We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location & value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #92 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We arrived at the reception desk at the Barcelo to be told that our room was unavailable because of an electrical problem. Although we were never really told exactly what the problem was, we were relocated to the close by 5 star Hotel Bohemia for no extra cost. The reception staff promised us an upgrade the following day, when, we were assured our room would be available. We spent a very pleasant evening at the Bohemia and then explored the beautiful city of Prague the following day. When we returned to the Barcelo we were welcomed by the reception staff but we had forgotten about the promise of an upgrade. We were given our room key (we thought for a double room) and upon entering the room were astounded that we had been given the hotels biggest suite. The room was luxurious, including a great sound system & sunken jacuzzi. However, perhaps the nicest touch, was that staff had left us a plate of cold meats & a bottle of fizzy wine. We really appreciated the gesture - we had hardly suffered the night before after all. We would certainly return to the Barcelo, room relocation aside, it represents great value. The food is good in the restaurant too, which is more that can be sais for many of the eateries we visited (maybe we were unlucky). We had a great time in Prague, and the Barcelo is brilliantly located. I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,713 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2009

It was the second time we stayed at this hotel and as per my previous experience and other reviews, this hotel has retained its reputation and excellence. Had a very good and comfortable stay, only one suggestion again is that the housekeeping service can be improved as the maid tends to forget to restock all amenities but is rectified on expressing concern immediately.
Would definitely recommend this hotel due to its location, service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

The location of this hotel was perfect. We took my 80 year old parents to Prague for two days so the location could not have been better. It was steps away from the city center so we could go back to the hotel to rest when needed. The hotel was modern, nice, clean, super quite and had a good breakfast. The carpet in the room is somewhat stained, but it is also beige. The only coffee available was Nespresso, which was a personal issue for us. Valet parking was offered, a bit expensive-- 29 Euro a night. I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen9788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Although check-in wasn't until 5pm, we arrived at the hotel at 11am due to our early flight. The reception was very welcoming and immediately moved us to another room of same standards which is already empty, as the room originally designated to us was still occupied.

The hotel room itself was very spacious, clean, modern, and comfortable. We went in the winter and the room was thoroughly heated (perhaps a little too much!) Central location made it fantastic for exploring Prague by foot. We went to breakfast on the Saturday morning and there was a nice selection of food. The only "problem" we found was that the hotel is aimed mostly at business travellers, so on a Thursday night when we went back to the hotel at 1am, the sliding doors to enter the hotel was locked and the doorbell did not work. We ended up having to bang on the door but someone came to us quite quickly after that. There is a security guard in the evening to ensure that only guests are allowed in, which was comforting. Overall, the hotel was fantastic--location, food, service, condition of the hotel and the room, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Hotel newly refurbished and tasteful, breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckstraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We stayed at Barcelo Old Town and loved it! Located in the Old town and close to everything. The rooms are roomy and stylish, the beds are good and there is no noises at nigth! We stayed for 4 nigths and got a great rate! The Christmas dekorations in town are beautiful:) We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsandnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Really nice, new hotel 5 minutes from Old Town sq. They upgraded us to a Junior Suite without asking and it was fantastic. The free internet was nice too. Wouldn't recommend the Hotel Restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdemerode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#51 of 646 in Prague
2,080 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,526 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 646 in Prague
2,550 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 646 in Prague
749 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#43 of 646 in Prague
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Prague
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#48 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#81 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £70 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing