We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from everything, but fully furnished flat”
Review of Sklep Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sklep Hostel
Ranked #179 of 679 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hostel adverstised that it was close to all the tourist areas, but when we arrived, we quickly realized we were a good 20 minute walk to everything. The flat was very spacious and had nice furniture, a kitchen, washer/dryer, basically everything we needed. The bedding was very musty, which made it hard to sleep on. The staff didn't speak much English and wasn't extremely helpful, but very nice. They do offer a small breakfast in the adjoining restaurant, but nothing spectacular. Overall, I would recommend staying somewhere closer to Old Town if you're only in Prague for a few days. This type of flat would be better if you have a week or more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachy4812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Would have rated this place as excellent but the showers really let it down! There are two toilets and two showers for each gender, but the bathrooms are not clearly marked; the shower cubicles have only a flimsy curtain to cover yourself with with gaps on either side (so you either step out naked into the open bathroom or fumble around getting dried and dressed in the shower cubicle), and as a female I was very unnerved when a man wandered into the women's bathroom at night and stood opposite the showers doing his hair in the mirror (which of course reflected my not entirely-covered cubicle!!) This meant that I did not feel safe using the showers, which is a pretty big deal. Also do not trust the map provided as it is from 2010 and A LOT of the tram routes have since changed - we wasted a lot of our time in Prague finding that out!

Pity because the hostel was otherwise great; nice room, comfy beds, free breakfast with meat, eggs, cereal, juice, bread and jam, nice big kitchen and common lounge, and you can leave your luggage in the office which is all really good value for the £12 each we paid for a night there! You may need to go in the restaurant when you first arrive to find someone from the office to check you in. The showers really let this place down, as otherwise I'd give it 5/5 considering the price. Of course, if you're a male who isn't shy about his body then they might not bother you!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank sazmeister88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Located quite close to the Main Train Station in Prague, Sklep Hostel consists of various types of hostel as well as apartments. The apartments are cheerful and have all the basic amenities one expects including a washing machine in the apartment itself. The apartments are spacious and comfortable.
It has a good restaurant and bar with a good chef for western cuisine.
It has a tram stop right outside with a direct connection to the main sights of Prague via Tram No 9. Ideal location for a budget traveler looking for comfortable accommodation.
During the summer months it gets a bit noisy at night as one has to keep the windows open. With the windows shut it is quite soundproof.

Room Tip: Use the tram for sight seeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esskayw115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We just crossed the front door and the smell of the garbage bean of the very next door gave me bad feelings, the smell was with us for a whole week.
Dirty room : we were living with a chewing gum close to our heads for days, i left the green card for cleaning the room and it was at the front door for 2 days and nobody came , towels smell like dirty water.
Dirty bathroom ( 2 showers and 2 wc for at leats 15 rooms ) i saw the saem spider under the toilet for days, rest of something orange in one of the courtains of the shower for weeks, one of the sinks didn't function properly so everytime someone was taking a shower she was washing her feets in whatever was in bottom of the floor.

Talking about the staff, just a few speak english the rest nothing at all.We made our reservation and i asked several times about the bathroom shared with another single room, nobody answered me but it was in the add with one room. No people, the bathroom is shared with another 50 people.
Maybe you ask me why we didn't left the place, we didn't cause they took ourmoney right after say hi and before even show the room. All the money is taken and then they forget you already payed for at least a minimum service, you are a client.

I felt swindled big time. For the record if you go during weekends warning alertl cause the club downstairs will not let you sleep as we , all the people in the floor, could experienced that terrible night from 02am until 07 .

The only good thing is you can walk from there to the old town in around 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Try with the apartments maybe they are clean and the staff treat you much better but i will not give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The hostel is simple, but the room and the toilet are clean. Decent breakfast (till 11 a.m.). Reasonable price. It's near the city center, just 1 train stop from the main train station, just a couple of stops from the main city attractions. A good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mila_majka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and slept incredibly well as the beds were very comfortable and you weren't disturbed by any noise. The only time you here is anything is in the morning if people are moving around in the room above but that's no problem as you want to get up and go and explore the beautiful city! The staff member that we dealt with at reception was always very helpful and nice. The breakfast wasn't great but you can't expect a great amount for the price. It takes about 10-15mins to walk to the Old Town which we did everyday. Would definitely recommend for those on a budget!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

10 minute walk from the train station and an easy stroll to the old town but positioned to be quiet and restful. Tram stops right outside. An easy walk to Wencesles Square and the old town square. Other attractions are walkable if you're moderately fit and the cheap and frequent trams are easy to get around on if your not!. Excellent breakfast and very good free wi-fi. Clean, modern, fully equipped kitchen (incl. fridge), and TV lounge. Several close supermarkets and convenience stores. Security was excellent. Overall an excellent hostel and i'll definitely stay again when next in Prague.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Evan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hotel Augustus et Otto
#311 of 647 in Prague
327 reviews
Praha 3
Golden City - Garni
Golden City - Garni
#251 of 647 in Prague
391 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#4 of 679 in Prague
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Pension 15
Pension 15
#286 of 679 in Prague
76 reviews
Hostel Boudnik
#111 of 679 in Prague
37 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Lipa
Hostel Lipa
#60 of 679 in Prague
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sklep Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sklep Hostel

Address: Seifertova 447/53, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 679 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £21 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sklep Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sklep Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing