We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Donatello
Ranked #50 of 368 Prague B&B and Inns
Vladivostok, Primor'ye, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel is perfectly okay in many ways - clean and comfortable and in a good location, with a tram stop and subway only a short walk away. Pleasent antique decor in rooms and comfortable beds. Free wi-fi was a definite plus and the reception staff were very helpful in arranging a transfer to the airport. I would stay here again because at least I would know what I was getting!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    52
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
27
69
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This was one of the few times when I was a little dissappointed with a hotwire hotel rating. This was rated by hotwire as a 4* hotel but I think that's a little too high.
The room although a little old was clean and everything worked well. The location while not very central is still within walking distancefrom the centre and from that scenic bridge leading to the castle.
Upon check in I was given a voucher for a free drink at the bar and I thought that was a very nice touch.
The receptionist was also helpful with directions and information and the hotel is also close to the subway section with an easy bus connection to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appreci8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice and liked it very much. It is a small cosy hotel on a little stone paved street close to the center, with comfortable rooms and great service. Breakfasts are very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lloyd255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and i just came back and i want to give a really really good review of this hotel, we left around 4 in the morning and i was still asleep there my drama biggins...only when i got in the plane i realised that i forgot my iPhone (brand-new) in the room OMG what a despair, i couldn't wait o get to London to call them to see what could be done, the receptionist by the name of Olga was an angel she helped me all the way to be send to me via Fedex, not mentioning the location which is right in the centre, the room we stayed in was huge, it had 2 bathrooms, we received an welcome drink upon arrival, there is a Lady who serves the breakfast she does above and beyond to serve you and make you feel welcome.
Overall we are rally pleased with the choice we made to stay in this hotel.
Its around 30 min by taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The honeymoon suite should not be marketed at people wanting a romantic break. Thank goodness we had asked to see the room before paying. We arrived super-late, so stayed for 2 nights.

The Bedroom: The first thing to notice was the smell of damp. The Double bed was actually 2 single beds pushed close together with 1 mattress on top, so it was soft at either side, but hard in the middle. Interestingly they still used 2 single duvets, laid sideways. The furniture was scratched and dented. The room is actually the one they use in the publicity shots. Although the picture looks great, you cannot see appreciate the quality of the fittings or the low ceiling.

The Bathroom: Presumably the damp patch an upper corner was the source of the smell. As toilet seat did not match the toilet and was too round, there was a gap, and water splashed out when it flushed. The hair drier was held together with tape that had lost it's stick. The jacuzzi was actually ok.

The area: One of us has lived in Prague, and knew that this road was unusually bad. When we arrived, the police were watching someone trying to break in through a window on the street. On another evening someone was smoking .... in a car outside the front door. There are plenty of 'working girls' in the park right round the corner.

The hotel interior: The walk from the lift looked like a hostel. There were no lights in the stairwell, and no light switches. The lights worked the next evening, with each light fitting only had 1 of the required 5 bulbs. The windows had been completely sprayed entirely with 'winter frost effect' spray so you could not see out. A brochure in the lounge advertised where to fire Kalashnikovs.

On the plus side, the fruit in the room was fresh, the room was quiet, and someone had gone to a lot of trouble laying out petals very nicely on the bed. The service at breakfast was very sweet.

In conclusion, this will suit a couple in Prague for a fun, budget weekend, or easy-going backpackers. It is marketed as a location perfect for a romantic break or honeymoon. People looking forward to that will be disappointed. Expect an average 3 star hotel, and you'll have a fine stay. If this was our honeymoon, we both would have cried.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite could suit backpackers or students.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LikedPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Hello! My wife and I have long thought to what hotel to go and chose Donatello! And we have not regretted it. Good price and great location.
About 8 minutes to the central square foot. The surrounding area quietly. A quiet street. The hotel is very nice, well-styled. Friendly staff who are always happy to help at any time. We had a very large number: a huge bed, small sofa, coffee table, plasma.
Very comfortable bathroom. Breakfast at the hotel were always delicious and hearty. All products are fresh. In all of our questions about Prague, we can easily respond to the reception.

I recommend this hotel for a good holiday!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Nice, quiet peaceful place, despite the fact that in the center! that itself is a big plus. Nice and friendly staff. especially liked the breakfast and an elderly lady serving there. everything is always on time prepared, tasty and cozy home!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raikhan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Ambiance Hotel
Ambiance Hotel
#166 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#233 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#147 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#285 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Wenceslas Square Hotel
Wenceslas Square Hotel
#12 of 368 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Residence La Fenice
Residence La Fenice
#37 of 368 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatello

Property: Hotel Donatello
Address: Salmovska 1490/4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatello 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing