We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be reassured - no worries staying at this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #89 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Superb hotel in a fantastic city, full of lovely people.
Would recommend staying here & absorbing the unique atmosphere that is Prague.
........................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dukestar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

All the reviews of this hotel testify to it being a real jewel in the heart of the Old City and our own stay certainly confirms this view. The room was large and the bed was super king sized. You don’t often get such huge beds in city hotels but here you do.
The plastic key card also operates the electricity when you place it in the slot just inside the room. Working the lights did cause us a little confusion at first. It’s not perhaps as obvious as you might think.
The bathroom was delightfully modern and boutique. A rage of free toiletries is provided too. For some strange reason our shower unit had two heads, one fixed and the other adjustable. There were three taps. Controlling the shower also took some working out!
There’s a fully stocked mini bar with just enough room to put your own beverages you purchase more cheaply outside the hotel.
The wall mounted flat screen TV was great and, in our room, we got an excellent wifi signal. No password is required since it’s an entirely open network. There may be times when uploading to Facebook etc. might take a little longer but outside peak hours I didn’t experience problems.

Our own twist is that we stayed here for a full week on half board. I believe only three Jet2 city hotels actually permit this but, once your meals are taken care of you can better budget for all your trips and sight seeing. I’d recommend the half board option here since their entire menu is available with no restrictions giving you three excellent courses to go at. You only pay extra for beverages as you would expect.

It’s nouvelle cuisine with a Czech twist. Not all courses arrived equally hot but everything was really lovely and tasty. Half board perhaps would not immediately spring to mind in a city destination such as Prague when the place is teaming with good restaurants but food bills mount up quickly if you’re eating out each night so going HB is worth considering.

Breakfasts are varied and plentiful. There’s a hot option and someone cooking omelettes fresh. For those who like a good cup of tea, you can get one here by selecting your own tea bags from their extensive range. We love Earl Grey! There’s a good choice of cooked meats and different types of bread in addition to a selection of cereals. You definitely cannot go far wrong here.

Beer is cheap here although wine less so. We opted for their cheapest bottle of Czech white wine with our evening meal which came to just over £10. We also had a large bottle of still water too.

Just a point about exchanging currency. The hotel does NOT do this so you will have to use one of the many exchange booths dotted about all over the place. However, if you Google this topic for Prague you’ll notice many scams have historically been in operation here. The advice is to check very carefully their BUY rate and compare it to their SELL rate. There can be a huge difference in some booths and you could easily be legally ‘robbed’ if you get it wrong. Always ask how many Crowns you will get for the amount of Pounds your are exchanging and only hand over your money when you’re totally happy.

However we seemed to believe that many exchange places are now being more transparent about their rates. We found an excellent one just over the road from Kafka Square.

The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. They will do everything they can to ensure your stay is a good one. My wife and I wholeheartedly recommend The Barcelo Old Town Prague right across the board. It’s extremely clean, the standard of décor is brilliant and, for a city hotel, the rooms are spacious. The location could not really be any better for the Old Town Square which is the living, beating heart of Prague.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank paultasker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Location is the best in the best. Walking distance to major attractions. Between Old Town Square and Powder Tower (110 meters away). At the end of Celetná st., so less crowds and noises. Another hotel entrance in the back leads to quiet streets and Tyn Church where you can find restaurants and mini-markets.

A nice surprise our room was upgraded to junior corner suit with a view of Tyn Church and the quiet street. the room is huge with high ceilings and comfy beds. Nice front desk staff. The security, David, was helpful and had a light sense of humor. The booking service was responsive and thoughtful.

Room no. and password are not required to connect to Wifi. But Wifi speed is slow. All in all, we are super happy with our choice of staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent hotel located in the center of Prague's Old Town within walking distance to nearly all tourist attractions of the city. Spacious rooms, with all utilities and more than decent breakfast that fuels you up for a hard tourist day in Prague. The service is very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Guillem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Friendly helpful staff, unpretentious, great breakfast, great bed & shower. Simple but adequate, good value for money and right in the centre of the old town. 100 yds from the Old Town Square and 50 yds from Republic Square. You couldn't ask for a better location as it was far enough away from both squares to be quiet. Can't say much more about it as we were not in it that often over the 5 nights. It's so handy for all the sights and transport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ewen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a fantastic weekend stay last week, knowing Prague quite well, the hotel is centrally located, only a 5 minute stroll to the square, with restaurants and shops on you doorstep. We stayed in a duplex junior suite, which was very spacious, with a bathroom and additional w.c. in the upstairs lounge area, which was quite handy! Breakfast excellent, as you will read from others, fresh omelettes etc, although there was no prosseco/sekt at breakfast when we stayed,as others said in their reviews, I like a wee bucks fizz in the morning when on hols, so a bit disappointed at that!! The staff are all very friendly and a cheery welcome on arrival from reception staff, being offered a welcome glass of sparkly was a nice touch too. Had a slight issue on our stay and Javier, the General Manager, sorted it out very quickly, very impressed at his quick response and how he resolved the issue. Have stayed at Barcelo hotels all over Europe, I have to say, this one impressed me the most, Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights with my daughter in early June. Perfect location for walking everywhere. Very comfortable room, slick bathroom, and an amazing view out our window. Nice to have a teapot in the room and a fridge. Slept well here, details all attended to, nice to get room service breakfast to recover from jet lag. THe staff was attentive and helpful. Would love to return and stay here again. Take advantage of the offer to have a driver pick you up at the airport. And of course we were charmed by the cobblestoned streets of Prague.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LesBriG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#42 of 649 in Prague
1,808 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#53 of 649 in Prague
2,045 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 649 in Prague
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 649 in Prague
1,565 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#74 of 649 in Prague
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#48 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#79 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £88 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Barcelo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing