We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Residence Thunovska”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Thunovska 19
Ranked #349 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Colorado
1 review
“Fantastic stay at Residence Thunovska”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed in a large one bedroom apartment one floor up from the street for three nights. The apartment was huge so our baby had plenty of room to crawl around and play. We could hear people walking by the apartment at night (with windows open) but not very late since the apartment is on a side street reducing foot traffic. Dean arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and dropped off at the train station, and we had a portable crib for our baby waiting in the apartment when we arrived. He also helped us plan some activities and provided maps. The location is excellent, really close to the castle, Charles Bridge and old town. Breakfast was provided at the restaurant on the ground floor - it's a great location to sit and watch people walking up to the castle. We'll definitely stay here again the next time we're in Prague!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    29
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Comfortable, quiet apartment very close to all the venues we needed to attend. Close to trams, underground, castle and the Charles Bridge as well, making it the perfect place from which to explore Prague. Friends we have in Prague were really impressed that we had found such a great place to stay and essentially unknown to them. Could have done with a small washing machine, but overall, all facilities excellent, including a small cafe downstairs and wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzedted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veghel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Nice and simple studio apartment. Dean was amazing and e-mailed quickly to ensure we had a way from the airport to the hotel, and was there to greet us upon our arrival. Perfect, safe location. I loved the many stairs to get to the room, especially in the dark after doing a ghost tour.

Room Tip: Around 6 flights of stairs to get to the Belvedere room. No elevator that we were aware of
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpcyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunovska19, Manager at Residence Thunovska 19, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Many thanks for your review. I'm glad everything worked out well for your trip.

We also like the old rustic stairs in our building. Since our building dates from 1527 we have chosen to keep it as original as possible - keeping with the old charms of Prague's past.

Of course, we also have other apartments on lower floors including two on the ground floor looking toward the quiet courtyard.

Thanks again for staying with us and sharing your thoughts.

All the best,

Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indy
Level Contributor
867 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at the Residense Thunovska for 3 nights. This is a very quiet hotel. We had apartment Karl on the courtyard side of the hotel. Except for some heavy footed guests above us it was absolutely quiet with no street or neighborhood noise.

Our host was very helpful and even helped us print our boarding passes for our flight out.

The room is large and comfortable. There was unusually high temperatures and our host provided us a fan and unrelatedly extra pillows. There was plenty of room to lay out our stuff both in the room and the bath room.

Breakfast was typically continental with bread, ham, cheese, juice and coffee or tea.
On our last night they prepared our breakfast for us and placed it in the fridge in our apartment as we were leaving early in the morning. This particularly impressed us and it went far beyond our expectations. The room and service was friendly and excellent.

The location is great: a 5 minute walk to the castle, 5 minutes to charles bridge and 10 minutes to the metro. And yet it's on a quiet, traffic free back street.

Room Tip: The street was very quiet but we chose a room on the back side which was even quieter. The only noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The appartment is perfectly located. Being very close to the Prague Castle and a short walk to Charles Bridge it is just ideal location for visiting Prague. Transport by tram and metro is only a few minutes walk away. The neighborhood is quite peaceful, the room we have stayed in was huge and comfortable.

It is not a standard hotel, so there is no 24 hour reception but we had no problem with speaking with the lady in charge on the phone when needed.

Breakfast in the cafe downstairs was simple but okay - some ham, cheese, honey, bakery, tea, coffee etc. No buffet launch but quite fine. The only drawback was that the breakfast was served from 08:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. what I consider quite late but if you wake up early, before breakfast you can have an excellent walk through morning Charles Bridge and Kampa which is a completely different experience than few hours later pushing through the crowds of tourists.

Room Tip: Every room is unique in this old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in the Magdalena suite of this residence. We couldn't resist the offer to stay in this larger apartment (80m2) for the same price as a smaller room as long as we stayed 4 nights. The suite consists of several rooms: Entrance area (with two extra beds), kitchen/dining, main bedroom with large, comfortable bed, and large bathroom. In summary, lots of space to move around in. Would sleep four people very comfortably. The kitchen is well equipped for self caterers with stove, hot plates, dishwasher but no microwave. Modern bathroom but I would have liked to have seen the "high-tech" shower replaced with a more normal one that had better pressure and temperature control. Also, the towels provided were very old and thin.

A downside was that Internet speed was the worst we have experienced during our travels - only 200Kbps up and down. If fast internet is important to you, this complex is not for you.

The location is perfect for visiting Prague. You are literally at the bottom of the steps for vising Prague castle and it's a short walk to Charles Bridge. Transport by tram and metro is only a 5 minute walk away. Apart from a little noise from the bar down the road on Saturday night, the location is very peaceful.

Highly recommended especially at the low season price.

Room Tip: Magdalena suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here with my Mother and Father. We stayed in the Marian apartment. They stayed in Silvia. From the start, we knew this hotel was going to be wonderful. The rooms looked exactly as pictured on the internet. The stairs to the Prague Castle are 2 meters outside of the entrance to the hotel. The Charles Bridge is (maybe) a 3 minute walk. Great location. Great staff. Great rooms. Great prices. The rooms were quiet and safe. There is nothing negative I can say about our stay at these apartments. Breakfast was waiting for us in the cafe every morning when we woke up. The jacuzzi in the Marian apartment was a welcome sight every evening when we returned to the rooms. Our car was parked in a very safe garage attached to a luxury hotel around the corner. We have been to other hotels in Prague, but now that we have been here we will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1053705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Small Luxury Palace Residence
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#48 of 649 in Prague
762 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 649 in Prague
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Thunovska 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Thunovska 19

Property: Residence Thunovska 19
Address: Thunovska 196/19 | Prague 1, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Thunovska 19 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Thunovska is located on a small romantic lane in Prague's charming Lesser Town. This is a quiet historical location just below Prague castle and a short walk from Charles Bridge and Old Town. The residence is family owned business and offers a variety of quiet apartments and suites in a lovely 16th century building. All rooms have been meticulously renovated with modern, luxurious elements and each room includes kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HRS so you can book your Residence Thunovska 19 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing