We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Kings Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kings Court
Ranked #45 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed in a juniorsuite with our 2 children for a long weekend.
Excellent hotel. Old building, totally renovated and the in the suite everything looked new.
Had the hotel to pick us up at the airport and drop us off again. Save 200 Chk by paying the driver cash instead of charging it to the room.
Very good service at the hotel. Nice breakfast.
The spa was small but good and the children loved playing in the pool.
Perfect location in the old town.
Would definetely stay there again

Room Tip: We had a room on the top 7'th floor at the back. The view is not interesting, but it is very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bo_Alyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,776 - 1,782 of 3,004 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is a very lovely hotel - not sure about 5 star, but definitely 4+. The cheapest rooms tend to be on the smallish side but well equipped. Tip: avoid the top floor as these are attic rooms with tiny, slanted windows. Fine if you don't care about windows and light.

Note too that if you get the basic room, the spa is available only at 10 Euros extra per day per guest. The swimming pool is tiny but very nice if there are only two of you or so. We went mid-day and were the only ones there.

The front desk staff people are very pleasant and speak English. they will happily look up all kinds of information for you and book taxis/limos. Their limos are available at a fixed rate and given the problems with Prague taxis, these may be the most reasonable choices if you're car-less and don't want to, or can't, take public transport. (The subway is right in front of the hotel entrance and clean, safe and realiable.)

There are two free computer stations, and though there are no printers visible, you can send your doc (boarding pass etc) to the printer at the front desk.

The breakfast - included in the price in our case - was abundant and good quality. Lots of healthy and alternative choices, including salads, veggies, smoked salmon and other goodies, as well as the usual stuff. No omelette station, or at least if there was, we missed it. Look for the champagne!

Because the restaurant faces the square - Namesti Republiky - which has the Palladium shopping centre, subway entrances, streetcar stops, many nice stores in the vicinity and LOADS of tourists, and is generally a wonderful location, all sorts come into the restaurant and give the outdoor seating area a less classy appearance than one would expect. It can get noisy. Nonetheless, the restaurant, especially if you sit inside, is a classy contemporary place, with very good food. Prices are mid-range for Prague, I think, rather on the lower side for Western Europe for the quality.

Re location, it's walking distance to all Old Town sights, though may be a bit too far for some people for the castle area. Wenceslaus square is also very close by and the Art Nouveau Municipal House is just next door.

If you need groceries, there are both Billa and Albert stores just around the square. Albert is accessible from Palladium.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityCountryMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Day 1: We were met at the airport late at night by the hotel's limo driver and were driven to the hotel in a nice E-class Merc. However, that's all that was good on that first night. We were shown to our room (211) - I had booked an Executive Room with a view of the Republic Square in front of the hotel. Our room did not overlook the Square, but overlooked the side street, it was so small that only 1 bedside table could fit next to the bed, there was no Espresso machine (apparently in all Exec Rooms) and there were no L'occitane toiletries (supposed to be in all Executive rooms). When I called to complain, they said that the hotel was full and that my request would be considered the next day but insisted that I was lodged (with my wife and infant) in an "Executive" room. Furthermore, we were quite tired and hungry, so we chose to stay at the hotel (it was past 11 pm) and order room service. The room service menu is very limited after 10:30 pm or so, and at the first try, the lady said she'd call back in a minute and didn't; I waited for about 10 mins and called back - there was no answer, so called Reception and they said my food order should take about 10 mins; after 30 mins with no food order I called back and they told me it would take another 20 mins - by the time we got our food it was 1 hour after I had ordered it (we were famished by then) but they did make it complimentary!

The next day we insisted on the room change - they asked us the reason why - and I did give it to them and eventually we did seem to get the Executive Room as it had the right gadgets and toiletries and overlooked the Square - which reinforced my belief that they did not give us an Exec room the first night even though we paid for it.

The rest of the stay was better but I will say that the Housekeeping Department in this hotel is not of 5 star standard - there were 3 of us in our room but they only stocked the bathroom with 2 bath towels; whenever you call that department, they never answer the phone - the only time they did answer the phone was on our last day and I asked them for an extra towel which she promised to send but nothing happened - 30 mins later I accosted one of the housekeeping staff in the corridors and took a towel from her myself - this is despite the fact that we had left a tip for them on the day before. Also, they do not replace your used coffee cups and glasses in the room or replenish your toiletries everyday. One day we came back at the end of a long day of sightseeing and found our coffee / tea cups just as we had left them - when I complained (to Reception as Housekeeping did not pick the phone up) the lady turned up, rinsed them out (no soap!) and handed them back to us!! This is not 5 star service! Also when they do replenish toiletries don't expect 1 of each - one day they didn't provide us a shower gel and another day they didn't provide a shampoo!

The sauna etc is very small - 3 people will fit in the sauna / steam at any given point in time. The pool is no more than 15' long. And watch for the severely warped wooden floor in the "Meating Room" restaurant - I tripped carrying my infant and was lucky not to fall - and saw people tripping over the warped wood planks frequently. This kind of Health & Safety hazard (not to mention non-5-star slickness) would never be tolerated in an established 5 star chain anywhere in the world.

Otherwise, the breakfast spread is good and the staff are friendly - all the Reception staff are by and large friendly and eager to help. They made the stay worthwhile I have to say - and the bed is comfy - we were exhausted every day and slept well.

A tip: if you have a pram / buggy - you may wish to take into account that on every floor you have to step down 4-5 steps after you get out of the lift as the lift areas are slightly higher than the rest of the floor!

Another tip: If you want to use the Tram / Metro or bus, you can get a ticket through the vending machine but it only accepts coins. So you have to either buy a ticket from a "Tobacco shop" or have coins with you

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the Square - the activity outside is interesting and one sees the peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horses_and_dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOKCPRG, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kings Court, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your extensive review about your recent stay at Hotel Kings Court. I can assure you that we take guest comments very seriously and we will do our best to address the points you mentioned in your review. I am very happy to hear that there were elements of your stay that you enjoyed including the services of our front desk staff. We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide so many details so that we may improve upon the service that we offer at Hotel Kings Court. I sincerely hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future to convince you of our commitment to high class service and excellent standards.

With best regards from Prague,

Jessica Olschowka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Best location and very good breakfast at the terrace. Service was very good but if you want to have lunch or dinner I can recommend other restaurants because lunch at the hotel was nothing special. Vodka bar was nice - very good Mojitos.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marsuthemursu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We went here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay!
When we arrived we got a room with two beds instead of a king size and even though they were very busy they found us a new room within 10 mins. The rooms are clean and modern and the bar is great for good Czech beer. Their breakfast was also amazing but unfortunately if you came late you had to wait for a bit to get a table. The location was great as well, walking distance to great restaurants and views. We would definitely go back again so therefor we can recommend this place to anyone - especially for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Kings Court can be recommended if the price is ok with you, it is definately not the cheapest, but I think it was worth the money. The location is great, within a walking distance to all of the main attractions, and across a square to the Paladium shopping center. Very nice breakfast and rooms were nice too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ja55e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed for 6 nights at the Kings court hotel and had a blast , it's centrally located on Republic square within 10mn walking distance to both the old square and wenceslas square , the room was slightly larger than average with high end bathroom amenities and 5 stars furniture and equipment . We had the executive room with access to both spa and executive lounge which was nice . The staff is excellent specially the front desk that goes out of their way to be helpful, Zuzane thank you

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ghazi-Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 646 in Prague
2,053 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#37 of 646 in Prague
1,186 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,241 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#88 of 646 in Prague
3,312 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#44 of 646 in Prague
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kings Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kings Court

Address: U Obecniho domu 3 | namesti Republiky 6, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £116 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kings Court 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous with Prague's history, modernity & lifestyle!A historical, neo-Renaissance-style building has been gently and tastefully transformed from the former prestigious seat of the Czech Chamber of Commerce into the contemporary deluxe 5 star Prague Hotel KINGS COURT. Our central Prague hotel opened in November 2009.This Central Prague Hotel provides luxury accommodation in 137 guestrooms, unique conference facilities, including a magnificent ballroom suitable for all type of company events, special occasions & weddings.Our modern Brasserie mEating Point offering French, Czech and International cuisine, boasts all year round operated terrace with beautiful view of Republic Square. Vodka Lobby Bar is a very lively place with an exclusive selection of world's finest Vodkas.SPA KINGS COURT features cozy pool with Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and fitness.All clients will appreciate free Wi-Fi connection throughout the entire property. The Kings Court Hotel is known as one of the best hotels in Prague, due to its high level of service, beautiful designs and comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kings Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing