We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, wonderful rooms, wonderful location.”
Review of Mosaic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mosaic House
Ranked #72 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have known of Mosaic House for quite some time, being frequent travellers to Prague, but until now dismissed it presuming it to be exclusively for the young and stag/hen party crowds. (We are 42 & 50!). Any such concerns however immediately evaporated upon on our arrival. Not only were the staff incredibly welcoming and thoughtful but the mix of guests, hotel and hostel, young and old, backpackers and professionals, gave it a very nice vibe. We did not witness any bad behaviour from other guests (even the stag-do that insisted the groom-to-be wear a mankini and a group of “pirates” were very nice).

The staff at Mosaic House are wonderfully happy, helpful, professional and friendly. Smiles from staff everywhere at all times of day is wonderful to experience.

Our room was fantastic; modern, comfortable, quiet, clean and well appointed. Our bed was comfy and the décor up-to-the-minute; first rate and faultless.

The location is great, being tucked a little way back from a not too busy street, but only a few minutes walk from the city centre and with trams and an underground station just moments away.

We very happily stayed in one very rainy day in Prague, had Tapas in their in-house restaurant, La Loca, and then spent a quite a bit of time drinking (fabulous and low priced) cocktails in the bar.(Andrew makes fabulous cocktails – especially midori sours).

I know people have made negative comments on the breakfast buffet, however what they present seems to be the Prague hospitality standard. If you were disappointed here, you would have been disappointed most every other Prague hotel you stay in.

Mosaic House is now our new go to hotel in Prague, we can only hope they have room for us when we next book as this place is a wonder.

Room Tip: As they have music every night downstairs, live or otherwise, it maybe worth asking for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Baishamao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. No free breakfast which was a small bummer, but everything else is great. My friend and I stayed in Your Room, the 16 bed dorm, and it was a nice and spacious room with big drawer-like lockers that rolled out from under the beds. Bathroom was nice, roomy, and clean as well. Bar and restaurant upstairs with live music (maybe bring earplugs, because sometimes the music comes through the floor late at night), and a really neat vibe with cool modern decor and funky sculptures out front and in the lobby. Lots of places to sit down and chill, plus a great free map made by locals with recommendations of tons of fun stuff to do. My map was tattered by the end because I was using it so much....super helpful. Also, this hostel is in a really good location, just up the street from the Dancing Building and only about a 10 minute walk from Charles Bridge and all the other city-center attractions. STAY HERE. It's super nice and super affordable!

Room Tip: If you're staying in Your Room (16 bed dorm) it's on the basement level, so sometimes music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel part with my son the last week of May (after his study abroad in Prague) and was blown away by the quality of the hotel for the price. The room was smallish but plenty big for the two of us (two twin beds). It looked newly redone. The bathroom was comparable to 5 star hotels I've stayed at. Immaculately clean. Very generous breakfast buffet was included. (Lots of meats, cheeses, fresh fruit plus the standard fare). Great coffee. My son stayed an extra night in the hostel part and he was satisfied with his stay also. It is also centrally located and easy to get to the main tourist attractions. It does have a younger youth hostel vibe as there are a lot of 20 somethings. They do have a music venue on the ground floor, but we never heard any sound from it in our room. Definitely worth considering.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel part (as opposed to the hostel rooms) and had a good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I got to the hostel at 3 am to get 5 hours of sleep.
there was music playing in the lobby. so when I went up to the room I could not sleep.
I came to reception and asked for a solution, and man said he can't help me.
so I had to pay for earplugs so I can sleep.
I did not enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaorEfrati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel rather than the hostel. The rooms were beautiful - very clean, modern, and spacious. Great location near the river and about 15-20 min walk to the center of Old Town. Bar / restaurant downstairs is also really convenient if you want to go out without going out.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank guoster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in early May'14 when running the marathon in Prague. Hostel was imaculate, beautifully presented, very stylish - felt more like a hotel than hostel. Staff in bar/food/reception area where all really very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is well well worth the minimal price as the range of foods in the all you can eat style is fantastic and constantly topped up. Ate here for dinner once and the food was very pleasant indeed. Cheap bar prices too.

Stayed in the 26 female dorm room - at the age of 39 im not sure Id do this again tbh - it was a lovely room & beds very comfy - secure lockers (take a padlock or buy one for a few pounds at reception) for each bunk so comfortable leaving possessions if out for the day. You can hire towels for your stay but they are more hand towel size - fine for a few days to be honest and again very cheap to do if you want to maximise on your suitcase space. Downside to the dorms was as to be expected it was mainly populated by young 20 somethings with little regard for keeping the noise down late at night/very early in morning - so ear plugs and eye mask are a must. But thats the only negative as the dorms are very cheap so perfect if on a budget. Im just maybe a little old in the tooth for that now & 3hrs sleep the night before a marathon just wasnt funny....neither was the 4hrs I only got the night after....not a relection on the hostel at all. But maybe a sign saying please respect others & turn mobiles to silent/try not to slam doors etc after 11pm or something might be appreciated as a gentle reminder....

But other than that a real gem of a find & I wouldnt hesisitate to go back there - will just take a double room next time though!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a fine hostel the bedroom was basic with 2 bunk beds, the shower room was very nice and clean, well stocked bar serving Czech beers. On the first night we ate in the restaurant we all had the burger with fries and it was one of the best burgers I have ever had for just over £5. Breakfast was buffet style all you wanted ( no bacon). Over all a great hostel and would book again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#186 of 646 in Prague
1,483 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#106 of 646 in Prague
710 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#49 of 646 in Prague
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,697 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#111 of 646 in Prague
1,546 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 646 in Prague
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic House

Address: Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
#63 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#75 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £46 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mosaic House 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosaic House: One house, 1000 memories. We are a place where you can live, relax, mingle, feel, dance, eat, sleep and laugh. We are a community of locals, travellers and free spirits; creative and unique individuals; food lovers and life enthusiasts. We are made of you as we were made for you. We designed private rooms to rest and unwind. We built shared rooms to socialise and experience. We believe that happiness, kindness and empathy combined with eco initiatives and sustainability can take you a long way. Short or long, take a journey with us. Create memories and long-lasting friendships. Become part of our Mosaic & be part of our House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mosaic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic House Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing