We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, reasonably priced”
Review of City Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Central Hotel
Ranked #562 of 651 Hotels in Prague
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights, while visiting Prague. If you are coming from the train station it is about a ten minute walk. The location is decent, reasonably priced for the area, being that you are just pass the Praha 1, where prices can be much more expensive. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to Wenceslas Square where there are many shops and stands. Prague is a walkable city, and from here it is no more than a half hour to most of the popular places throughout downtown.

The hotel is basic, but clean. The room was not cramped, but not spacious either. If you are traveling in summer be warned that the room did not have air conditioning and thus it was quite hot at night. There was free wifi in the lobby and an adequate breakfast free of charge. The hosts were not overly welcoming, but that is not to say that they were rude. Simply put they did not go above necessary the regular pleasantries.

There are a few local restaurants a short walk from the hotel, mostly on the way to Wenceslas Square, a few blocks off the main roads you can find excellent food at good price, approximately 700-1000kc for a meal and drinks. Be careful not to overpay in other parts of the city, especially in the crowded areas where, if you have never been to prague before and are from a western european or the US prices may seem cheap, but in reality they are still quite expensive. The best way I learned to deal with this is to look at the menu prices for beer posted outside, conservatively speaking if the beer is priced at about 35-80kc then I would that is a reasonably well priced restaurant.

Overall this place was a comfortable stay that didn't break the bank.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kraig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    114
    113
    39
    43
See reviews for
46
126
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights. It's a good 5-10 min walk from the Wesceslas Square or one subway stop (from Muzeum). The location was okay, especially since we couldn't find a hotel at this price/quality. There's not much to see in the neighbourhood, so you'll have to walk into the centre.

As for the hotel, the first thing we noticed was the dated 2011 TripAdvisor award in the window, which looks very worn out. We met the clerk, and although check-in was super fast, the tall blonde Czech girl was very unfriendly. It was very obvious that she didn't want to be there!

As for our room, it was very clean, the mattresses were really good (medium softness), the bathroom slightly dated but was very clean. The only complaint is that you can see that the room is getting older, for instance; there's a bowling alley carpet, scuff marks on the wall, the bedframe is probably from 1990-2000 and the TV is like one your grandpa probably used (only 6 channels, but with 4 different languages).

The booking came with breakfast, however there's so many little cafes in the centre that it's pointless to have breakfast at the hotel. My advice, skip it and treat yourself to one of the outdoor patios.

The hotel also has a storage room so that you can drop off your luggage (if you're too early or your flight/train leaves after the 12pm checkout).

Check-out was super quick, although we had the grumpy lady again. I don't think it's possible for her to smile.

My tip. First, I hope the short clerk woman is there for you, she was very cheerful and helpful. Second, get a room facing the Na bojisti street (a very calm quiet street). Third, if you fancy having a beer, walk south (turn left) and less than 1 min there's a variety store with beer/wine for 1/4 the price than in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew_vanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Hotel is very basic and can look a bit dated, but being a traveller who is very fussy about hotels I was quite happy to stay here ! The location is good but on a hill and walking back from a days sight seeing can be a bit much but there is a underground nearby.
The room was big enough for a short stay but any longer than 3 nights and I would have found it a bit small. Being a person who needs sleep I didn't take advantage of the breakfast but my partner did and he managed to sneak a cuppa out for me every morning. If you do want breakfast then the earlier you get there the better from what I've been told. The bathroom was clean and tidy no unsightly mould growing !! Shower was great better than what I have at home !!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashfordcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

the hotel is relatively central within walking distance of the centre, the rooms were clean but so tiny, ours was a double room, genuinely one of us had to sit on the bed while the other one dressed, the reception staff were unhelpfull even surly, unwilling or unable to get us an average sized room. our reservation was for three nights but we only stayed for one, we got accommodation elsewehere, which meant of course we had to pay twice, This hotel is "3 star" a rating which in my opionon it does not deserve. prague is a beautiful city i would visit again but not be taken in by a 3 star rating, Aoifroc

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sham1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The hotel was fairly central. You could walk to the main area in about 20 minutes. They have two parking spaces out front you can rent for 10 Euro's a day which is handy. The rooms were okay in size (except the second time we stayed the double was quite small) but all clean and to a fairly modern standard. Traffic outside can get noisy and the breakfast was quite poor in selection and quality.

For a short stay it is good value for money and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
168 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

this is a clean no nonsense hotel room had three beds so was very roomy for the two of us
it was clean and warm which was very welcome as it was extremley cold outside.
shower worked well beds were very comfy.
staff where helpfull and informative.
breakfast was a buffet with all sorts of things for everyone although the coffee was terrible.
just what we wanted for our trip a good base to see the city from.

Room Tip: if you can get a room not facing the street you will sleep better, road noise is disturbing dispite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights. It wasnt in the centre, but very close - 10 minutes walking. It was worth staying there for a low price. The room was a little bit small but warm and modern. Every morning the room was cleaned up and we had clean towels. The breakfast was basic. I will recommend it to people that don't want a clean and nice hotel but don't want to spend lots of money for staying.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petros_Laoudikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel City Centre
Hotel City Centre
#585 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Praha 2
City Club Hotel
City Club Hotel
#594 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#140 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Legie
Legie
#451 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#253 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Prague Centre Plaza
#368 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Hotel

Property: City Central Hotel
Address: Sokolska 1492/21, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing