We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, hotel-quality.”
Review of Mosaic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mosaic House
Ranked #65 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel, hotel-quality.”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hostel is run by St Christophers, a hostel group that I had stayed with before and been impressed by. Mosaic House didn't disappoint. We had a private 4-bed room with bathroom and honestly it was more like a nice hotel than a hostel, except for the fact there were bunkbeds - we had a TV, fridge, chairs and tables, and the bathroom was lovely, and included fresh towels every day. Staff were so friendly and helpful (especially when we first arrived and started struggling with the currency!). Breakfast isn't free but we thought it was well worth it - there's a selection of cereals, bread (plus toaster!), fruit, sausages, eggs (scrambled and boiled), mushrooms and potatoes, tea and coffee and juice. Location is good - there are some nice restaurants around, we ate in Café Royal just on the corner from the hostel which was really good. You can walk into the town centre in under ten minutes. You do have to pay to use the internet, which I think is a bit stingy in a hostel. But I would definitely recommend this hostel, to anyone from backpackers to families - it would suit everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    543
    125
    46
    23
See reviews for
98
476
460
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cadca, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hostel part for one night (4-bed dorm) and I can't think of anything that I didn't like. It's not a typical hostel as it is combined with the hotel. Rooms are clean, beds super comfy and the bathroom is worth a three star hotel - it's big and super clean.

There's a big reception with helpful staff and a bar where you can meet fellow travellers. It seems to be full of people all the time but you can enjoy a quiet sleep. Even though we were there only one night, I loved the energy of that place.

I don't think you can find a better centrally-located hostel for such a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramira13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Located just outside the touristy historic town I found the area around the hotel to offer many nice places for eating and drinking (which is good, as the hotel itself offers only a greasy breakfast buffet and bar food). The décor of the rooms is great, all very modern, tasteful and clean. BUT: It is more a hostel with some nice rooms added, than a hotel. The "lobby" is basically the entrance of a sports bar, where you'll find a spring break vibe all year round: half-naked, very drunk, mating youngsters, barely in their twenties, collectively sipping rum and coke out of gigantic jugs with long straws, loud music... you get the picture. Also, at least the few days we were there we neither got a decent wifi connection in the lobby nor our room. Hence, only three points for this hotel.

Room Tip: Try getting a room as far away from the noisy sports bar as possible: upper levels and end of the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spusella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We went here for my stag weekend. The hotel was really good. the rooms were nice for dormitory style rooms. The bathrooms were beautiful. the bar is ace and really reasonably priced. The breakfast was tasty. The hotel is conveniently placed with a short walk to the centre of Prague. Prague is a great city. We had a great time. and would definitely recommend it to anyone. The service was excellent and a number of staff went out of their way to help.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenawatt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm for 3 nights. The room was good, bathroom was fantastic - the shower was huge! Most of the beds did not have a power outlet near them and bedside lights were terrible. In general the hostel was great with a few exceptions:

- the staff always seemed unhappy and despite being the only person at the desk, there were times none of the 3 staff wanted to help.

- have to pay for lockers if you want to leave your bags before checking in or after checking out (no luggage room).

- cannot use the computers to transfer files (eg from camera SD card to USB) or create documents.

- some problems with wifi


Overall I was happy staying there and would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTheo102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannebsurg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

- Peace of mind when you book here. What you read online is what you get.
- Date: 25 - 27 May
- Nights: 2
- People: 3
- Room: 604
- Bed: 1 x double, 1 × single (converted couch)
- Chose the top floor (with patio/balcony) as rooms can accommodate 3 people, we had a smoker & didn't want to hear the noise of the bar from downstairs.
- Clean room, spare bed not made up on arrival though.
- Good linen (weird Czech pillows though), robe, slippers, tv, bar fridge (empty), hair dryer.
- No in room kettle, only 1 room key card (as they were fully booked), shower above bath was a negative.
- Plenty windows allowed for lots of light & air, electric blinds.
- Value adds: 3 hour guided walking tour, shuttle service.
- We bought breakfast coupons and although not 5 star, the food was adequate and set us up well for a day of touring. Tables a bit dirty from the night before.
- Plenty youngsters, vibey bar but easily avoidable. ;-)
- Front desk staff helpful with map, tours, shuttle booking travel, spare bed help.
- Top floor room was worth the price.
- Proximity to Charles Bridge was a big plus.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha_oatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed in a double private room. Wowsers. Definitely more like a hotel than a hostel. Bed was enormous and comfy. The bathroom was super fancy and has a rainfall shower head. The room itself was huge, with a couch, little fridge, ipod dock, tv, safe and plenty of hangers to store clothes.

It's all pretty high tec, with shutters that open and close by themselves and eco-friendly heating and cooling.

The later check out time of 12pm is nice too - no rush to get up and out.

Belushi's downstairs is like all Belushi's fairly laid back during the day and a good spot to get reasonably priced food and drinks, but crazy at night. But up in the room you couldn't hear a thing.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanieefany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#102 of 649 in Prague
690 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#75 of 649 in Prague
1,790 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#58 of 649 in Prague
2,339 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#179 of 649 in Prague
1,429 reviews
Praha 5
Aparthotel City 5
Aparthotel City 5
#5 of 649 in Prague
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic House

Property: Mosaic House
Address: Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#76 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#89 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mosaic House 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosaic House: One house, 1000 memories. We are a place where you can live, relax, mingle, feel, dance, eat, sleep and laugh. We are a community of locals, travellers and free spirits; creative and unique individuals; food lovers and life enthusiasts. We are made of you as we were made for you. We designed private rooms to rest and unwind. We built shared rooms to socialise and experience. We believe that happiness, kindness and empathy combined with eco initiatives and sustainability can take you a long way. Short or long, take a journey with us. Create memories and long-lasting friendships. Become part of our Mosaic & be part of our House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mosaic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic House Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing