We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most horrible hostel I have ever seen!”
Review of Hostel ABEX

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel ABEX
Ranked #492 of 675 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 30 July 2013

when I first got the the hostel, I saw a bunch of older people (bogans looking very dodgy...) drinking alcohol...
then the reception lady.... she not only was incredibly mean but not helpful at all and didn't make any effort to actually make you want to stay in this place.
When I asked her how i can drive me car inside the "hostel area" she said " I dont know"... as she didn't know how to explain it in english. her language ability was very limited.
the whole hostel is on an old train loading ramp, looks disgusting!!
the bed linen has been washed and changed but i dont know if they have ever changed their bed sheets....
the place was full of drunk truck drivers and I guess this is the place where they stay as it's very cheap. they have a good company of some old women, who spend hours drinking with them in front of the main entrance to the hostel!

I would never recommend this place even if you are on a tight budget!! just find something cheap elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnieszka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Hostel ABEX
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here for one night only. The location is good, takes about 30 minutes to walk to the Wenceslas square (for those who prefer dislike walking and prefer taking a bus, transport facilities are good and easily accessible), a shopping center is located in 10 minutes walking time.
Let's talk about the hostel itself. The bathroom for people living in the hostel is situated next to the kitchen. That is not the biggest deal. There are 4 toilets and if I remember it well - 3 or 4 showers. I was surprised after discovering that showers were both for men and women. There IS a curtain...(Although I did not want to risk an intruder in my shower so I advise you to take one late at night or early in the morning.) There was a poster on the door to the bathroom, it said it was closed from 08.00 to 10.00 am due to cleaning. Count with this when planning your following day.
The kitchen consists of a fridge with a freezer, a sink, a microwave oven, a cooker, a kettle and a washing machine which you can use for 2/3 Euros (50 - 70 Czech crowns). I was not able to find any dishes nor forks, knives, glasses so you'd better pack some of these into your bag. However there were both cookware like pans, saucepots and bakeware, There are some food automates outside the kitchen where you can buy hot drinks, baguettes, snacks for a reasonable price.
The rooms are big and warm. I missed some curtains but I guess this depends on the room you get. Don't be surprised when you enter a different room from the one you wanted to have (I needed a single but got one with 4 beds). Both the bed sheets and the room itself were clean. The walls were not as white as they were supposed to be (but it is something you have to accept when entering a hostel). Unfortunately, they were a bit thin so I could hear those walking outside my door or laughing in those rooms around mine.
I advise you to take some things easy and not to forget about the fact, that you are sleeping in a hoStel, not in a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are said to be warmer.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisa248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Due to some unexpected events we ended up in Prague two days earlier so we had to find a last minute hostel. I was really relieved when we finally found a place to stay. But what a place... The walls of our room were supposed to be white but were covered in big, dirty grey and brown stains. The sheets of the beds weren't changed (in years i guess) and on the pillow was a nice layer of hair. No one spoke English (nor German) and you heard the old (and homeless-looking) czech people coughing (as if they were dying) almost permanently.

We almost didn't dare to come back after our night out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeroen-vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Artem J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Beksultan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 4 Bett Zimmer mit Kühlschrank und Schrank ohne Safe.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Mirko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank sandrahC3385ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Budget Hostel
Budget Hostel
#421 of 675 in Prague
10 reviews
Praha 2
Sokolska Youth Hostel
Sokolska Youth Hostel
#360 of 675 in Prague
106 reviews
A&O Prag Metro Strizkov
#265 of 675 in Prague
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hostel Marabou
Hostel Marabou
#342 of 675 in Prague
82 reviews
Praha 3
Clown and Bard
Clown and Bard
#81 of 675 in Prague
229 reviews
Praha 6
Hostel Fontana
Hostel Fontana
#438 of 675 in Prague
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel ABEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel ABEX

Address: Jana Zhelivskeho 2726/2, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #492 of 675 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £16 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel ABEX 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ABEX Hostel ! The ABEX Hostel is Prague's favorite CHEAP hostel for a reason ! You've just found the best place in Prague to crash for the night. We are a full-service, fun, comfortable cheap hostel in the heart of Prague. People that love to travel, run our hostel. Our staff will take the time to help you, no matter your question, we have the answers. We know that our cheap hostel is the best value for your euro, dollar, or peso. When you stay, you feel like a part of our family. Our mission is to treat you better than any other place you have ever stayed before, to make your stay in Prague the best possible. If you need anything, all you have to do is ask. Our hostel offers affordable accommodation in Prague for individuals as well as for larger groups. In our hostel, you have the possibility of both short-term and long-term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel ABEX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing