We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Musketyr

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant Musketyr
Ranked #3,375 of 5,314 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Czech, Central European, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I am quite surprised that some people are complaining about this restaurant. Overall, the food was average to good. Traditional Czech food, nothing mind blowing but good. And the price was very reasonable for this location.

The service was just so genuine and good. When I came in, the waiter asked if I smoke and I said no. He said, "then you sit in this area". I liked it because he cared :)

Then another waitress came over to take the order. She had a pretty good English and explained the dishes. I wanted to have a dumpling, so she actually recommended a dish that goes well with dumplings. The dish had a lot of sauce, so I am guessing that is what she meant.

There were two waiters serving and they did a great job. they were waling around constantly, making sure there is no empty glasses. The first waited talked to me a couple of times, and made sure everything was okay. But the most impressive part was that they both had a genuine attitude toward serving. They made me feel like they were my friends and just helping me. So when I paid my bill, I left a small amount of tip (I was told I should not tip in Czech but I couldn't resist from my american habit) When I told the waiter that I didn't need the change, he smiled and said "thank you". That smile was priceless!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank classJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not the best choice!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

There is no parking in, the wrong check, brought not my order, not sorry! I think this is the worst restaurant in all my trips ... My advice is to always check the bill when traveling to the Czech Republic. Very often the amount is too high!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
175 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Atmosphere is the only thing, which makes me wonder, if I ever coming back. Location is not very pleasant if you have a car to park somewhere. Best choice is to walk to it, because there is no parking area arround. The restaurant is in very old building, with even older feeling, it is great. Food is average, like any other normal restaurant. Place is bit noisy, without music, at least what I remember. No view, no windows, no sunlight. But good experience after all.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A place to come back for more food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The atmosphere in this restaurant cellar is great, low ceilings and brick walls. The food is excellent, very good prices for true Czech dishes. Staff is very helpful and very efficient. Highly recommended for long evenings at large glass of the dark Krusovice!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank malinowynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good local standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

The Musketyr restaurant is nothing extra, but serves good whether you want to have a quick lunch or dinner or want to stay with friends over few beers.
You need to go downstairs (below the street level) and sometimes the rooms are little smelly (don't forget you can smoke practically in any restaurant in Czech Republic), but there is a garden outside (needs to be closed at 22 pm due to local laws).

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JUXPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Musketyr also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Restaurant Musketyr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing