We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the price”
Review of Red & Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red & Blue
Ranked #75 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worth the price”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

great hotel in great location. Pretty much all of the main tourist destinations are within 20 minutes or less walking distance. Yet it is a quiet peaceful hotel to relax in after eating and drinking to excess. Reception staff are pleasant and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Would recommend to anybody visiting prague

Helpful?
2 Thank G1ngerN1nja
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    532
    76
    9
    3
See reviews for
179
1,071
81
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days and it was really nice. It was a little bit further out of town so you either walk 20mins or catch a tram. It's in a nice area though and considering the price of hotels in Prague, it was the best available.

The staff was a mix - pleasant and OK but mostly nice and helpful.

The rooms are clean although a little small but not smaller than any other standard rooms in Europe.

In short a very nice stay and thanks for making our trip to Prague so enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenlin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 days (2 nights) in this hotel which had a great location (only a 20 min. walk to the old part of town)! There were lots of restaurants, shops and stores in the area and a great massive park opposite well worth exploring if you have time to spare.

We did however have certain complaints about our room 604. The only window was a ceiling window with a view to the sky. If you stood on the only armchair in the room and stuck your neck out the window you could see the park which felt a bit claustrophobic and made the room feel stuffy. (Personal opinion of course.)
There was nowhere to put your suitcase if you didn’t want to unpack everything, and the TV only provided News Channels in English so there was nothing to watch if you just felt like chilling out for a couple of hours in the room.
Again on a personal note, we didn’t care for the bathroom sink situated inside the (bed)room, but more annoying was that there was nowhere to hang ones towels after use.
The room was dusty and the fridge was too small to fit our own bottle of Champagne (never had that problem before). The minibar prices were (in our opinion) ridiculously high (for example 4€ for a bottle of still water!)
For personal reasons I needed an internet connection that functioned. This was a problem in room 604 as the connection either was weak or at times, non-existing. According to the clerk it was apparently due to our Apple devices as their "non Apple” phones worked fine(?). I’m sorry to say that the clerk in question wasn't very polite when approached, and when I mentioned that I would appreciate a different room if this continued, her response was in the lines of "if you really want to move because of that, we'll see if we have another room". Not very accommodating or polite if you ask me.

On the positive side:
The room and hotel in general was modern and fresh designed in red and blue colors (hens the name of the hotel).
Breakfast was fine and varied and you had an opportunity to sit outside if the weather allowed it.
We took advantage of the hotels pickup service at the airport which was great! It was very comfortable and easy as oppose to having to take public transport with luggage and all.

Most of all we would like to compliment Ondrej (the owner) for his professional response to the critic points above. As soon as he became aware of our complaints he took action. Apart from offering us compensation (which was really nice as this small city break meant a lot to us on a personal level), he also took immediate action to some of the issues in question.
It felt nice to be treated respectfully and all in all we wouldn’t hesitate to stay at The Red and Blue Design Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and don’t hesitate to ask for a different room if you’re not satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My daughter and I got a great deal with Aer Lingus for a 3 night stay with bed and breakfast so off we went. We prepaid our taxi for pick up and return to the airport I would strongly recomend doing this it was a great service. We arrived at our Hotel it had a small reception area and bar but lovely and clean,then up to our room which was a red room it was lovely and spacious with beautufull bathroom tea coffee making etc we were very pleased with it. The view we had was the rooftops of the city which were snow covered nothing amazing but we loved it. Breakfast was basic enough but adequate , we soon got to know our way around we walked everywhere with several stops along the way to sample the cherry brandy hot toddy amazing Charles Bridge is beautifull we did the river trip the guide was fantastic explained everything great English, would highly recomend a trip to the Castle and the Infant of Prague Church. The Christmas Markets were magical but not huge with most stalls carrying the same stock. We had a great time and would highly recomend this Hotel .,and hope to return some day its a magical place especially when it is snowing, also a sincere thank you to the Hotel staff who were most helpfull.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our rooftop view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Harvey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Red Blue Design Hotel for 4 nights! We had a red room facing the park which is recommend you request at the time of booking as we did - they're really large & have a nicer outlook & don't necessarily cost more as we booked the standard room rate. Service was good, always someone at reception to say welcome with a smile, breakfast was pleasant, varied & reliable. Only minor problems were that there is only 1 lift & our room was on Lvl 5, so we had to wait for it a few times (didn't bother us too much). Also the location is ok, but its a 10-15 min walk from the old city - this means its quieter than those in the centre, but you have to walk a little or tram into the centre. This was fine as we're young ;p generally had a great stay & have no problem recommending to others!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed in RED & BLUE HOTEL for six nights , 5th-11th Sept. Hotel in great location about 10 min walk to Old town , Hotel very clean, rooms lovely with great bathroom , Staff very nice, a Large shopping center around the corner from Hotel, some brilliant Bars & restaurants near by , would highly recommend the RED & BLUE hotel & will be back to stay again soon ..........

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoB258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 2 nights in the hotel. The people at the reception are most helpful. The location is also excellent. Tram 9 takes you straight to the main train station. Prague has a lot to see but the hotel has made the most impression by how nice the people there .

Room Tip: Higher floor or courtyard facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellaruan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,571 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 649 in Prague
1,971 reviews
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,758 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#61 of 649 in Prague
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red & Blue

Property: Red & Blue
Address: Holechkova 366/13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red & Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red & Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing