We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague
Ranked #50 of 649 Hotels in Prague
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights over the NYE holiday in an exterior room. It was so incredilbly noisy (there are several bars on the street) that we did not get one good nights sleep. In addition, you can hear the garbage trucks collecting glass. The lights in the room are way too complicated - one night I ended up unscrewing a light bulb. We did ask to move to an quieter room and it was much better. Overall we thought the botique hotel was trying to be too cool with the overly dim lights. Should mention, we usually stay at Four Seasons and are used to impecable service/food. The price was way inflated because of the holiday so we really felt ripped off.

Pro's: Comfortable beds, nice linens, beautiful room, great location (except for the noisy bars)

Con's: REALLY noisy, terrible breakfast - we went to Imperial cafe after a few days in search of a better breakfast even tho it was included in the rate. Staff was disorganized and not so helpful - especially when it came to restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a courtyard room if you're a light sleeper. And, get a room where they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSMTravel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBHPDirector, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us but I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.
I apologize for the external diturbancies you experienced which are, unfortunatelly, beyond our control. The hotel is in a lively central location with many bars and restaurants which can sometimes be noisy. I am also sorry to hear that you found our lighting system (which is an integral part of the Buddha-Bar Hotel ambience concept) complex.
Should you plan to return to Prague and would consider giving us a second chance, it will be my pleasure to welcome you personally.

Yours faithfully,

Veronika Fajcikova
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    206
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
75
800
58
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague is a fantastic Botique Hotel.
I think it is the best location in town. The Hotel is clean, very relaxing, the rooms are super nice and the design is beutiful and inspaiering.

The Service is one of the Best i have encountered in europe

i recommand the hotel for anyone looking for A Class Quality Vacation in Prague

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanBenNer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBHPDirector, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your glowing review of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague. I am delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be the best in Prague.
Should you have the opportunity to return, please contact me directly so that I may welcome you personally.

Yours faithfully,

Veronika Fajcikova
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you want a top hotel in the perfect location in Prague then this is it.
We spent 4 night at the Buddha-Bar Hotel over Christmas and I could not fault it.
The staff were very attentive from the the reception to the restaurant and the breakfast was lovely,with a choice of menu that leaves nothing out.
The rooms really are something else.From the dimly lit corridor you see the room numbers illuminated in the floor. You enter the room and wow,beautiful bedroom,bathroom and toilet,
The ' tech lights' were explained and easy to use and the rest of the tech is brilliant from the TV in the mirror to the B&O tv in the room.
We were on the fourth floor and it was so quiet you wondered if there was anybody else was there!
The Buddha-Bar restaurant, in the cellar,is superb from the very interesting menu to beautiful decor.
Love this place can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWWW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We had room 47, a corner room on fourth floor. Super King bed was among the best ever. Three quiet nights sleep in luxury. Electric curtains, B&O TV, walk in shower and amazing artisan chocolate on arrival.
Very professional staff. Great breakfast choice and quality.
The low lighting is a bit odd but part of the 'Zen' experience and brings home the 'escaping from the crowds' feeling when you come back. The old square is 5 minutes away through the cobbled courtyard and it is heaving with people as is most of town.
Sushi Buddha restaurant in basement was top class and pretty cool dropping down in your own elevator. Didn't see nightclub (noise) mentioned in previous post?
If I go back to Prague Buddha Hotel will be my first choice.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 127robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I really don't know where to pitch this review. Some parts of the hotel are barely at a three but others are outstanding. Much of what I have to say has gone before and so let's be succinct.

The good.
Staff...amazing and the hotel's best asset. Bed and linen....incredible. Location.......perfect.

The bad...or shall we say, the not so good?
Breakfast....fantastic on the first and last mornings and grim on the middle two.....sort out the chefs.
The subdued lighting....make sure you have a torch on your phone :)
Heating.....baking hot everywhere and uncomfortable so in the rooms despite turning it off when we arrived and leaving windows open all day.

The ugly
The noise from the club in the basement was terrible. No sleep and so moved to a higher floor where it was quiet...beware. Staff happy to resolve with little fuss but could be avoided with some thought on the positioning of the speakers and investment in sound proofing.
The lighting is utterly ridiculous and simply not fit for purpose. You read it again and agian on here but, trust me, until you experience it you cannot understand how crazy it is and how much of your time it will take up.
We had a free massage to make up for the sleepless night...kind and welcome but not professional. No questions about health, undress in front of therapist, poor positioning during treatment was actually on the dangerous side and I had to ask several times for things to be corrected. Whole chunks missed out...one shoulder done but not the other, one side of the back but not the other......just a lack of attention. Glad we didn't pay the £130 it should have cost. This really needs some control as it's a negligence claim in the waiting. I am a therapist and so I do know.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent our Christmas holiday in Prague and stayed in the Buddha-Bar Hotel.
Already upon arrival we experienced a wonderful service!
As we entered the room, we were flabbergasted by the interior, the luxery, the spacious room and bathroom.
The television (Bang & Olufson) and its loudspeakers (5 all over the room) gave a "zen" moment when we played the music we could select in the hotel (several Buddha Bar CD), and also normal radiostations.
The bathtub was enormous (I am not that tall, so I could nearly swim in it :-)), we had a television in the mirror in front of the bathtub. Also a separated toilet and a rainshower. They had also products from L'Occitane (smells wonderful and is biological!).
Breakfast was super, service also.
We had our Christmas eve dinner in the hotel as well: fine and sophisticated food/dishes, friendly waiter.
This was really a wonderful experience for us!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBHPDirector, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague. I am glad you enjoyed your Christmas holiday with us.
Should you return, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours faithfully,

Veronika Fajcikova
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at the Buddha Bar Hotel for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary and if we could move in, we would - the decor is beautiful, from the Restaurant and Bar downstairs, to reception, to the top floor - concierge collection from the airport, mini city tour to the hotel, welcome drinks in the coffee bar, large room beautifully decorated in warm dark reds/oranges, vast packing space, personal nespresso machine, free wifi, two-tier mini bar, massive B&O tv with link to live music playing in the bar and restaurant and surround sound in the room, dragon/oriental decor from bedroom to bathroom mosaics, evening turn down service with orchid and chocolates, friendly and professional staff and service throughout, buffet and hot breakfast offered each morning, and a great location - we walked the entire city without using public transport at all. By far hands down the best hotel we've ever stayed at, made our anniversary a super special experience - the only part we were sad about was we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarsGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,051 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 649 in Prague
1,710 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#41 of 649 in Prague
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#51 of 649 in Prague
1,981 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague

Property: Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague
Address: Jakubska 649/8, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague represents the first property of the new Buddha-Bar Hotels & Resorts chain inspired by the legendary Buddha-Bar brand. Trendy hotel concept goes beyond expectations to ensure a relaxing andrejuvenating experience through its mystical fusion, exquisite designs, highlypersonalized services, state-of-the-art technologies, top-end amenities and culinary delights served at Siddharta Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing