We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Franz Kafka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Franz Kafka
Ranked #97 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“With friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in early May. Staff was really friendly and everything worked out so well! Location is really good if u like to see all the basic sightseeing places. Rooms were clean and suited our trip well! Really worth of money!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samfi1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    40
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
16
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very good location, rooms are clean, well equipped with kitchen, hairdryer, etc. Walking distance to main attractions like Charles Bridge, Prague castle, Kalova street, old town. it is also very near to the metro stations. It also provide very service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meiyeeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Excellent location, 5 min walking from the main square of the old town and 10 from the Charles Bridge! Our room was clean & quiet and the staff very friendly! Great experience indeed, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank occhiosordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Niedersachsen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

the most attractive point is its location : 3 min. by walking to Old Town Square, 5-10 mins by walking to Charles Bridge. And the female staff is so helpful and friendly
One star reduction goes to horrible mattress. It's too old and broken in some points. I got hurt on back :(
Overall, strongly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMVu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This Hostel didn't have 24 hours reception so we write to them for advance about arrival time at night. When we came some girl waiting for us she was helpful and friendly. We didn't have any problem with check in. She ask us about check out time suitable for as and explain how we can do it. Our room was clean but just basic furniture.On room was also a kettle with a cup so it's possible to make a tea. Shower room is shared but it enough big and was always clean however there was a big group on. We with my boyfriend enjoy stay on Prague. The hostel near of Old town square and there very beautiful around everything on walk distance.
Location is perfect and hostel was nice. I recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: We sleep on blue double room. There was a twin bed, 2 chair, TV, WiFi was also good connection..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in this hostel mainly for its location. It's just one minute walking to the old town square! I believe price is the cheapest among hotels in the vicinity. Unfortunately you can only pay with cash, so be prepared. The shower and bathroom are pretty clean although the facility is mixed men and women. I am not used to this so it was a little awkward for me but during my stay I did not have to bump in with guys in the shower area. The floor is wooden so you can hear your neighbors walk.
The only downside is that there is not always somebody in the reception office; so when you arrive, you may have to wait a long time for somebody to open the door. This hostel also lacks of staff. We had to move room and when I was shown to our new room, it was not ready yet and we had to make the bed ourselves. But with this price, i really cannot complain. It is pretty good for the value.

Room Tip: We had room for 2 people then moved to room with 4 beds. The double room was spacious, but it is loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girllivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our stay here got off to very bad start. When we had prebooked via hostelbookers we selected an arrival time of 8am however the hostel reception is only open 10am-6pm. The hostel is located on the uppers floors of a shared building and a number code or keycard is required to enter the building. Therefore when we first arrived at 8am we had some difficulty accessing the building. We rang the buzzer on the main entrance and also tried a phone number for the hostel listed on the front entrance but got no reply. After around 10 minutes of standing outside with our luggage a resident who stayed on another floor entered the building and let us enter with him. When we went up to the hostel floor the corridor was very dark and there was only a very small paper notice listing the hostel name. Inside the hostel corridor were several locked doors, a dirty & damaged looking sofa at the end of the hall and a small toilet room. The carpet was pretty dusty and we started to genuinely wonder whether the hostel had closed down/been abandoned. We waited around for 20 minutes and there was no sign of human life at all so we decided to leave the building and head to a café and have a look round the nearby town square(with our luggage which was a bit of a pain). At 10:10 we headed back to the hostel and tried to enter the building again – yet again no answer to the buzzer or phone, at this point we were very close to searching for another hostel to stay in. We were let into the building again by another resident and were waiting in the hostel hallway until 10:40 when a lady from the hostel eventually showed up. She was friendly enough but no explanation was given for her arriving after 10am or about the state of the “waiting area”. We were shown to our room on the floor above and to be fair it was a really nice room with plenty of space and 3 large windows on the ceiling which were ideal for hanging clothes to dry on. The room included a kettle and the bathroom facilities were decent( only slight annoyance was that light sensors would turn off very fast so you have to wave your hand when using the shower/toilet otherwise you will remain in darkness). A luggage storage option was offered to us(its free) but due to the limited reception opening hours we didn’t use it as we didn’t want to end up in the sitation where our luggage got trapped inside the hostel if the sole staff member decided to leave earlier than 6pm. Overall the room itself was very good and the hostel location is excellent(short walk to town square). However the wasted time checking in left a bad taste especially given that we only had a limited amount of time in Prague and wanted to drop our bags off and start sight seeing as soon as possible. Definately would not stay here again due to the time wasted getting into the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#343 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Best Place in Prague
Best Place in Prague
#148 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#79 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#31 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Salvator Superior Apartments
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#21 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Franz Kafka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Franz Kafka

Property: Hostel Franz Kafka
Address: Kaprova 14/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Franz Kafka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing