We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hostel, amazing staff”
Review of Mosaic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mosaic House
Ranked #65 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stunning hostel, amazing staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Whilst on a European roadtrip, my friend and I had planned a two night stay in Prague. Prague seemed a lot cheaper than anywhere else we had stayed in Europe and as it is known as a 'stag-do location' we didn't set our sights too high on our hostel stay. We were so wrong...Mosaic Hostel really does blur the lines between hostel and a boutique hotel. Its absolutely stunning.

The outside and the communal reception and bar are all designed to look very swanky. We were greeted by a very friendly and cute guy at the reception. He gave us directions as to where we needed to park our car (which was a little on the pricey side but considering how cheap the hostel was it didn't really matter).

The hostel bar was really lively but not out of control. We had opted to stay in a 26 bed dorm. The biggest I've ever stayed in so we were a bit skeptical as to how it would be but it was absolutely fine. The beds were tucked away in small alcoves so it didn't feel too packed in and everyone was really respectful of noise and belongings. Each bunk had two lockers underneath and the room had access to toilets and showers which never seemed to be too busy.

The only downfall was that on our second night we had planned to have dinner and drinks in the hostel bar but there was a launch party for Czech Republics version of The Voice so we werent allowed to go in. This is fine except it would have been nice to have been informed about it by the staff. Instead the lady at reception gave us some directions to a restaurant near by and some cool bars which were fun.

I definitely would recommend this hostel. Its really great, friendly staff, good location (on a map it looks further out of the center than it is to walk), excellent atmosphere, and comfortable rooms.

Check out our trip: http://blog.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/nessandjess/3/1400697817/tpod.html

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vxk831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,381
    543
    123
    45
    23
See reviews for
98
474
456
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with anything we asked, very welcoming upon check in.
Our double room was good size, clean and comfortable and the balcony view over Prague was awesome.
Breakfast was good had a nice selection.
Very busy hotel with a lot of younger people staying as it was also like a hostel but was recommended to us and we would certainly recommend it as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazza996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed three nights in May with my two daughters. Chose Mosaic House on basis of Tripadvisor and other reviews.

Pros - good location, 30 minute walk with luggage from railway station, aesthetically pleasing building with quirky touches, very helpful map and advice from reception, room clean, beds very comfortable, bathroom very modern, free WiFi, noise wasn't a problem on any of the nights we stayed - we were on the fourth floor

Cons - reception not particularly helpful on check in, rooms not available (to be fair we did arrive 50 minutes earlier than allocated check in time), however felt that the rooms were not going to be available until that time so directed into bar, rooms spartan with none of the little touches that you might expect in a hotel - soap in shower, tea/coffee facilities, swipe in card didn't always work, WiFi was patchy, no self catering facilities that you might expect in a hostel.

I think this is probably best for younger people and I was one of the oldest people staying there. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves - an easy thing to do in Prague.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mediCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had an unbelievable experience in Prague.Stayed in the Mosaic house for four nights in May and would highly recommend this hotel/hostel. The receptionist Veronica recommended several bars and nightclubs that were excellent, then we went on the free walking tour of prague. Overall a fantastic stay at Mosaic house!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomglancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nah-Dja, General Manager at Mosaic House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Tom,

We really thank you for the great review that you posted on Tripadvisor! Much appreciated!! It is always great to get feedback from our guests. I keeps us striving for more happy guests in future bookings.

Happy travels and positive smiles from Prague!

In the name of the whole Mosaic House team

Nah-Dja Tien
The Boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have known of Mosaic House for quite some time, being frequent travellers to Prague, but until now dismissed it presuming it to be exclusively for the young and stag/hen party crowds. (We are 42 & 50!). Any such concerns however immediately evaporated upon on our arrival. Not only were the staff incredibly welcoming and thoughtful but the mix of guests, hotel and hostel, young and old, backpackers and professionals, gave it a very nice vibe. We did not witness any bad behaviour from other guests (even the stag-do that insisted the groom-to-be wear a mankini and a group of “pirates” were very nice).

The staff at Mosaic House are wonderfully happy, helpful, professional and friendly. Smiles from staff everywhere at all times of day is wonderful to experience.

Our room was fantastic; modern, comfortable, quiet, clean and well appointed. Our bed was comfy and the décor up-to-the-minute; first rate and faultless.

The location is great, being tucked a little way back from a not too busy street, but only a few minutes walk from the city centre and with trams and an underground station just moments away.

We very happily stayed in one very rainy day in Prague, had Tapas in their in-house restaurant, La Loca, and then spent a quite a bit of time drinking (fabulous and low priced) cocktails in the bar.(Andrew makes fabulous cocktails – especially midori sours).

I know people have made negative comments on the breakfast buffet, however what they present seems to be the Prague hospitality standard. If you were disappointed here, you would have been disappointed most every other Prague hotel you stay in.

Mosaic House is now our new go to hotel in Prague, we can only hope they have room for us when we next book as this place is a wonder.

Room Tip: As they have music every night downstairs, live or otherwise, it maybe worth asking for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baishamao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. No free breakfast which was a small bummer, but everything else is great. My friend and I stayed in Your Room, the 16 bed dorm, and it was a nice and spacious room with big drawer-like lockers that rolled out from under the beds. Bathroom was nice, roomy, and clean as well. Bar and restaurant upstairs with live music (maybe bring earplugs, because sometimes the music comes through the floor late at night), and a really neat vibe with cool modern decor and funky sculptures out front and in the lobby. Lots of places to sit down and chill, plus a great free map made by locals with recommendations of tons of fun stuff to do. My map was tattered by the end because I was using it so much....super helpful. Also, this hostel is in a really good location, just up the street from the Dancing Building and only about a 10 minute walk from Charles Bridge and all the other city-center attractions. STAY HERE. It's super nice and super affordable!

Room Tip: If you're staying in Your Room (16 bed dorm) it's on the basement level, so sometimes music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel part with my son the last week of May (after his study abroad in Prague) and was blown away by the quality of the hotel for the price. The room was smallish but plenty big for the two of us (two twin beds). It looked newly redone. The bathroom was comparable to 5 star hotels I've stayed at. Immaculately clean. Very generous breakfast buffet was included. (Lots of meats, cheeses, fresh fruit plus the standard fare). Great coffee. My son stayed an extra night in the hostel part and he was satisfied with his stay also. It is also centrally located and easy to get to the main tourist attractions. It does have a younger youth hostel vibe as there are a lot of 20 somethings. They do have a music venue on the ground floor, but we never heard any sound from it in our room. Definitely worth considering.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel part (as opposed to the hostel rooms) and had a good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#103 of 649 in Prague
689 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#76 of 649 in Prague
1,786 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,337 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#180 of 649 in Prague
1,429 reviews
Praha 5
Aparthotel City 5
Aparthotel City 5
#5 of 649 in Prague
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic House

Property: Mosaic House
Address: Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#76 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#89 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mosaic House 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosaic House: One house, 1000 memories. We are a place where you can live, relax, mingle, feel, dance, eat, sleep and laugh. We are a community of locals, travellers and free spirits; creative and unique individuals; food lovers and life enthusiasts. We are made of you as we were made for you. We designed private rooms to rest and unwind. We built shared rooms to socialise and experience. We believe that happiness, kindness and empathy combined with eco initiatives and sustainability can take you a long way. Short or long, take a journey with us. Create memories and long-lasting friendships. Become part of our Mosaic & be part of our House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mosaic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic House Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing