We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate springs to mind !”
Review of Hotel Leon D'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Ranked #205 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Leon D'Oro is a comfortable place to stay without being exceptional,the rooms are warm and clean as was the bedding.The bathrooms are functional and there is always plenty of hot water, clean towels were provided every day.There is a kettle,electric rings and a fridge all which worked well,breakfast was over a 3hr period which is ideal for late risers, choice was a little limited but it was perfectly edible.The best things for me were the excellent location of the hotel for sight seeing
and the helpfulness of the staff who went out of their way to help !
I would love to visit the wonderful city of Prague again and would have no qualms about staying at the Leon D'Oro again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete777inthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have been to this hotel in January and did not pay more than 45 Euros a night incl. breakfast and Wifi. Parking is 25 Euros / night in an own garage with limited space. The parking prices are similar all over Praha.

The room had a big bath room, own kitchen and double bed. All nice and clean.

I reduced one star since the hotel is VERY difficult to reach by car. Its right at the pedestrain area at the Wenzels place. I would advise to go by taxi from the airport there. A car is not needed in Praha. (Since I was on a business trip I needed one).

I could not enjoy the breakfast since I had to leave very early before breakfast was served.

Finally I would like to recommend this hotel for city visits to Praha. BUT LEAVE YOUR CAR AT HOME!

Room Tip: Ask for room in upper levels; they are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keule1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel was aweful in so many ways, dirty room, old smelly furniture with stains and dust, dilapidated bathroom and the shower ran hot and cold, and rude staff. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, but I would never ever stay here again- there are plenty of other good options in Prague.

Room Tip: if you want a good room, choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I've just spent 5 days here and am very happy indeed.
Someone in Reception smokes in that tiny office which is very unpleasant coming and going!!
The room is huge as is the bathroom - the water pressure in the shower is great and constant as is the temperature.
Free wifi in room works consistently well.
Leon D'Oro is fabulously situated - a 2 minute walk to Old City Square where there's many shops, good eateries and the Astronomical Clock. 2 minutes in the other direction is a great market and more shops and then, it's just 5 minutes to the huge Wenceslas Square (which actually isn't a square at all). I didn't use public transport at all!!
Reception is very good (except for the stench of stale cigarettes!!). In particular, the lovely Sasha!! Nothing is too much trouble for Sasha and, if she doesn't know 'the answer', she doesn't stop until she finds out!! Sasha would be an asset to 'the poshest' of
establishments.
You can even bring your dog here - I think it's a Euro a day for the dog.
This would be fabulous for families - the rooms are huge, there's hotplates, a sink and a fridge.
Breakfast is fine - not exceptional from my point of view - I like stewed fruit n muesli myself but absolutely fine.
I'll be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I can't recognize the hotel from the reviews I read here. My room had poor lightning, small window, old furniture, odd bedroom in the middle of the room (no window). The breakfast was very basic, the orange juice had run out both mornings I was there and was not refilled. I definitely wouldn't stay here again, although the location is central.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel has a great location, I stayed here over christmas with my family and had a great time. The staff were friendly and were able to give us directions and recommendations about places to go. The room was cleaned each day and were comfortable and warm. Breakfast each morning was plentiful and had a good array of choices. I would certainly recommend this hotel and I'd returning to Prague I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Location of the hotel is great, I have choosen this hotel for location and price (excellent price for a 4 star hotel when booking via Internet) - once checked-in the rooms, understand why price was such a bargain as it feels like a 2 star hotel not 4 stars - furnitures are the cheapest possible, rooms are not cleaned every day and broken handles in shower, smelly bathroom - will never book again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#220 of 646 in Prague
847 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 646 in Prague
749 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bologna
Residence Bologna
#298 of 646 in Prague
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#71 of 646 in Prague
1,603 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#89 of 646 in Prague
2,131 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#118 of 646 in Prague
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon D'Oro

Address: Havelska 496/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Residence Leon D'Oro)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £50 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Leon D'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leon D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Leon d`Oro Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing