We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Town Square Apartments
Ranked #34 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The pictures on net were fantastic, unfortunately this did note represent the apartment we were given. Up until the day before our arrival we did not know the location of our apartment. To our shock we were taken to another area from reception which had 3 flights of stairs without a lift. The apartment itself was fine, but service was not great. Noisy at night as above a bar. We were here for 4 days without any services even though we were promised this would happen. We had to ask for fresh towels. Having said all that the location was fantastic. Very close to the old town square.
We would not recommend this apartment as we did not get what we thought we would.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    149
    54
    23
    14
See reviews for
151
58
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We chose these apartments because they had wifi advertised. The only place we could get wifi was on the landing/stairs outside the apartment or downstairs near the front door and then it constantly dropped out. When we complained they told us it was our iPads and phones that didn't work properly - all five of them! We told them we had no problem in other hotels/coffee shops, etc in Prague but they could not care. They had construction work going on and as we were staying for a week we were assured that it would not start before 9.30, am but they started every day at 7.30 - 8.00 am. The oven was filthy and had not been cleaned in years. The lights in the bathroom didn't work and many bulbs were blown throughout the apartment, the shower didn't work and had to be replaced. They rationed toilet roll, towels, etc. - it was all very petty and a bit of a nightmare. I tried on several occasions to find the manager to complain but he avoided us constantly. The noise from the bars below was deafening at times and went till 4 am in the morning. This is clearly a case of bad management and not caring about or for the guests. On a bright note Prague is wonderful, just be careful about where you stay.

Room Tip: Avoid and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Arrived at night, in the dark and rain after sitting outside Prague for an hour after an accident - not what we needed at the end of a 6 hour drive. Our contact had texted us a few times to check in. When we arrived to Prague and couldn't find the office the girl asked us for our location - we happened to be just around the block. She came and met us, got our room keys from the office and then took us to our apartment. She was very friendly and helpful. About 5 mins away was a shopping mall with secure underground parking where we parked our car - it wasn't cheap though - about $US100 for 2 days. The apartment itself was spacious, clean and easy to get to. It was certainly old and due for a paint job and a few new appliances. We saw the people next door and their apartment was very new inside with a lot new stuff. The first night was very quiet and the 2nd night very noisy due to the bar down the street - apparently people in Prague love to sing when drunk! The apartment was very close to the main square - 2 mins walk and some good restaurants close by. If you have kids you might ask about a non smoking area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunnerAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Really fantastic apartment. Very high quality, must have been recently kitted out. Beautiful high ceilings, high spec. Cn be a bit noisy with club under windows, but not too much of an issue for us. Would return no problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My family and I stayed here for a week. We arrived late at night and had some trouble raising someone from reception. When we finally did we were told we had to pay up front in Euro. We of course, did not have enough euro so the night staff put the pressure on to turn up early the next day and pay up. I was not at all happy about walking around with heaps of cash and felt this had never been communicated to me. We were then eventually, with my children falling asleep, led through a drunken crowd to our apartment. It was up three flights of stairs which was tricky with luggage, children and my dad who is getting older. The apartment itself was nice to look at but the floor was dirty which we discovered when our feet made the white sheets filthy. We were told on our second last day that they would provide changes of sheets but it was really too late by then. The shower would have to be the worst I have ever had. The kitchen had no tea, coffee, sugar, salt or pepper and there was no soap. All of this apparently should have been told to us but wasn't. I did complain via email about the broken shower screen which was fixed the next day and they volunteered to dry my parents clothes when they inquired about a laundry mat. I didn't sleep well for the week because of all the noise from pubs all around - it was summer. The location was great - very close to the old town square. I wouldn't stay here again mainly due to the noise but also the service which was hit and miss. There is no air con and the apartment gets quite stuffy. If you open the windows you get all the street noise louder and cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

The apartments itself are great and very centrally located. Staff is helpful and friendly BUT there is a place called Chapeau Rouge down below. A 3 floor bar/nightclub that closes no earlier than 4am. The music can be heard in the rooms all night long as well as the noisy clubbing people. I would advice to stay somewhere else if you like a good night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank xglenx31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed there with 4 family members and the rooms were huge with 2 bathrooms, spacious and clean. The location is a stone's throw from Old Town Square, where the Astronomical clock and the Bell Tower is located. Old Town Square is also where most major tour guides meeting point so this was very convenient. It is about 10 minute walk to the entrance of Charles Bridge, which opens up to another magical scenic side of Prague. It is convenient to find food (including an authentic Japanese restaurant downstairs, called Mr. Sushi) and convenience store all around this apartment as well should you need anything. The staff speaks excellent English, informative and tourist-friendly (as most places in Prague are not). I also had my diamond jewelry sent back to me by post which I had carelessly left in the deposit box upon my departure. Due to the honest and professional management team, location and value for money, I enjoyed my 3 night stay immensely and would definitely come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetooph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#115 of 649 in Prague
382 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Salvator Superior Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Apartments Tynska 7
Apartments Tynska 7
#31 of 656 in Prague
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
4 Arts Suites
4 Arts Suites
#12 of 656 in Prague
177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cathedral Prague Apartments
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOOo Downtown
MOOo Downtown
#2 of 656 in Prague
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Square Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Square Apartments

Property: Old Town Square Apartments
Address: Stupartska 9 | Stare Mesto, Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Town Square Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Town Square Apartments are located right in the historic centre of Prague, only 200 metres from Old Town Square and the famous Astronomical clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Town Square Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing