old Town again. I felt very much at home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmramz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Booked a twin Junior Suite and were extremely disappointed. Kitted out by Ikea and the extra living space was just a "corridor" between the door and bedroom. Two twin beds together that couldn't be seperated and a king size matress over the top. Eventually upgraded to Junior Deluxe suite where there was a sofa in the living area and twin beds as booked.
When will the Barcelo empire ever learn that location and architecture (the lobby is stunning) don't make up for the litle things that can really annoy. Two sachets of coffee left in room, one de-caf the other ordinary - what if we both wanted an ordinary coffee? Toilet roll left in living area for length of stay and bins not relined after emptying. Could do better!

Room Tip: Don't bother spending more on a Junior Suite, just have an ordinary room. Only when you go Junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluebird1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great location - right in the centre or shopping 'joy' and tourist mecca. From the outside and the communal areas, the hotel is architecturally inspiring and provides great potential, but most of it is very much surface presentation and one can only get disappointed from there.

I stayed in two different junior suites over two nights and for this kind of price & location, it does not compare well to many other european city situations. The interior of the rooms were completely souless, which defies what is on the outside. Beds were comfortable and in this day and age, one would have thought they could manage TV's that were slightly bigger than an ipad screen - and at least have a screen in the bedroom area as well as the living area (one did, one didn't). The living areas of the suite were very basic in terms of furniture and in one of them , despite having room for a sofa, coffee table & more, provided one office style chair and a small desk - not great if there were going to be two of you.

Breakfasts were reasonable with good variety, though a fresh coffee option would have been nice rather than an motorway service style machine. I was going to use the restaurant for dinner on both nights - the first night I went down and as soon as I walked in, there was a couple complaining about the food - saying it was completely cold and tasteless. So I gave it a miss. Thought I would give it a go the next night and yet again, there was a 4some just leaving, refusing to pay for their meal because of similar problems along with the orders turning up incorrectly. Perhaps I was just unlucky, as other reviews rave about the food, but at face value, it was disappointing.

The hotel is probabaly fine for a clean, comfortable and friendly tourist base, but for business use, was a real disappointment compared to so many other places. On this trip, I also stayed in a town centre hotel in Pilzen (opposite the brewery) which was very similar in terms of location and potential facilities, but was so much better on all the small details - very well equipped suites, proper decent size TVs, really good (hot!) food and just better on so many levels.

Barcelo could be so much better, but until they get the smaller details put right rather than just rely on their location and exterior presentation, I wont be staying their again on my 4/5 trips a year to Prague

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a qualified five stars, as the accommodations were excellent and perfect for us, but not quite a Four Seasons. Biggest plus is the location -- could not be better for seeing old Prague. Room was excellent -- large, well furnished, quiet and comfortable. Only negative was very small TV screen. The price was very fair, so you can stay at the Four Seasons if you want, but I would stay at the Barcelo any time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkmphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#44 of 648 in Prague
1,809 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 648 in Prague
2,046 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 648 in Prague
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 648 in Prague
1,566 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 648 in Prague
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#48 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#77 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £88 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Barcelo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing