We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring a GREAT city”
Review of Mosaic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mosaic House
Ranked #65 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed in the hotel part of Mosaic House - not the hostel. The hotel is great - clean, modern and stylish. The staff is really nice as well. We splurged and got a room with a terrace. The weather was not as nice as we hoped, so we did not get to sit out on the terrace as much as we thought, but it was still fantastic.

I have to say a word or two about the 'green' aspects of the hotel. This was a big factor in choosing the hotel. They use biogas and solar for energy, recycle water, have rooftop gardens and a bunch more features. I wish more hotels would do this.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, the terraces are great (especially after April).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0ndequiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Ok, this hostel is not a fair example of what a hostel is.

The first time I walked in, I though that I was in an 5 star hotel. They have this big bar / restaurant and also a common room, just great! Everything is so well decorated so you just cant realize that you are in a hostel until you actually see more than one bed in your room.

It´s in walking distance of the main atractions, the rooms are clean, the bathrooms spotless, they have big lockers in the rooms, and the place is very safe.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yo-no-fui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel was really nice, very trendy and modern decor! Loved the way the rooms were designed and decorated! We spent 2 night here and were really happy with the location as it was not in the heart of the city, yet only walking distance away from all the main tourist attractions, bars & clubs!

We only had one issue and that was the hot water in our room didn't work the first morning we were there and had to go out sightseeing unwashed and come back and have a shower. That was rather annoying as it took them over 30mins to get someone to come and check it and then we had to chase them to find out what was wrong and whether it would be fixed!

Other than that it was a lovely hotel and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_shah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Having stayed at c.20 hostels worldwide I can easily say this was the comfiest, cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in with bathrooms I'd expect of a 4* hotel. We (a group of 6 guys) stayed in an ensuite dorm for 3 nights in October 2011 and the only thing that this place lacked was atmosphere. It frankly isn't a hostel, which is great if you want an affordable base with hostel prices but hotel like quality, but the whole place felt compromised by being an upmarket hostel trying to also be a hotel. The bar/common area is huge and could be fantastic but had zero atmosphere, no volume on the TVs in case 'hotel guests' were disturbed as well as being shut on Saturday night so some event could be put on (charging guests to use what should be a facility).

Location is adequate, though a 15-20 minute walk from the main attractions. Would almost certainly stay here again if I visited Prage again (showers are almost worth the air-fare alone!) but I think it'll always be a bitter-sweet experience.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidE171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a double room (the hotel offers both hostel type shared rooms and private rooms). We loved the hotel design and our room was very comfortable (we got room 314). As Mosaic is also a hostel, the place offers a great lively atmosphere, which could be a nice change from more traditional hotels. Our rate included breakfast at Belushi's (the hotel restaurant) which had a great variety of choices. The hotel's location is good but not great. there is a metro and tram station around the corner and you can walk everywhere. though, the area didn´t offer a good supply of restaurants. hotel staff was friendly and ready to answer any questions you may have.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Me and my friend stayed in the hostel of the Mosaic House. We stayed in the female dorm for 26 girls and it was really a pleasant surprise. Because it was so cheap, we were kinda already anticipating something not right to happen, like maybe a dirty place, bad service or just something bad. But on the contrary! This is one of the best hostels I have stayed at! Literally one of the best. Though I didn't really sleep well because we somehow ended up with such noisy people in the room, but all by all, the beds were clean and we could store our backpacks right under the beds in some kind of roll out closets and for the ones who wonder if they can use a padlock, yes you can! But bring a big one. Not of those flimsy ones. The beds are bunker beds and I'd say ... Good luck with finding a quiet corner. The bathroom has like 4 toilets and 4 showers. And even though it's clean, I'd suggest you bring a pair of flipflops like I did. Hahaha, I'm just not to keen on stepping in someone else's hair. Service is really nice. Very friendly staff! I was sick and I could not speak up and the people of the hostel often asked me if I was alright and they offered me a lot of peppermint tea or just a hot milk with honey for free, saying that it was ok, cause I sound as if I need it. We left our luggage in their luggage room on our last day and they were really helpful with helping us to look up timetables for our ride back to the airport. Also check out their maps ( they will give you that once you arrive) they often have some interesting, nice little restaurants or places where you should go to. If you show them the map of the hostel, they will give you a 10 percent discount! Really, this hostel was AWESOME!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. Sleeping in the 16 person mixed dorm was nice because after the weekend not many people were there so I had a whole nook to myself. Clean and environmental - Donate your 2 euros! Apparently no one does...

I took both tours offered: a "4 hour" tour through the city and a bar crawl. I say "4 hours" because the group I was walking with took more photos than the paparazzi so it took quite a bit longer. The tour guide, Joshua, kept the tour focused on our interests and also laughing. Not a native but knows the history pretty well - If you read this CZ has a parliamentary representative democracy :P On the bar tour we were a small group of four which had me dubious until I started talking to the manager and guide who made the night unforgettable. So much fun!

Room Tip: The more people the more noise at all hours - bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ready4Anythn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#95 of 647 in Prague
700 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#183 of 647 in Prague
1,455 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#55 of 647 in Prague
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 647 in Prague
1,664 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#111 of 647 in Prague
1,507 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#153 of 647 in Prague
3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic House

Address: Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
#58 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#75 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#88 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £52 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mosaic House 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosaic House: One house, 1000 memories. We are a place where you can live, relax, mingle, feel, dance, eat, sleep and laugh. We are a community of locals, travellers and free spirits; creative and unique individuals; food lovers and life enthusiasts. We are made of you as we were made for you. We designed private rooms to rest and unwind. We built shared rooms to socialise and experience. We believe that happiness, kindness and empathy combined with eco initiatives and sustainability can take you a long way. Short or long, take a journey with us. Create memories and long-lasting friendships. Become part of our Mosaic & be part of our House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mosaic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic House Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing