We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Promised so much...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MOODs Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MOODs Boutique Hotel
Ranked #68 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Promised so much...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in May '11. Our choice was eased reading the reviews on T.A, it sounded perfect.

We arrived earlier than the specified check in time, but thought we'd see if our room was ready, luckily it was, and check in was quick and easy and the gentleman on the desk was enthusiastic and informative about what to do and see during our stay. What an encouraging start to our stay.

We were shown to our room, room one. First impressions was very nice, just like we had seen on the website. We put some bottled water in the fridge to cool and went out to explore. Upon our return several hours later, we realised the fridge was not working, everything in it was warm. The safe housed above it, containing our belongings was also hot. We informed reception and was told maintenance would not be available until the next day, but ensured us it would be dealt with. We retired to our bedroom, and put our warm glass of water on the bedside table, where it continued to slip off the table - The tables were sloping downwards.

In the morning I returned to reception and asked if the tables could be fixed as well as our fridge. Once again we went out exploring, returned some hours later, opened the fridge, the contents were still warm, the tables still sloped. I spoke to a member of staff on reception that claimed they could not understand what was the problem conveniently blamed on the language barrier.

I felt my intelligence was insulted, were we not supposed to notice that our requests to fix the relatively small problems had seemingly been ignored?

Unfortunately, this marred what could have been a perfect stay in Prague. The bed was very comfortable, but far too big for the room. First impressions; the bathroom was very nice but not very practical. If you stepped too far out of the bath you could have stepped into the toilet bowl, and the shower screen might as well not have been there, it was impossible to shower without the floor getting soaking wet.

Upon check out, we weren't asked if everything was ok. But I guess it didn't matter, you already had my money. Nothing like good customer service!

The only plus point i'd give this hotel is the extensive choice at Breakfast. Should we return to Prague we'll be looking for alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoulfulMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moodsmanager, General Manager at MOODs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Thank you for your review and your stay at Hotel Moods. I am very sorry that our technician was not able to fix your requests during stay. We made all the necessary steps to increase our service for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    506
    99
    19
    9
See reviews for
190
902
55
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

This was an excellent choice whilst staying in Prague. It was about 30 minutes from the airport and once I had the GPS system set up in the car it wasn't so difficult to find.

When we arrived it was almost out of a 'story book'. An old street, in a very old city, in an old building but inside the place was stylishly decorated. Modern - boutique type set-up with good sized room and exceptionally comfortable beds. The bathroom was large with a bath and a spa. Sitting back in the bath with a glass of champagne was a real luxury.

It was only a quick 5 minute drive into the centre of the city. Here you find old cobble stones streets, cafes, restaurants and bars. The feeling was happy and the city seemed vibrant which was quite appropriate as the hotel we were staying in was called 'Moods' and I was in a good mood for the entire time here.

The breakfast in the morning was fresh and plentiful. There was lots to choose from in the buffet/continental breakfast selection. The staff were courteous and friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The internet connection in the downstairs foyer was good and my iPad had no problem at all picking up a signal.

It is about 100 meters from the Vltava River. Prague is home to a number of famous cultural attractions, many of which survived the violence and destruction of twentieth century Europe. Main attractions include Prague Castle, the Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, the Jewish Quarter, the Lennon Wall, and Petřín hill. Since 1992, the extensive historic centre of Prague has been included in the UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites. It's a sight to behold

.

Room Tip: Moods is a great place to stay visiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieLawyer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

10 minutes from the "city center", but there where 1 big and very good shoppingmall just a few minutes away!. The breakfast buffé is very nice and fresch. You will get a free massage.
The staff were helpfull and they will help you book daytrips. We recomend that you use Guidepal (app to cellphones, free download)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The staff in this stylish boutique hotel are outstanding. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them, from bringing in food from outside restaurants (which was very good) to recommending eateries, arranging trips and taxis etc.
The location is very close to the main city centre attractions (about ten minutes walk from the old town square and Jewish quarter), and two minutes from the river.
The room was very chic and the bed was amazingly comfortable and huge.
The breakfast provided was good and went on until late morning to cater for those who might like a lie in, something other hotels might like to note.
All in all great hotel, great service and very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redpeter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I got sold on this hotel primarily for the location and the super-comfy Hastens beds. However, what they don't advertise on the hotel website is that there is major building/renovation work going on behind/next to the hotel.

From 7:30 every morning we were awoken by loud banging and drilling, which lasted all day. I would imagine this work will be going on for a year at least, depending on what they are doing with that building!

The noise was intolerable and seemed to come through every wall in our room. Obviously we had the window shut, and even closed a fire door outside our room's door, but this made no difference!

Aside from that, the hotel is well positioned (5 mins walk to Namesti Republiky metro station), but I feel it is rather basic. You get a very small room for your money, which at nearly £100 a night, I don't believe is acceptable. The rooms are very plain and there's no furniture to speak of - just the bed, TV over a desk, and well, that's it. You get built in wardrobes with minibar and safe, hidden away. I saw 5 rooms at the hotel, including some 'suites', but these were all still small, and definitely not worth the upgrade fee they wanted.

We felt it's a real shame the hotel's sound proofing wasn't up to much, and this led to us having very little sleep each night, and not being able to enjoy the next day and evening after being woken up (and kept awake) so early! The hotel seems to pride itself on getting a good night's sleep due to it's super-comfy beds. However, with the building work this is of course, not possible. This really ruined our Prague experience which was otherwise fantastic!

Prague is a fantastic city, and Moods could be a good hotel...if it wasn't for the noise and the high price.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJjay_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moodsmanager, General Manager at MOODs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for your review and staying at hotel Moods. We are always doing our best to afford the best possible service to our clients. We are very terribly sorry that our neighbour made some building works during the week that you stayed with us and specially during the time that promised would not to work. Those works now definitely finished. If you will have your journey to Prague next time it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you at Moods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This a great hotel!! just a 5 min walk to a great mall with great food and shopping and another 5min walk to the old town square! The rooms are very quiet and very modern and trendy. The breakfast was very good and fresh and the staff keep replenishing the food as it finishes. I especially liked the floors as they have no carpet and hence no dirt!! The front desk is very helpful with whatever you need. Overall we loved everything about the hotel and will be definitely returning!!!! And one of the few hotels I've been where the wifi actually works in the room and it's fast!!!!! PRAGUE and MOODS ROCK!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairefontaine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

nice becasue not in the tourist area but very close from it and wonderful breakfast, fantastic aroma massage............

Room Tip: the superior double bedroom view on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ema8Clairefontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#65 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#35 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#55 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#81 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOODs Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOODs Boutique Hotel

Property: MOODs Boutique Hotel
Address: Klimentska 2006/28, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MOODs Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOODs will change the hotel scene in Prague with unparalleled service and comfort. This first apple multi media hotel in Prague, will amaze you for sure. Handmade beds from Hästens and 24 hours food and beverage are available to give you a stress free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your MOODs Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing