We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wine selection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Cru Restaurant and Bar

Grand Cru Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #173 of 5,316 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: Grand Cru Restaurant et Bar is located in the centre of Prague in a historically protected baroque building from the 19th century. In this unique bar you can choose from over 1,200 wines from carefully selected vineries representing the best that current global wine market offers. First class service as well as French chef´s warm and cold culinary delights should definitely not be overlooked.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Wine selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice, cousy place, perfect for a date or fine break from a daily rush. Wines from all over, something for everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jezek69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    45
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Great food, awesome service a perfect wine selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Me and my wife went there for dinner last night and we found lovely place. How the title said - everything was awesome. You can try different type of wine by glass or by bottle. Bar staff will help with food pairing (cheeses, daily offer or menu). This place reminds me some wine bars from Sydney - compare to other Czech bar wines this one is on top level.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden spot discovered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

While walking by these streets behind Palladium, I seen that old yellow house, like hidden. The place seems new and while I was watching from the entrance a tall waiter convinced me to have a diner promising I wouldn't regret it. I had there a great surprise, rabbit loin which appear to be black and cooked with ash, John Dory filet with citrus with stuffed baby eggplants. I decided to go to the end and choose a stawberry macaron. The food tasted great and was well presented into original porcelaine. Prices was a surprise regarding the ingredients and the quality of the dishes, I paid only 815Kc and had a glass of pinot gris wine for 105Kc and some Vougeot for 160kc. The service was great and the waiter which I forgot the name, was true. Houses of that quality are just a few in Prague. I will definitely bring a friend next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kladno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When you want to be sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have visitied a Grand Cru bar many times in a past few months. I have never been dissapointed. Also lunch menu is just great. You must visit some of their wines degustations. Be sure, it is the best wine in Prague. If you are an wine lover or beginner, this is a place where you can not make a mistake. Pleasent staff, reasonable prices for an excelent wines, great hospitality, amazing sommeliers ... what else are you looking for? Have a business lunch there or romantic dinner. This is just place, where you want to stay. 6stars of 5... you will not regret.

Also kitchen is great due to excellent frenc cuisine with a french chef. He will spoil you with great food, its smell, look and excelent taste.

Grand Cru bar is one of my favourite place to eat and drink in Prague! Definately worth to go there! You will not regret!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zbynek_Prim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohemia, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best place in Prague for fine wines and French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

A great hideaway in a historical village house in Prague centre, this place screams history and elegant charm. French chef prepares fresh fish, mostly from Bretagne, as well as great meat and poultry such as quail. A super fresh St Jacques carpaccio with vanilla is to die for. They also have a decent choice of unpasteurized cheese as well as great charcuteries, including Spanish ham such as iberico bellota. The best caviar serving I have ever had. However it is the winelist which draws attention with probably more than 1000 items. It features all Bordeaux premiers crus classes, great names of Burgundy (Dugat, Liger-Belair, Leroy of Leflaive to name a few), German rieslings and many sweet wines including Yquem. Many older vintages and lesser known wines too. And most wine is exceptionally priced for a restaurant so you can have a great bottle for a decent price. A treat indeed and a must go if you are in Prague.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nejm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Cru Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Grand Cru Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing