We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived like royalty. Excellent hotel and staff.”
Review of Deminka Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deminka Palace
Ranked #177 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lived like royalty. Excellent hotel and staff.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is located almost in the center, near Museum and Wenceslas square. We came from I.P.Pavlova metro station but then we found out that Museum metro station was closer - keep left from the entrance, go down the street, cross small garden and you are at the metro in a 5 min.
You can reach main attractions by metro (1-2 stops) or on foot (10-20 min). A supermarket is 2 min on foot.

It`s really hard to evaluate this hotel correctly because we were given a Royal suite instead of a standard room for free . And it was for 2 persons only! So, we lived really kingly.

All suites are located on the 5 floor, ours was next to the breakfast room. At first glance it seemed to me that in the morning would be noisy, but the room was very good soundproofing.
Room 501 is a duplex room and has 2 spacious bedrooms, the bed on the upper level, a large kitchen-dining room, 2 toilets.
The hotel itself is new and i guess all roooms are modern and clean. Staff on the reception was very polite, helpful and did their best, especially Marek.
TIP! Change your money on the hotel, they have a good rate. There are many money change points in the city but they take a significant commission.
Breakfast offered a good choice.
So, it is true 4-stars hotel and i recommend Deminka with pleasure and good memories.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Furious298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    160
    28
    11
    13
See reviews for
69
266
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clayworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in a junior suite which was massive, stylish and well equipped. Breakfast offered a good choice and the staff were friendly and helpful. The main tourist trap of Wenceslas square is about a 10 min walk and the old town beyond about 20 mins. This worked well for us we found some lovely authentic restaurants off the beaten track, preferring to escape the crowds and stag parties.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliBrodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I recently spent 3 days at the Deminka Palace hotel in Prague and was very pleased with the attentive staff and accomodations. Staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat, local cuisine and we were upgraded to a suite which was great. The hotel and adjoining restaurant are excellent, close to attractions and again staff, with a special mention of Marek was simply super!! Breakfast was excellent every day. Thank you for all your help Marek, I will be back,
Karin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oma504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a lovely stay here over the bank holiday weekend. Most of what i want to say has been said in these here already - but just wanted to mention the lovely Marek on reception - really cool & helpful. Also - there is a bucket of panna cotta on the buffet at breakfast.. what a treat!
For value for money this is 100% '5 star' which id love to give it however the suites (albeit enormous!) did have a bit a funny layout (ie wardrobes in the hallway, the only mirrors being in the bathroom, toilet in the doorway of the bathroom..) and peculiarly - i realised on the Friday night that we were actually positioned on top of a nightclub playing Drum & Base til the early hours - not offensively loudly (and we were on the 1st floor) however id guess that it might bother some visitors.
We had a bit of a niggle with the restaurant downstairs who have a policy of refusing to serve tap water (despite ordering food and wine/beer etc) which i find disgraceful but this might just be my personal niggle (fancy spending one's precious beer & wine money on that clear tasteless stuff!)

Overall - I thoroughly recommend this hotel :)

Room Tip: As mentioned, there's a nightclub below the hotel (this might just be at weekends i couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elclinch_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We paid £80 a night for a junior suite at Deminka palace. Firstly the entrance is a closed door and you need to ring the bell to get in. Once inside the hotel staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. On various days we asked for an umbrella, change, information on the tram system and for an iron and requests were met with a smile. The room was an apartment that was very functional and the bedroom and bathroom were lovely but the place as a whole wasn't particularly luxurious if that is what you were expecting. Safe and fridge were particularly welcome. Breakfast was above average with different breads, pastries, cakes and a small selection of English breakfast. Our only negative (if you can call it that) was the location. The hotel is just of Wenceslas square but if like us you want to spend most of your time in old town or across the river in lesser town/prague castle it is the wrong end of the square so a bit of a walk. Tram 22 will take you to across the bridge for about 75p a journey so it wasn't too much trouble. Overall a very nice place that we would recommend but if we went again would book a hotel in old town instead.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emz_ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vordernberg, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in Deminka on February. The Hotel in just 5 min walk from Vaclav Square. The entrance of the Hotel is truly magnificent. At the check in we had the pleasure to meet Giulio. He was really professional and very kind, he gave us general and historical info about the city better than a touristic guide....After the check in we went to our room, 404, huge, very clean and with a nice cozy terrace... pure luxury! Breakfast on the roof top was good . In general our stay was perfect and Prague is one of the most beautiful city in Europe. Would recommend both of them for sure!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beneder J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a room at the Deminka Palace for three nights via Orbitz for a good rate. When we arrived at the hotel to check in, the receptionist said that they were doing renovations and we should go to a different hotel, a half mile away. Confused, I asked for clarification. Apparently, they would be painting the room, so we really had no choice.

Since we couldn't stay at the Deminka, I asked if I could simply have my money back. No, I could not. But they would give us a free dinner at the substitute hotel's restaurant.

When we arrived at the substitute hotel, the Deminka called to ask if we would be staying at hotel #2. When I said yes, the receptionist said, "ok, I will tell the painters they can go in that room then." Um, what?

Then he continued: the restaurant with our free dinner would be closed during our stay, but we could go that night between 7:30 and 8 pm. Gee, thanks.

I travel a lot, and I really just ask that my hotel be clean, safe, and honest. I'm disappointed we didn't get to stay at what everyone says is a great hotel, but mostly I'm just ticked off that they sold a room they knew they didn't have.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Bohemia Plaza Residence
Bohemia Plaza Residence
#245 of 649 in Prague
337 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Salvator Boutique Hotel
Salvator Boutique Hotel
#101 of 649 in Prague
115 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#106 of 649 in Prague
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#111 of 649 in Prague
589 reviews
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#141 of 649 in Prague
594 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#192 of 649 in Prague
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deminka Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deminka Palace

Property: Deminka Palace
Address: Skretova 1, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#145 Business Hotel in Prague
#148 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#170 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Deminka Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Prague just behind the National Museum, the Deminka Palace represents the meeting point between history and modernity, art and wellness, past and future. Charming and sophisticated our historic residence will accommodate you in its elegant and warm rooms and will let you feel an atmosphere proper of another era. The Deminka Palace also enjoys excellent connections to the exhibition and congress center, to the airport and is located just a few steps from all major historical and artistic attraction of the center and from the more modern shopping centers of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Deminka Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deminka Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing