We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Blue room”
Review of Red & Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red & Blue
Ranked #74 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant Blue room”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Found this hotel on the internet and it lived up to its good reviews. Helpful and efficient staff. I asked in advance for a blue room with a bath which I got. I also asked for help with transfers to and from the airport which were arranged through the hotel about 40 euro return with no hassle. Check in was fast and efficient the staff work efficiently without fuss. The room on the 4th floor was very clean, plush carpet and with views over the park/gardens which was refreshing. Everything looked new and was stylishly designed. Beds were extremely comfortable and had great nights sleep (3 nights). There is a menu if you want different duvets or pillows. Can't fault it. There are welcomed coffee & tea making facilities in the room. All mod cons provided. The bathroom is relaxing with deep bath and waterfall shower, nice toiletries provided. Reception staff were helpful with maps and tram tickets and also posted our cards for us on the last day. The breakfast room is bright, modern & clean with a wide variety of rolls, cereals, cakes yoghurt, fruit, czech sandwiches even things like pasta as well as 3 cooked items each day of either scrambled egg, fried egg, bacon, sausages etc., good coffee. Can sit outside and enjoy a sunny side up breakfast! Bar area is comfortable, quiet and relaxing and had well served tea.Hotel is away from the main centre so is peaceful and very quiet but is only about 15 minutes walk to St Nicholas church and Charles bridge & main sites from there. There is a tram at the bottom of the road number 9 goes to the new town & the 22 is useful too think it goes to the castle area but did go round in circles a bit with the tram (the names all being in Czech! Simple once you know how though). Prague itself is excellent with different characters to the old town new town, mala strana and castle district as well as Kampa park which is very relaxing to have a drink by the Vltava & boat trip. There is an interesting museum in the park opposite the hotel about how the people used to live. Can walk up to the top of the gardens/park with fabulous views over the city. Highly recommend this hotel with its comfortable pleasant facilites, well designed and plush rooms with good quality items and furnishings, attention to detail and well run. Also very quiet. Would definately use the hotel again & may well do as get a discount for use in any of their other hotels in different cities. Thanks Red & Blue for a great stay in Prague.

Room Tip: Can request which room you would like eg red or blue -with bath, hotel is accommodating, nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sojourner2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    532
    76
    9
    3
See reviews for
179
1,071
81
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We loved this hotel, we had read ahead of time about the location.. it is about a 15-20min walk to the old square and the touristy part of Prague. This turned out to be great for us because despite it being September, there were SO many tourists in the Old Town Square and on the Charles Bridge. We really enjoyed being away from that area, felt more "authentic", and right across the street from the park!

PROS:

Brand new hotel, very clean and very modern.. designed very well
Location - for us, the location was a bonus as we were sick and tired of being trampled by other tourists (so as long as you like to walk, you'll enjoy the location).
Breakfast had best variety I've ever seen in Europe - still Euro-style, but had rotating selection of hot foods like eggs, bacon, sausages (which us North American's liked)
Staff were very friendly
We had a room on the 6th floor (top floor), which had a skylight which you could open. We had fun peaking our head out and overlooking the park.

CONS:

Shower lost hot water during the morning times (around 8:30-9AM), not sure if this is an issue in Prague in general or just overusage in the building. Also, my partner is 6'1 (tall guy) and the slop of the top floor made the shower layout a bit awkward - the shower head came up to his armpit! This was awkward for him, hilarious from my perspective, and was not a big enough issue to cause us to not return.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel very highly to friends and family. We booked using booking.com or hotelsclick.com something like that, and ended up paying 89/night Canadian. So may be worthwhile to check discount sites instead of booking with them directly (a sign at the hotel said rooms were $120 euro/night and upwards. The only potential negative could be location for someone who wants to be in the heart of the Old Square. I think to be out of the city ( a little bit) to get a brand new hotel, is well worth it. Plus, there was awesome graffiti and neat things to photograph in our neighbourhood since the streets were empty in comparison to the busy tourist areas. Very safe area, no issues at all.

P.S. on your walk into town, you pass a Mexican restaurant called Catanas (or something like that). You must eat there (but make a reservation on a weekend). I know Mexican food isn't something you'd expect in Prague but I had the best Mexican food I've had (outside of Mexico) and their Mojitos were the best I've had in my life!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

great hotel in great location. Pretty much all of the main tourist destinations are within 20 minutes or less walking distance. Yet it is a quiet peaceful hotel to relax in after eating and drinking to excess. Reception staff are pleasant and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Would recommend to anybody visiting prague

Helpful?
2 Thank G1ngerN1nja
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days and it was really nice. It was a little bit further out of town so you either walk 20mins or catch a tram. It's in a nice area though and considering the price of hotels in Prague, it was the best available.

The staff was a mix - pleasant and OK but mostly nice and helpful.

The rooms are clean although a little small but not smaller than any other standard rooms in Europe.

In short a very nice stay and thanks for making our trip to Prague so enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenlin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 days (2 nights) in this hotel which had a great location (only a 20 min. walk to the old part of town)! There were lots of restaurants, shops and stores in the area and a great massive park opposite well worth exploring if you have time to spare.

We did however have certain complaints about our room 604. The only window was a ceiling window with a view to the sky. If you stood on the only armchair in the room and stuck your neck out the window you could see the park which felt a bit claustrophobic and made the room feel stuffy. (Personal opinion of course.)
There was nowhere to put your suitcase if you didn’t want to unpack everything, and the TV only provided News Channels in English so there was nothing to watch if you just felt like chilling out for a couple of hours in the room.
Again on a personal note, we didn’t care for the bathroom sink situated inside the (bed)room, but more annoying was that there was nowhere to hang ones towels after use.
The room was dusty and the fridge was too small to fit our own bottle of Champagne (never had that problem before). The minibar prices were (in our opinion) ridiculously high (for example 4€ for a bottle of still water!)
For personal reasons I needed an internet connection that functioned. This was a problem in room 604 as the connection either was weak or at times, non-existing. According to the clerk it was apparently due to our Apple devices as their "non Apple” phones worked fine(?). I’m sorry to say that the clerk in question wasn't very polite when approached, and when I mentioned that I would appreciate a different room if this continued, her response was in the lines of "if you really want to move because of that, we'll see if we have another room". Not very accommodating or polite if you ask me.

On the positive side:
The room and hotel in general was modern and fresh designed in red and blue colors (hens the name of the hotel).
Breakfast was fine and varied and you had an opportunity to sit outside if the weather allowed it.
We took advantage of the hotels pickup service at the airport which was great! It was very comfortable and easy as oppose to having to take public transport with luggage and all.

Most of all we would like to compliment Ondrej (the owner) for his professional response to the critic points above. As soon as he became aware of our complaints he took action. Apart from offering us compensation (which was really nice as this small city break meant a lot to us on a personal level), he also took immediate action to some of the issues in question.
It felt nice to be treated respectfully and all in all we wouldn’t hesitate to stay at The Red and Blue Design Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and don’t hesitate to ask for a different room if you’re not satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My daughter and I got a great deal with Aer Lingus for a 3 night stay with bed and breakfast so off we went. We prepaid our taxi for pick up and return to the airport I would strongly recomend doing this it was a great service. We arrived at our Hotel it had a small reception area and bar but lovely and clean,then up to our room which was a red room it was lovely and spacious with beautufull bathroom tea coffee making etc we were very pleased with it. The view we had was the rooftops of the city which were snow covered nothing amazing but we loved it. Breakfast was basic enough but adequate , we soon got to know our way around we walked everywhere with several stops along the way to sample the cherry brandy hot toddy amazing Charles Bridge is beautifull we did the river trip the guide was fantastic explained everything great English, would highly recomend a trip to the Castle and the Infant of Prague Church. The Christmas Markets were magical but not huge with most stalls carrying the same stock. We had a great time and would highly recomend this Hotel .,and hope to return some day its a magical place especially when it is snowing, also a sincere thank you to the Hotel staff who were most helpfull.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our rooftop view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Harvey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,572 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#65 of 649 in Prague
1,973 reviews
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,761 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#62 of 649 in Prague
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red & Blue

Property: Red & Blue
Address: Holechkova 366/13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red & Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red & Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing