We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOSTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED”
Review of Mosaic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mosaic House
Ranked #72 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I love everything about this hostel. It is very modern and stylish specially the bathroom. Staff are generally friendly specially Veronica. Breakfast spread was also good. I will definitely return to Prague & will choose this hostel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JAFranco1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 2,450 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We've got a double room on the 2nd floor. Room was quite spacious and in general really cool (modern style, high, comfortable bed, 'smart' blinds, a big bathroom with a bathtub). We loved that the hotel cares about the environment (water warmed with the solar panels). A bad point is that it smelled cigarettes and weed because of the common ventillation pipe :/ Unfortunately the clim didn't work correctly, furthermore we've got a blocked nose and a sorethroat... What's more even if our room was situated from the back of the hotel, we could hear a loud music from the bar situated just under this hotel.... In our opinion, it's not worth to pay so much for having a beautiful room, but an awful night....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iwonchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Myself and a friend stayed in the 26 female dorm and really enjoyed it. The room is split up into sections of 4 beds so you still get that homely feel. The atmosphere upstairs was amazing and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We both really enjoyed our stay over 4 days, will definitely be heading back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hostel also doubles as a club on the weekends and is very loud for any rooms located right off the stairs. The facilities are very nice and the beds are comfortable. I liked the look and feel of the hostel and it was in an easy to get to location (the instructions tell you to look for exit E4 when you leave the underground station but I could not find it to save my life. If you stand in front of the pizza stand and face it, it's the exit to your right). They do have free walking tours that I would highly recommend and good food if you don't want to go out and find something.

We did have trouble with double booking and the hostel just removing people's things and making up beds for the new guests on multiple nights. Instead of trying to fix the problem they would wait for people to come back and find someone else in their bed and then ask them to pay for an upgrade. I really wanted to like this place but I felt it was poorly managed.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the stairs if you want a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TaraF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Excellent hostel. Staff are very friendly, they printed our boarding passes, showed us where to go in the city and let us leave our bags in their locker room after we had checked out so that we could explore the city without bringing our bags around with us. Good bar with a DJ in the hostel where everyone parties until late. Walking distance to the big nightclubs. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Br1anC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have to admit, we were slightly concerned when we first arrived in the lobby of Mosaic House. We were welcomed by two LONG lines of young backpackers, loud music, and an obnoxious drunk man. After a not-so-charming hotel experience in Salzburg, we looked at each other and wondered if we made a mistake staying a hotel/hostel combo in Prague. We were wrong!

Our hotel room was luxurious. It was on the 5th floor, away from all loud club music. It was clean and spacious. The bathroom was huge for all the hotels we've stayed at in Europe! The shower. Don't even get me started on the shower. It was an open shower with the most delightful, pressurized rainfall showerhead. The double bed was a real double, not two twins pushed together. It was firm and comfortable.

Unfortunately, the AC was broken and it was warm the first night we were there. I called the front desk for assistance to no avail. But the front desk did comp us with a free breakfast the next morning. Fortunately, the weather cooled down enough for us to keep the windows open at night.

What I thought was really cool about the hotel was that it was a "green" and "smart" efficient hotel. I sure wish hotels in the US were equipped with this technology.

The hotel/hostel is also conveniently located across the metro lines, a 10 minute walk to Wenceslas Square, a 10 minute walk to the Old Town, and lots of places to eat nearby.

This is definitely the best hotel we have ever stayed at, in Europe and in the US.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rx4foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in mosaic house. Really cool modern hostel. Great atmosphere and a fab bar. There was a real hotel feel in this hostel. So some small issues we had were that there was no kitchen facilities and the air conditioning was not very effective. But we loved this hostel for our visit to Prague!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Eimear K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#182 of 646 in Prague
1,498 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#103 of 646 in Prague
712 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#113 of 646 in Prague
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#50 of 646 in Prague
2,525 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,714 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#78 of 646 in Prague
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic House

Address: Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
#64 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#75 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £37 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mosaic House 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosaic House: One house, 1000 memories. We are a place where you can live, relax, mingle, feel, dance, eat, sleep and laugh. We are a community of locals, travellers and free spirits; creative and unique individuals; food lovers and life enthusiasts. We are made of you as we were made for you. We designed private rooms to rest and unwind. We built shared rooms to socialise and experience. We believe that happiness, kindness and empathy combined with eco initiatives and sustainability can take you a long way. Short or long, take a journey with us. Create memories and long-lasting friendships. Become part of our Mosaic & be part of our House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mosaic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic House Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing