We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great introduction to the city”

Lokal - U Bile Kuzelky
Ranked #200 of 5,365 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great introduction to the city”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Prague in the early afternoon and set out to get a feel for the city prior to dinner. This took us to the tourist heart of the city - Old Town Square, and the Charles Bridge.
Prior to travel I had discovered positive reviews on the Lokal Restaurants and noted there was one near the west (Mala
Strana) end of the Charles Bridge. Following our walk across the bridge from Old Town (Stare Mesto), it was an easy find.
Merely take the right turn, right in front of the tower gate, and follow the road in a 180* turn and after about 150 meters you will find Lokal.
Lokal is low-key, untouristy, has both smoking and non-smoking sections, a friendly staff and perhaps most importantly - tasty and satisfying Czech food offerings. The meal was prepared in short order, following clear answers to our questions, and filled our hunger totally.
We would later go to the larger, and busier Lokal in Old Town, but highly recommend this spot as an intro to Prague food due to quality, atmosphere and location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WKGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    220
    63
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good local Czech food and beer”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

It has four locations all over Prague and the one visited was just of the Charles bridge. It had good Czech food and beer here was also very good. I tried the pork here and it was very tastefully done. I would highly recommend this place. One can smoke here also and has good vegetarian dishes too.
Our total bill for 3 wherein we hogged a lot and only one round of beer came to 672 koruna, which is pretty decent. The beet here like 40 korunas for half a litre.

Helpful?
Thank soppy_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“local taste”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Lokal restaurant name is totally correct. They serve good local tastes. The manu is not wide but you can choose a good food. The make their own beer inhouse. Service was good. They do not serve pasta so if you have child where she/he asks you may have a problem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csancak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
343 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“tasty czech cuisine”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

if you didn't know there are 8-10 restaurants all under the same mark called Ambiente, italian, brazilian and of course czech restaurants which are called Lokal etc.

the outdoor space is really small i think 5 tables so it's hard to find a free space, but inside the restaurant is really big i don't think you need a reservation.

8 types of beer, average and a little above average prices. food, starters: i had the homemade sausages which were ok but not impressive. soup: goulash or chicken soup, both very good and tasty

main dish, i had the fried cheese with homemade tartar sauce, very good but i also tryed the beef hanger steak which was also nicely cooked.

desserts: i tryed everything that's in the menu, the mini profiterols with vanilla cream are the best.

service was very nice and attentive, deserved the tip. amosphere is nice, a lot of families and tourists.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
183 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I just like it here”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent location, simple delicious and always fresh traditional Czech food, good value for money, very polite and friendly staff, special interior decorations with a touch of communists era..that is why I always like to come back to this place and bring my friends and family with me. I am never afraid something will go wrong here. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lusi_2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lokal - U Bile Kuzelky also viewed

 

Been to Lokal - U Bile Kuzelky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing