We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful hostel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Centre Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Centre Prague
Ranked #275 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful hostel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

interior is extremely dated, its like walking into an old person's home in the 80s. My room was dirty, had to make my own bed. the window was broken, and when i complained and asked to be either refunded for just one night, i was told that i had to wait til morning to talk to the owner about it because no one else could refund us, but that the owner spoke no english so there was no point and therefore no one could deal with it. appalling! when i asked to be moved to another room, i was told it was impossible because then they would have to move everyone else. the room was also in the smoking area/main entrance, and had sugar paper for curtains. so everyone out for a smoke peered into my room and sat on my window ledge, meaning i couldnt get changed in my own room and the smoke drifted in. disgusting. the room was freezing because of the broken window, and loud. the wifi worked, warm showers, only good quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    22
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Basic, clean and close to the centre.
This is a perfect summary of this hostel, if you're just looking for a bed and somewhere to store your stuff then this is place. It's a 5 min walk to the centre of Prague. Friendly staff who clean everyday.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dribblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Clean hostel with a good location, near a metro station/various tram lines or within walking distance of the centre. Large lockers, comfy beds and secure rooms. Staff were friendly and the common room was spacious with free internet and an area to prepare/store your own food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JHK_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nysa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Clean, close to the centre, helpful staff. Worth being recommended!You don't have to use any means of transport when you want to visit the centre of the city. Three shops with food are at the distance of 100 metres.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kołodziej A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My mates and i stayed a few days over the weekend and totally enjoyed it. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms were quite comfortable and clean, living room extremely spacious equipped with free internet access, tv, games, comfy coaches and a little kitchen corner at your disposals anytime during the day. The shared bathrooms fine too, even though i reckon it would be about time to replace the shower curtains, which were a bit smelly and yellowy. No curfew so feel free to come and go as u please! In few words a GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY! it won't let u down!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deutschebanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This place offers good value, central location, good rooms, helpful staff. I would definitely go there again.

That said, the bunk beds and mattresses, while rather new, were a bit creaky, which can be a problem in a 6-bed room.

It's a communist era building, the common room has a bit of a bunker feel to it. I didn't mind that.

A couple of suggestions to the owners to improve the place:

The bathrooms should have something for people to put their clothes and stuff while showering. Also, the bunk beds should have a shelve or something so you can put down glasses, phone and whatnot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lottdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in a 5 beds private with shared bathroom and we totally loved it! Very clean and comfortable, a lot of space and very central! Nice kitchen with all the utilities you may need for fast cooking and a clean bathroom with bathtub. I will come back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anktudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Emma
Hostel Emma
#366 of 661 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#26 of 661 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Praha 2
Hostel Advantage
Hostel Advantage
#16 of 661 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hostel Lipa
Hostel Lipa
#52 of 661 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Little Quarter
Little Quarter
#23 of 661 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Orange
Hostel Orange
#67 of 661 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Centre Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Centre Prague

Property: Hostel Centre Prague
Address: Sokolska 464/29, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostel Centre Prague 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Centre Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing