We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #90 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Excellent hotel, splendid and quiet location, great value for money, friendly staff, abundant breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostinN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Old Town Praha
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

Extremely comfortable - large room, very modern decor, decent breakfast, excellent staff and immaculately clean. After being nicely welcomed with a glass of bubbles in reception we were enchanted to find we were right in the old city and could wander off in any direction. Found lovely restaurants and had a lovely weekend in Prague.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My boyfriend took me to Prague for my 30th birthday and we had an amazing time at this hotel. we were there for 3 nights, although on the 1st night were asked to move to the hotel accross the road as they were having problems with their fire alarm. We were a little dubious about this, but the other hotel was 5* and although the room was small, it was very comfortable, and breakfast was amazing!

we went back to the Barcelo the next day and had bee upgraded to a junior suite, which was huge and on 2 floors! there was also a bottle of sparkling wine and fruit in our room due to the inconvenience. the bathroom was huge and the bedroom light, airy and modern. Very comfy bed and really quiet, we didn't hear any other guests and slept brilliantly. I loved this hotel and woud definately go back, the location is amazing for the old town square, and charles bridge is also within easy walking distance. although we didn't spend our 1st night there, the staff were very nice and the upgraded room was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Through Booking.com we got a really good deal on this room - about $520 for three nights including breakfast. And a good deal it was. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to it from the train station. The hotel is a five minute walk to the Old Town Square and we walked to everything else in town from there as well. The location was just perfect. Upon entering we found the hotel design to be very modern. I was very impressed at the clerk as she helped us in English and another customer in Spanish. Every person we met was very friendly and helpful.

Our room was right at the top of the stairs and near the elevator. I was concerned about noise, but we really didn’t hear much. We entered the room into an entry area that had three doors for the bathroom, water closet and mini-bar in it. It also contained a wardrobe cabinet and that contained a safe. The room itself was large and spotless. A king size bed, a table with two chairs and two bathrobes with slippers greeted us. There was a console at the end of the bed with a small flat screen TV that swiveled to face the table or the bed. The TV had a few English news channels. As it turned out there was another door inside the room between the entry area and the bedroom and we could have closed that if there had been any noise from the outer hallway.

The room was on the first floor (American 2nd floor) and if we opened the windows then we could, of course, hear the street noise. Once the windows were closed, it was quiet. When we were awake we did open the windows and one evening were treated to some nice jazz coming up from the restaurant below. The AC worked okay so we could close things up at night. We had it on really low just to keep the room from getting stuffy. The only problem was that the vents for the heat/AC were right under the windows and covered by the curtains at night. I just pinned up one of the curtains and that worked fine. It may also have worked to just turn up the fan to a higher setting.

The bathroom had a large sink with two faucets in it, room on both sides of the sink to put things, bottles of soap, lotion, shampoo, conditioner, a shower cap, Q tips, hair dryer and nice big bath sheets, but no face cloths (pretty common in Europe). The shower was big by European standards and could easily fit two. The toilet was in a separate water closet with its own small sink.

The mini bar area was a small room. It contained a luggage rack and a mini fridge with the usual temptations of drinks (alcoholic and soft) and a few snacks. There was enough room to put in a few things of our own. On the counter were a water cooker, some instant coffee, a couple of tea bags, sugar and creamer. The tap water tasted good so no need to buy bottled.

Breakfast – incredible. I tried to make a list of everything available: deli type meats, cheeses, scrambled or boiled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit (whole and salad), fresh bell peppers, cucumbers, olives, feta cheese, potatoes one morning, plain crepes one morning, grilled vegetables one morning, sweet rolls, breads, (toaster) cartons of yogurt, three types of juice – orange, apple and something else, coffee at another part of the breakfast room. They seemed to keep up with the demand pretty well. The guys in the chef’s hats were always running.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loving_midlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I really enjoyed my stay in this lovely hotel in Prague. Like the decor and old mixed with new. Great location, very central, clean and great value - I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This hotel could not have been in a better location. At the heart of the old town, but still preserving the quitness, it is at walking distance to everywhere in the old town, even including the castle. The 4 buildings which date back to medieval times (the basement of the building served for meetings of the Knights Templar) were also used as a hotel in the past,which hosted famous guests like Mozart, Queen of Denmark, Queen of Greece. Its current reconstruction was finished only in May 2007 and its reconstruction project won 2nd prize in a competition. Rooms are spacious, though the carpets are a bit stained. Room service is quick. Breakfast buffet is quite varied. The only thing that needs to be improved is the service of the personnel: the waiters and waitresses do not speak nor understand English properly. As for the reception team, they are not as attentive as expected: though at the check-in we had informed them we would have a late check-out at 4 pm by paying additional amount (as stated in the web site) and though we have been given confirmation, the day of check-out we learnt it's impossible as the hotel was fully booked (we learnt it only because we wanted to double check-it early in the morning). Another incident: we have consulted them about train and bus options to go to nearby cities like Karlovy Vary etc and though we have been told we would just go and buy the tickets, when we went to the station,we learnt that those tickets could hardly be bought the same day and that we had to make reservations before and all tickets for that specific date are all sold out. But other than these aspects, I recommend the hotel wholeheartedly to all those who want to discover this lovely city.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

The Barcelo is in the Old Town district of the City very close the Town Square, it is within easy walking distance of all the major attractions but in a quiet location.
The hotel is in a picturesque old building but has only recently been very tastefully converted into this modest boutique hotel. The staff were all very friendly . Our visit coincided with the first 'volcanic ash' incident and the staff could not have been more helpful towards the many stranded guests.
The complimentary breakfasts were of a better than average standard. I emphasise complimentary because we actually paid extra when it appears to have been free, so check when booking.
The rooms were to a very good standard, our 'Junior Suite' with its separate sitting and TV area was particularly nice and housekeeping always kept it clean and tidy.
Prague has so many places to visit there are too many to list but do walk over the Charles Bridge and explore Mala Strana and beyond up to the Castle.
There are also numerous places to eat and drink but be aware that you will pay a lot more in tourist areas such as the Old Town Square than you will if you walk a few extra yards down the side streets. For example a couple of hundred yards from the Barcelo is a small restaurant bar called Amigo, the food is excellent and very reasonably priced.
Similarly if in Wenceslas Square go into the Lucerna shopping arcade and go upstairs, passing under the upside down horse (you will see what I mean when you get there!) to the Lantern Cinema bar, great location and very cheap. Then nip up Stepanska past the Radisson and turn right and follow the signs to 'Jama' another excellent little eatery.
Prague is famous for its beer and the Pivovarsky Dum is a must visit micro brewery pub which also serves great food. It is a little out of the way but easy to get to by tram and is featured in all good guide books.
The Golden Rules for Prague are wear good walking shoes and don't be afraid to use the public transport, explore and even get lost a little, there are plenty of bars to mull over your map in!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad4shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,308 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#75 of 647 in Prague
1,531 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 647 in Prague
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#71 of 647 in Prague
723 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 647 in Prague
1,144 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#48 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#79 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £109 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing