We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel experience, poor hotel one”
Review of Mosaic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mosaic House
Ranked #65 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hostel experience, poor hotel one”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in a private room at Mosaic, with a huge private terrace. The room was clean and lovely, with a huge bed and all you could need (including a little fridge). We chose Mosaic because hotel rates were astronomical and this was very reasonable in comparison.

However, while the room was very much of hotel standard, the experience was undeniably hostel. We were greeted with incredulity when my boyfriend and I arrived at 11am to drop our bags off and head out into the city. "Check in is 3pm!"

We were also not amused when reporting that we had no hot water in both the morning and evening resulted in a sullen, unapologetic "There is no hot water when lots of people use the showers". Ho/stel or not, hot water should be a given and this just doesn't cut it for me.

However, if you check in to Mosaic expecting a nice room but poor service, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,385
    543
    124
    46
    23
See reviews for
98
474
458
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We could not have asked for better! We stayed in a mixed 8 bed dorm which was spacious, clean, fresh and modern. The bathroom was exceptional for a hostel (nicer than I've seen in people's homes!!). Considering there is a (great) bar downstairs, it was not noisy at all. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and cheap. The hostel is located about 20mins walk from train station and close to everything. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is the best hostel I have stayed in. It was spacious with several levels and communal areas. The wifi was efficient and reliable. We stayed in an eight bed dorm with an ensuite and it was fantastic. It was quiet, it had a beautiful bathroom, was clean and secure. There is an excellent bar and meals. The buffet breakfast is excellent value and has everything. The location is close to the train station, within walking distance. I would definitely recommend Mosaic House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLouise1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The rooms are clean and quiet. The bar downstairs next to the check in is the exact opposite. The ways things should be! This is a hotel/hostel focusing mainly on young travelers sharing bed bunks, but the rooms on level 4 an above works fine for couples and more mature single travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acronym_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I recomend, Nice place with good bedrooms and there is music and fun every night on the lobby bar. It is a little but far from downtown, but there are metro station and trams just 2 blocks. Good showers and beds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just came back from a "boys" weekend in Prague and stayed in the hostel part of this accomodation. (There are twin double bedrooms also available). We have stayed at hostel all over the UK, Ireland and around europe and this is by far, the best we've every experienced.
I suspect it has been a hotel that was converted to a hostel because the rooms (we had a six berth room), had a very good hotel standard en-suite bathroom, with shower and bath etc.
The bunks were solid metal and built to take the weight of 100kg + guys easily. The mattress, bedding and towels were all very good. The room had good floor space and lockers (you need to bring a padlock for the lockers in the room), although no chairs. The was also two good sized windows with electric shutters and a/c. All in all we could not fault the room.
This is principaly a hostel for young people who like loud music and a party atmosphere.
The bar served cheap but good beer etc and very reasonably priced food.
The is also free wifi which worked okay.
It's only a ten minute stroll into the centre of the old town, clubs and bars etc. and just a few minutes form the river..

There are also very secure lockers available near the reception area for any valuables etc. Would recommend using one of these small lockers for you passport etc. other things should be okay in the room lockers with a padlock.

There is a small convenience store just outside the hotel for basics and drinks etc at reasonable cost.

Without doubt we would return, indeed it has been talked about already......

Room Tip: If your travelling in a small group try and book a room for you all to stay in, I would also recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianx17489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If there is such thing as a 5 star hostel, this is what it would look like. The rooms are extremely luxurious and very clean and quiet. Has a very nice common area and the breakfast looks tasty (I didn't buy it though)

Only problems are the bar downstairs plays loud club-style music so you can't easily socialise and meet people there after about 7.30pm. Also the top bunks offer very little in terms of holding you on, so if you wriggle a lot in your sleep ask to be placed in a bottom bunk

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom bunk if you roll in your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmycarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#103 of 649 in Prague
690 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#74 of 649 in Prague
1,787 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,337 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#182 of 649 in Prague
1,429 reviews
Praha 5
Aparthotel City 5
Aparthotel City 5
#5 of 649 in Prague
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic House

Property: Mosaic House
Address: Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#76 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#89 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mosaic House 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosaic House: One house, 1000 memories. We are a place where you can live, relax, mingle, feel, dance, eat, sleep and laugh. We are a community of locals, travellers and free spirits; creative and unique individuals; food lovers and life enthusiasts. We are made of you as we were made for you. We designed private rooms to rest and unwind. We built shared rooms to socialise and experience. We believe that happiness, kindness and empathy combined with eco initiatives and sustainability can take you a long way. Short or long, take a journey with us. Create memories and long-lasting friendships. Become part of our Mosaic & be part of our House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Mosaic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic House Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing