We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Thunovska 19
Ranked #325 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place, great stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in the Magdalena suite of this residence. We couldn't resist the offer to stay in this larger apartment (80m2) for the same price as a smaller room as long as we stayed 4 nights. The suite consists of several rooms: Entrance area (with two extra beds), kitchen/dining, main bedroom with large, comfortable bed, and large bathroom. In summary, lots of space to move around in. Would sleep four people very comfortably. The kitchen is well equipped for self caterers with stove, hot plates, dishwasher but no microwave. Modern bathroom but I would have liked to have seen the "high-tech" shower replaced with a more normal one that had better pressure and temperature control. Also, the towels provided were very old and thin.

A downside was that Internet speed was the worst we have experienced during our travels - only 200Kbps up and down. If fast internet is important to you, this complex is not for you.

The location is perfect for visiting Prague. You are literally at the bottom of the steps for vising Prague castle and it's a short walk to Charles Bridge. Transport by tram and metro is only a 5 minute walk away. Apart from a little noise from the bar down the road on Saturday night, the location is very peaceful.

Highly recommended especially at the low season price.

Room Tip: Magdalena suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    31
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
33
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here with my Mother and Father. We stayed in the Marian apartment. They stayed in Silvia. From the start, we knew this hotel was going to be wonderful. The rooms looked exactly as pictured on the internet. The stairs to the Prague Castle are 2 meters outside of the entrance to the hotel. The Charles Bridge is (maybe) a 3 minute walk. Great location. Great staff. Great rooms. Great prices. The rooms were quiet and safe. There is nothing negative I can say about our stay at these apartments. Breakfast was waiting for us in the cafe every morning when we woke up. The jacuzzi in the Marian apartment was a welcome sight every evening when we returned to the rooms. Our car was parked in a very safe garage attached to a luxury hotel around the corner. We have been to other hotels in Prague, but now that we have been here we will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1053705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We were so enchanted with Prague , and to stay on a steep cobbled street in a building built in 1576 made it even better. Thunovsak street in just below the castle, and close to shops, tours and trams. It is not for a person who finds it difficult to walk the cobbled streets, but we loved walking all over. Walking across the bridges to the larger part of the city from here was easy, and beautiful. Our apartment manager was very helpful any time we needed help or information. Our room was clean, and somewhat spare, the towels were a bit thin, but had cooking materials so we did not need to eat out if we chose. The view was of multiple red roofs and I counted 27 church spires just from one window. The last evening there was a double rainbow over that lovely view. I don't guarantee you'll see that, but we loved it! The ground floor has a Czech restaurant and you can have breakfast included in the rental. Two buildings from us was a fun medieval style tavern, darkly lit with candles and performances on the weekends. I tried mead there, and loved it. We certainly felt we had traveled in time during our three days there, and do not regret a minute.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookbumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Very nice appartments for rent, confortable and modern (note the building is from the 16th Century !), furnishing new and of great quality (the place is managed by Italians).
The location is just perfect for anyone wanting to visit Prague, you're in the heart of the Old Town and can get anywhere by walk or by tram (the ride with tram 22 from the Square down the street is a must).
A total and genuine Prague experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delicieuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Small Luxury Palace Residence
Hradcany & Letna
At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#124 of 649 in Prague
239 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel u Schnellu
Hotel u Schnellu
#310 of 649 in Prague
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Thunovska 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Thunovska 19

Property: Residence Thunovska 19
Address: Thunovska 196/19 | Prague 1, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Thunovska 19 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Thunovska is located on a small romantic lane in Prague's charming Lesser Town. This is a quiet historical location just below Prague castle and a short walk from Charles Bridge and Old Town. The residence is family owned business and offers a variety of quiet apartments and suites in a lovely 16th century building. All rooms have been meticulously renovated with modern, luxurious elements and each room includes kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Residence Thunovska 19 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing