We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, spacious and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Town Square Apartments
Ranked #34 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location, spacious and clean”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with a group of girl friends. The location is excellent, very close to the main square. The apartment (4 bedrooms) was clean and adequately equipped with two bathrooms and two separate toilets. We didn't do any self catering, we ate out for all our meals, including Bond Cafe for breakfast which conveniently is right next door to the apartments.
There was a noisy bar below the apartment which stayed open quite late, which meant we didn't all sleep that well - but the central location made up for this.
The reception staff were very helpful and showed us on a city map where to exchange money safely, where the nearest supermarket was and were ready to answer any questions we had.
The beds were quite comfortable, though I went straight through one of the double beds when I sat on it, some of the wooden slats under the mattress were not secured. I did mention this to the guy at reception but don't think it was sorted out. With plenty of beds in the apartment I just slept in another one! There was free wifi in the apartment which was useful. And also a safe in one of the rooms. The only thing we were a little disappointed with was that the apartments were not serviced at all during our stay. We weren't expecting beds to be made or replacement towels, but it would have been nice for the bin in the kitchen to be cleaned out daily, some of the contents were getting a bit whiffy after 3 days.
As far as Prague is concerned, it is a beautiful city. It is very busy but is still one of my favourite European Cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank justlovemyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    149
    54
    23
    14
See reviews for
151
58
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kos Town, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the end of September into early October. The apartment was literally 50 paces to the Old Town Square. The apartment that we were given was extremely quiet and well heated. We were cosy and warm for our stay, even though the temperature dropped below zero. The apartment had everything we could have wanted. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hardest part was finding the reception! Yes, it was on the second floor, and there was no lift ... But that didn't detract from the overall experience. Because of the location, we were able to get out and about and return to base very easily. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Email ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_Mudjimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This apartments organisation has multiple locations.
We were in the old town square (hlavne namestie) house (number 4 appt 3).
I had to attend a conference, and my baby and girlfriend traveled with me.

CONS (the stuff you want to know)

-> However we informed the ladies at the apartments desk we would be coming with a baby and we specifically asked for a taxi with a baby seat. They did not inform the taxi agency. I also noticed some 'unprofessionalism' when visiting this office (It felt like a youth hostel).

-> You're in an old town square of the beer loving country. Stuff that happens there: Singers (singing the same songs every day), Bag pipe players (playing the same songs every day), Trumpeters (playing the same tunes every day), Opera singers, guitar players etc..
In the sleeping room you don't hear all this, but in the living room, kitchen, ... even with closed windows, you will hear all this.

-> At night, the terraces in front of the apartment (which are awesome) need to be cleaned up, so the tables need to be moved every night. With closed windows, you will hear this.

-> In front of the apartment door is an italian restaurant. They place tables and chairs in front of the door. As we were with a buggy this was not very practical (but merely a detail).

PRO'S:
-> you're in the center of it all, you will not need to take a taxi, as you can reach everything with metro/tram. be sure to check the photos I uploaded.

-> In the sleeping room at the back of the apartment, you could not hear all the distractions. So it was very peaceful to sleep at night.

-> Elevator: As mentioned before, we were with a buggy. Moving all that stuff to the third floor is quite a bourdon. Thank the lord there was an elevator (its really really small, but it works).

-> The bath room is clean and the shower place is big enough. The shower thing itself could use an upgrade. I remember standing in the corner of the douche cabine, just to be below the water jet, this could be better.

-> TV + Surround
If you want to see movies from your laptop, don't forget to bring the (small jack to kinch) audio cable.
I went to buy it near Tesco, for < 100 krowns.
The tv/audio system is great, especially considering you hear a lot of outside noise sitting in the salon, you'll want to turn up the volume.

-> Kitchen
The kitchen is clean and well equipped. Oven, fridge, dishwasher ... All essentials are available.
Although a pair of scissors would come in handy.

I have the feeling I did not get value for my money as these apartments are quite expensive.

Would I go there again if the company paid it again? yes.
Would I pay the price for these apartments ? I don't think so.

Room Tip: I would advise to take a higher room (to have less noise from bars etc.).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Let me start off by saying I was glad we emailed we were to be a late arrival. The young woman was nice enough to stay until after midnight when we arrived. The apartment was @ the corner and in a central location to downtown. Easy walking distances. The place was huge. We could have easily settled in for a longer stay. The first night was a little loud downstairs, but you could turn on the fan and close the windows if need be. Parking is tricky. You can park a few blocks over under the shopping center. If you leave your car parked for an extended period of time you may want to take notice of the car wash employees for assistance, just be careful when leaving so you don't drive where you are not supposed to. Prague is 0 tolerance by the way. One reason to leave the car parked.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pupster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed in Prague for 7 days on September 2013 in the Old Town Square Apartments.
We are family of 2 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 little kids that got the perfect apartment we could think of. It has 3 big bedrooms, kitchen with stoves, oven, coffee machine, dish washer and about everything you have in your own house. There are 2 toilets and bathroom with laundry machine. A big LCD TV in the living room with decent sound system. Well, for family with kids it felt like home and this is really important. The apartment is less than 2 minutes away from the old town square in a building with elevator. The people at Old Town Square Apartments are kind and helpful. We got there a bit earlier on the arrival day and our flight back was late in the evening. They helped us right away preparing the apartment earlier and on the day we left they gave us few more hours to check out. The important thing is that not only us the parents felt like home but also our children found themselves in a cozy and welcoming place.

Room Tip: The Old Town Square apartments has office on Stupartska 9, Prague 1 and probably some apartments the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The pictures on net were fantastic, unfortunately this did note represent the apartment we were given. Up until the day before our arrival we did not know the location of our apartment. To our shock we were taken to another area from reception which had 3 flights of stairs without a lift. The apartment itself was fine, but service was not great. Noisy at night as above a bar. We were here for 4 days without any services even though we were promised this would happen. We had to ask for fresh towels. Having said all that the location was fantastic. Very close to the old town square.
We would not recommend this apartment as we did not get what we thought we would.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We chose these apartments because they had wifi advertised. The only place we could get wifi was on the landing/stairs outside the apartment or downstairs near the front door and then it constantly dropped out. When we complained they told us it was our iPads and phones that didn't work properly - all five of them! We told them we had no problem in other hotels/coffee shops, etc in Prague but they could not care. They had construction work going on and as we were staying for a week we were assured that it would not start before 9.30, am but they started every day at 7.30 - 8.00 am. The oven was filthy and had not been cleaned in years. The lights in the bathroom didn't work and many bulbs were blown throughout the apartment, the shower didn't work and had to be replaced. They rationed toilet roll, towels, etc. - it was all very petty and a bit of a nightmare. I tried on several occasions to find the manager to complain but he avoided us constantly. The noise from the bars below was deafening at times and went till 4 am in the morning. This is clearly a case of bad management and not caring about or for the guests. On a bright note Prague is wonderful, just be careful about where you stay.

Room Tip: Avoid and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#116 of 649 in Prague
382 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Salvator Superior Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Apartments Tynska 7
Apartments Tynska 7
#32 of 656 in Prague
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
4 Arts Suites
4 Arts Suites
#11 of 656 in Prague
177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cathedral Prague Apartments
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOOo Downtown
MOOo Downtown
#2 of 656 in Prague
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Square Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Square Apartments

Property: Old Town Square Apartments
Address: Stupartska 9 | Stare Mesto, Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Town Square Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Town Square Apartments are located right in the historic centre of Prague, only 200 metres from Old Town Square and the famous Astronomical clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Town Square Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing