We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mlynec Restaurant

Mlynec Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 5,316 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$97
Cuisines: European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I just ate here last night and had the 5 course tasting menu. I had the wine pairings too. It was fantastic. We had fish, duck, an amazing combo of asparagus ice cream with an asparagus soup cappuccino and strawberry desserts. The entire thing was about 50 USD/each (drinks were more). I think that's a great deal. On top of that, the ambience was great and the service was perfect. Rodrigo was our server and we couldn't have asked for a better waiter. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorenceMcGillicutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Bellevue, Manager at Mlynec Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear FlorenceMcGillicutty, thank you very much for taking time to write such a nice review and thank you for compliments. Our summer menu degustation is a selection of the best dishes from our menu and it´s served with wines from the best winery in the Czech Republic. So I´m pleased you liked it. Thank you again. Pavel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,566
    462
    133
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

For our last evening in prague we wanted somewhere a bit special and romantic. This restaurant was perfect. We sat on the terrace with a beautiful view of the bridge (although I agree that only one person gets the view, so maybe they could rearrange the seating!) the food was delicious, czech with a modern touch and lighter. They recommended a very good czech wine and all in all we had an excellent evening.

Helpful?
Thank bubble177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Bellevue, Manager at Mlynec Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear bubble177, thank you very much for your great review. Our summer terracce is a magic spot for dinning and I wish a full view for everyone. We will consider the table setup, but I´m afraid cannot be better. I´m pleased you enjoyed our excellent cuisine and service. Thank you again. Pavel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excelent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I had the fallow deer, which was excellent. The wait staff was attentive. However, the special from the chef, a concoction of salmon mouse topped with salmon spume was WAY too fishy for my taste.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JFMMBCanton_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Bellevue, Manager at Mlynec Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear JFMMBCanton_Georgia, thank you very much for your review and I´m glad you enjoyed the dinner at our restaurant Mlýnec. Amuse Bouche - Gift from the chef was made from smoked salmon, which has strong taste and I would like to ensure you it was fresh. After your feedback we´ve considered the recipe and nex time it will be much milder. Thank you very much for your feedback again. Pavel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Traditional czech food with a lighter touch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Popped in for a quick lunch not realising what a classy joint this is. It was full of chinese tourists at the time, our table were the only non-chinese. However, the food was not tourist food, it was delicious czech traditional food, with a twist, not so much of a twist to make it unrecognisable - manageable portions and perfectly cooked. Really attentive and friendly service and nice location on the river.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank swissgirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Bellevue, Manager at Mlynec Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear swissgirl_7, thank you very much for your nice review. During the lunch time we are mostly visited by tourist groups, but we are trying our best to serve every single client with excellence. It looks we are on the good way. Thank you very much again. Pavel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
179 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a lovely view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I went with my husband and we were lucky to pick a warm evening so we enjoyed the view of Charles bridge and Prague's castle by sitting on the terrace.
Entrance from Novotneho Lavka is quite discreet and I don't think atrracts much passers by crowd.
But place is very pleasant with a nice decor inside. Staff was professional, knowleadgable and pleasant with good command of English and German.

Food was lovely presented, quantity was just about perfect, timing right, meat tender and deserts tasty. Selection is sufficient and focused on traditional Czech cousine with a 'French' twist:-) and meat main courses.

Drinks are expensive so is the food but we were lucky we purchased a special deal online.

Mlynec also offeres a Gourmet tasting menu, which is set menu with a glass of wine for each course, costs about 1100.-

I can recommend this place for a romantic meal but expect a hefty bill.

Try to sit outside or by the windows as it is quite dark inside by the bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Bellevue, Manager at Mlynec Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Mrs. lpetrickova, thank you very much for your review and I´m pleased you enjoyed dinner at our restaurant. Yes, we are not cheap, but we will never use a cheap stuff, which could affect the quality of food, drinks and service. We are trying to bring the best value for our clients and the price should match the quality. I think we are focused well, because clients like you are very satisfied. Thank you again. Pavel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mlynec Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mlynec Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing