We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Red & Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red & Blue
Ranked #78 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed for only 4 nights, but it was terrific, smiling and friendly welcomes met us at check in. We were shown to our room and could not believe the size of it, a huge bed and very modern decor. The rooms were quiet with a nice sized window to let in plenty of natural light. Breakfast was varied and tasty.The hotel is only a short walk to attractions, the park is a great place to explore.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris1965_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,802)
There are newer reviews for Red & Blue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,802 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

This is a modern and well designed hotel located not far from the old town. It's very convenient if you want to keep away from all the tourist bustle or you are interested in Národní area. But if you are a typical tourist who intend to spend all your time in the Old Town, I guess you can find better options. People at the hotel reception were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good too. We really enjoyed our stay there... but it's a pity that our impression of the hotel was ruined by their deposit policy. We had paid the total amount of the reservation a few days in advance, and when we arrived there we were asked for our credit card details or a 50 euros deposit "for the minibar". I understand it's a common policy in some hotels. What I really didn't like is that at check-out the guy at reception called someone and waited for a call back before giving us back our deposit. It seemed to me that they had someone to check our room/minibar. It's really DISTRUSTFUL and RUDE. All hotels I have stayed in would only ask if I had something from the minibar last night. It can be argued that we don't understand Czech, but at least I'm sure we didn't get our money until the guy at reception was called back (2 seconds call that sounded like a confirmation).

IMHO, it would be better to assume some accidental losses (not all guests are honest) than to behave in such a distrustful way.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy321, Manager at Red & Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear Jsev

Thank you for using our hotel and thank you for your review.

I am glad that you find our hotel modern and well designed. After spending two years over the design plans, it is always very pleasant to hear this. I am also glad that you were happy about the front office staff.

I am sorry to hear, that your impression from our hotel was ruined by the deposit requirement. Besides standard hotel registration, we also ask for a card deposit. This is to cover eventual extras and also enables eventual express check out of our customers. If no card is available, we ask for EUR 50 deposit.

We are happy for every single customer that we have in our hotel and do our best to provide the best service, no matter what rate was paid. Please accept my apologies if you felt distrusted. I would like to assure you that it was not the case.

We hope to see you in our hotel again!

Kind regards

Ondrej
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel looks very modern and the room we had was quite larger (even larger than we needed). There is even a pillow menu should you be picky about how soft, firm, feather, etc. you want your pillow to be. The breakfast was quite extensive with lots of Czech dishes, meats, cheeses, eggs of some sort, cereals, croisssants to choose from. The lounge/bar is nice and they have a half price happy hour. The hotel is up a bit of a hill from where the trams let off, but not too bad if you are somewhat fit. The hotel offers taxi pick ups/drop offs from/to the train station, which is affordable as well as nice, especially in light of the bad reputation of Prague's taxi drivers. The front desk as well as all of the other employees we encountered were really helpful and pleasant. You can purchase tram/metro tickets from the front desk, which is important since there is not a ticketing place near the hotel's stop. Overall, a great visit and I will absolutely stay here the next time I am in Prague

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historychick13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have just returned after a 4 night stay in this hotel. It was great value and we loved the location as well. It was very easy to find using the public transport from the airport. It was very comfy and warm . The breakfast was really lovely there was plenty of choice (even for me being a veggie) . The staff were friendly and welcoming nothing was to much trouble. They had free usage of a computer you could use to check in and print your airline tickets . Each room had a safe and would advice to use it . will come back and stay here again . !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We had a terrific stay at the R & B Design Hotel in Prague; especially because of the super rate I found online. Today I looked and it is more than twice as expensive, and I wouldn't have stayed there at the current price. We must just have gotten lucky. The staff were great and very helpful, the included breakfast was generous and varied, and the room was spacious with good , double-glazed windows ( necessary because it's on a really busy thoroughfare). All in all we had an excellent time ; walked everywhere, and if we could find the same price again we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churchlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed here after reading all the great reviews. As soon as you arive you note the quality - it looks brand new. A great welcome from efficient staff on reception who gave helpful pointers for our stay. We booked through the hotels own website and the price - the superior room was the same price so we went for that (401). The room was large and impressive with great furnishings that deserved the "beautique" phrase - included was a huge bathroom with a deep bath. All the fittings are brand new and well kept - with everything so clean.
Breakfasts were always interesting - including a range of Czech sandwiches, through hams and cheeses to good cereals and breads. Oh and of course eggs, ham and sausages. The green apple juice is delicious. Local coffee or Douwe Egbert from the machine - we chose the latter.
All of the staff were so helpful - nothing was too much trouble
I agree the bar was a bit "sterile"

Room Tip: Go for a superior room to get more space and a bath
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Booked 4 rooms on bed and breakfast basis and none of us was disappointed. The rooms were lovely (blue rooms appear to be slightly bigger than red), pillows were large, bathroom lovely. Breakfast was simple but adequate. None of us could fault the hotel. One of us ended up in room 603 (penthouse) and it was very big. Charles Bridge was about a 10 minute walk. Trams stopped at the bottom of the hill (3 minute walk). Cabs were approx £7.00 into the town square, we always agreed price of 200 koruna. Would highly recommend this hotel but do not use their bar as quite pricey.

Room Tip: Room 603 was very large. We were on 5th floor on road side but did not hear traffic when windows wer...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MellowMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#111 of 647 in Prague
1,492 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#67 of 647 in Prague
2,195 reviews
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#59 of 647 in Prague
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 647 in Prague
1,638 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#55 of 647 in Prague
2,370 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#63 of 647 in Prague
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red & Blue

Address: Holechkova 366/13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £41 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red & Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Red & Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing