We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Room”
Review of City Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Central Hotel
Ranked #565 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect, very close to city centre and metro, tram stations.
The hotel and the room was clean and modern.
The staff was friendly and helpful. They even made sandwiches early in the morning for our trip back home.
It was worth staying there for this low price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingaK93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just returned from a stag do in prague for 2 nights.Although this was only a place to rest our hungover heads..I feel the need to let as many people know how awful the staff are.

The evening security guard (big guy with a moustache) was un real. Basically would not allow any talking in the lobby or corridors and stared at us nonestop and stood outside our room. The reception staff were god awful. I would not reccomend this to anyone.

The hotel decor was horrible also. very dated.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roundhousekicker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Staff was very rude and unfriendly. There was no central air conditioning. No Refrigerator was available in the room. Breakfast was very poor, every day one and the same. In the morning I was going on excursion and wanted take away, they said I should warned them 12 hours before. Also check-in was available only at 4 p.m. Rooms were dusty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anuki06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

This good hotel located hot far from center. Cheap and small rooms are fine but air conditioning and freezer are missing. Missing air conditioning are usual to many 3 and near 4 hotels, but better to have at least freezer to have something cold in warm summer. But anyway hotel is highly recommended to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

June 2012 - We arrived at the hotel late, me, my husband and our daugther. The first thing we had to do was to call the reception because there was no light in the room. We also asked to use internet in the room, and for a fee we got a cable. But this did not work, and we did not get internet in the room. The next day in daylight we soon discovered that the room was very filthy. The walls, seiling, pictures, doors....everything in the room was filthy. We also found driedout food hanging from the walls. Dust everywhere, dirty handmarks and stains everywhere. Our room was right to the main street, and with no aircondition we had to have windows open at all time. It was terrible noisy and we had almost no sleep. Then I stepped on something on the floor, and when I looked I found a toenail in my fot...and then I found more toenails on the carpet (not ours). Nasty! We tried to complain to the reseption, and they said that they would clean the room. When we came back nothing was cleaned, and the toenails was still on the carpet. They had only made the bed and changed the towels. They offered us another room and the lady actually said that all the rooms in the hotel looked like our room. The new room we were offered was cleaner, but is smelled strong of sigarettes, so we declined. The next day we talked to the manager, she got very angry with us when we said that we wanted to leave the hotel. She asked what we expectet from a 3 star hotel, and that this is what you get on a budget hotel. She also said that she did not belive hotels in Norways was any better, and she said many other things that i don't recall. She was not friendly or helpfull, but rude and obnoxius. We had paid for 7 says in advance, and we had only stayed for 2 days. We wanted a refund for the next five days we had paid for, and in the end the manager said "go pack your things and get out, i will give you a refund". We packed and left. Right down the street we found a new hotel for the same price, a 3 star with aircondition, refrigerator, nice, clean and modern rooms, and a absolutely wonderful breakfast. I will never ever stay at hotel city center Prague again. This hotel is actually the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. I do not under any circumstances recommend this hotel!! Cleanliness is important,and i do not appreciate staying in other peoples filth. The staff really should learn something about giving good service to their guests, particularly the angry female manager.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnnHavdalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed at the City Central, with a group, for a long weekend. It's conveniently located; a steady 10 minute walk will take you right into the town centre. Rooms are fine and breakfast was plentiful. The hotel was clean and tidy.
But the staff! Reception was awful. We were clearly grossly inconveniencing the lady behind the desk by daring to check-in. Much huffing and puffing complimented the slowest check-in imaginable. She continued this world-weary attitude all weekend - everything was too much trouble. The concierge was equally morose but he added to the ambience by being incapable of almost anything, including being unable to operate the room safe.
However, things were saved on Monday with the appearance of an older lady on reception who couldn't have been more helpful. What a delight to talk to! No trouble storing our bags, taxis ordered for us etc etc. A real asset to the Hotel.
So go to the City Central for all the positive things it has to offer but keep your fingers crossed that the right staff are on duty when you arrive!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yedmondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel has all the contemporary amenities expected from a hotel today. It is very centrally located near to a metro station and you can even walk to the center of the town, as I did many times. It is very clean and the reception is open all around the clock if anything is needed. With only 2 Euros charge you can get a cable and have internet in your room whereas the wi-fi in the lobby is for free. I would recommend it for someone that wants to visit Prague.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
#378 of 646 in Prague
506 reviews
Praha 2
City Club Hotel
City Club Hotel
#590 of 646 in Prague
485 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#125 of 646 in Prague
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#232 of 646 in Prague
538 reviews
Praha 2
Legie
Legie
#455 of 646 in Prague
348 reviews
Praha 3
Apollon
Apollon
#288 of 646 in Prague
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Hotel

Address: Sokolska 1492/21, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #565 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £27 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing