We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite business destinaiton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #91 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Newly refurbished old Prague building in the heart of historical city centre. Simple and not disturbing design, modern equipment, comfort king size beds, large bathrooms and mainly shower baths and also silent air conditioning - this mix provides the best opportunity how to relax after challenging day.
Niceness of service in reception and hotel restaurant is a matter of course and glass of sparkling wine (or hot wine during Christmas) delights your arrival.
Breakfast are rich buffet and you can get Nespresso there. I also tried lunch in their restaurant which was good but it it took quite a long time to prepare it (as they are used to serve A la carte menus, I think).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaP___7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

I stay in Barceló Old Town Prague hotel in Celetna street very often. It´s situated in the heart of Prague, so on foot you can discover the beauties of Prague. The hotel is very nice, as well as people working there. There is also a good restaurant there. I can only recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lubinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I have to be very often in Prague and this hotel is my second home!!! The nearly all last year I spent in this hotel. The main reason why I and my colleagues choose Barceló Old town hotel was the location (excellent), than the service, quality of accommodation, very willing and flexible reception clerks. I am looking forward for every stay due to unique rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin_grygarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We passed 5 nights in the Barcelo Old Town Hotel, in Prague, during the 2009 Christmas holidays. The location of the hotel is fantastic, just 5 min walking from the Old Town Square.
The room was big and confortable. Bath was very well cleaned aswell.
The behaviour of the hotel staff was very polite and sympathetic. They have a transport service to the Airport which pick us up.
We had dinner on Christmas eve at the restaurant. The menu and the service were excellent.
I highly recommend this hotel if you wanna to come to Prague. It was a great choice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesusFuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year. The hotel was one of the nicest we have stayed at; upon arrival, the receptionist was welcoming (it was very cold outside and we were offered mulled wine on arrival). The room itself was on the first floor, had a large dressing area, lounge and bedroom with bathroom and separate toilet. The room was very spacious, clean and modern. Breakfast was included and was a nice way to start the day (even sparkling wine was available). The location is perfect, less than a couple of minutes walk from Old Town square. I cannot fault this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone who is travelling to Prague.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superleague2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I love the architecture of this hotel, the layout of their rooms and location. It's located a stone's throw from the Powder Tower and Old Town Square. You can't get any closer to the action. The room is clean and layout is excellent; though their floors are a bit slippery, so be careful, esp. if you have kids. In terms of service, the receptionists are generally very friendly (lent me a few adapters), but refused to help mail a postcard even with me offering to pay more than what a stamp would cost. Finally, I had to take a cab to the post office (who has the time to visit the post office while on holiday?). Would have been excellent if service is more flexible and adaptable to the client's needs.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xksb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Just stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, overall it was a very good hotel, especially the room, bed, bathroom were excellent. But there were many things that could be improved if this hotel wants to stay in the top 20.

The WiFi didn't work for the first day in our room. When I called the reception and asked for a network cable, the first answer was why couldn't I use the WiFi and they had only one network cable in the hotel. After explaining, I was asked to come to recieption to the get the network cable by myself, I'm fine with it but unfortunately the wired network did't work either. After calling the reception again, a so-called technician was sent to our room, but this guy, who did't speak any english, seemed can only do the plug/un-plug the cable and nothing else. The actual problem was that my notebook could connect to network but the DHCP server couldn't give me an IP address. After serveral minutes ueseless try, the guy gave up and the final answer I was given by the reception was that there were 2 public computers in the loby which I should use them. I was quite disappointed when they just gave up helping the guest whithout a real technical anaylisis.
But from the second day both the wired and wireless networks were working fine which I believed that some one had restarted the router.

I was RUDELY stopped by a security guard to check my guest card at the entrance of the hotel one afternoon when I went back from the old square. I directly told him it was very rude to stop a guest like that which can be done in a better way.

Room service can be improved. Our room was not cleaned one day which was not acceptable for a 4-star hotel!

Breakfeast was good, but not excellent. And it was very crowded when close to 10am.

The staff was not warm and kind of indifferent. I hardly saw a smile face in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabrielWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#50 of 646 in Prague
2,080 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,527 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 646 in Prague
2,551 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#75 of 646 in Prague
749 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#42 of 646 in Prague
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Prague
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#48 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#80 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £71 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Jet2Holidays , Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing