We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beer and Tasty Czech Classics”

Lokal - U Bile Kuzelky
Ranked #194 of 5,536 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Ricany, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Beer and Tasty Czech Classics”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I visited this place several times with my family or friends. Very good beer, very tasty simple meals, sausages, soups and cakes. Highly satisfied with service and price level, regarding the location of the pub. Very well managed “retro” style, highly recommended for sitting with friends and enjoying beer, although for dinner with a lady I would prefer some other restaurants of the Ambiente group.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pzavadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    250
    74
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I am coming to Lokal close to Charles bridge quite often and I really enjoy it there. The menu offers just enough to easily choose from, traditional and typical Czech food that you will not find anywhere else (except goulash and sirloin) in high quality. Homemade bread dumpling are delicious. Menu is changed everyday therefore you dont have to eat the same dish when you come often. With the food you can have side dish and/or sauce as much as you can eat included.
My tip is homemade raspberry or strawberry soda, just perfect.
Restaurant doesn't offer any international brands drinks (coca cola ...), except Pilsner Urquell, and Czech quality drinks as Kofola cola-like drink, not that sweet, with herb and fine licorice taste; invented in CR in 1960's when coke was under ban :-).
Staff is quick and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Tabinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prague
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Typical local pub with excellent beer, good food and service”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Even locals say there's hard to find a place with better beer in Prague. There are few, but they generally do not welcome tourists. This pub is open and welcoming anybody warmly and they serve really excellent beer. Food is Czech traditional food but with special care for its freshness and quality. It may get noisy sometimes, but that's the tax for good beer about anywhere in Prague. Service is usually helpful and quick.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank robertjisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Great service, amazing food and lovely beer.
The bar is full of locals so that's surely a good sign. The food is Czech and is very nice. The beer is great too.
3 0.5L beers and a meal came to the equivalent of 8 Euros!

Helpful?
Thank esulatell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Tasty Czech food!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visited here after reading about it in The Lonely Planet and we certainly weren't disappointed! It's very busy and seems to attract lots of local people, which is always a good sign. On both occasions we ate here, we got fast friendly service and wonderful Czech food. The menu changes somewhat daily based on what is available and fresh, so you don't always have the same selection; however, there is always plenty to choose from. I especially enjoyed pork tenderloin on a skewer!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lokal - U Bile Kuzelky also viewed

 

Been to Lokal - U Bile Kuzelky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing