We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel in the center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel & Spa Carolline
Ranked #30 of 364 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very nice stay. Clean, comfortable, great experience. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful.
Spacious and modern decorated apartment with all possible equipment. Good location, near river Vltava, 5-10 minute walk to the square and bridge.
We had a wonderful time. I would definately recommend this beatiful hotel .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Spa Carolline
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent! It's a very good place to stay in Prague. We have just been there for 3 days (20/23 february 2014). The aparthotel is a few minutes walking from the Charle's Bridge and from the Old Town Square. The appartment was charming, with an entirely hand-painted wooden beam ceiling. The rooms are spacious, confortables and provided of all the facilities you might need. The staff has always been available for any request. Helena, the owner, made us feel at home. When we got there, she welcomed us in a very nice way. Once, in the evening, she even gave us some hand-made pastries. She surprised us when, at the moment of leaving the hotel, she gave us a little present and some “delicious hand-made sandwiches” for our trip back home. If we should ever come back to Prague, we will surely reserve the Carolline Spa Aparthotel again.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs choose the first floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARYPUJIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we booked this hotel from bookings.com where is says its a 2 bedroom! don't be fooled it is a 1 bedroom plus a sofa bed in the lounge they feel this = and second bedroom but this is not the case, while the owner gave some amazing service at the start and tried to fix things its very clear she feels she can mislead the public with the 2 bedroom
The bed broke every night in the 1 bedroom the slats came out and as the bed was against the wall its very very hard to get out
the stairs are so bad with no help with your bags they are very thin and if your on the 2nd and 3rd floors very hard to get to
Staff the make staff member we found overly rude we were not in the hotel even 5 min and he was trying to make us buy a spa treatment, which was totally unacceptable, he was in no way welcoming
we paid 230euro a night not worth it at all over over priced for what you can get in the area, we did this only because it was a 2 bedroom
breakfast while nice the first day took 45 min for coffee and over an hour for food not good at all
I really write this review because the owner said she was going to change the 2 bedroom to 1 bedroom and did not do it, and because she said the male would not be continuing with her but then writes a response to bookings.com saying he has 14 years in the industry, this does not make him good with people of customer service, I have 20 years in hospitality and this isnt good service
While she tries to give good service and then gives you wine and things to make up for things this does not make up for the lies on bookings.com 2 bedroom should be 2 bedroom not 1 bedroom with the lounge as the 2nd bedroom so buyer beware!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel/apartment
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mattanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We just came back from spending one of the most wonderful weekends in Prague with my family. Regarding the accommodation we (couple + a 1,5yo baby) were absolutely overwhelmed by the highly professional customer oriented approach of the ladies running the hotel. We have never ever experienced service like this after having traveled across lots of destinations worldwide. The place consists of 3 appartments, is located in the heart of the city but at the same time is very quiet, accommodating and spacious. We stayed in the appartment #2 which consists of one very nice living room, bed room, toilet, nice bathroom and a hallway. There is naturally a free wifi around with very good connectivity. I also took advantage of the local spa, the prices are great, we even got a 20% discount on the thai massage which was excellent. The breafast in the nearby cafe "school" which was part of the deal was absolutely amazing. We could not believe that somebody is able to put together so much quality, care, very central location and a very competitive price at the same time. I can definitely only recommend you this place as it was one of our truly highly positive experiences we have ever had while staying in Prague. Keep up the good job and your success is guaranteed. You ladies made our day!

Room Tip: All are greatly decorated, quiet and very spacious. You can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My brother and I recently spent a weekend in one of the rooms and found the lodgings to be absolutely fantastic. From the arrangements until checkout, the owner and staff were excellent. The lodgings are quite large with separate main bedroom, shower room, bathroom, and a large main room with a kitchen side and a living room side (tv and convertible couch to large bed).

The neighborhood was just around the corner from the Charles Bridge and only a few hundred meters from the Main square. Easy, easy walking to most attractions, including castle, astronomical clock tower, many churches and synagogues, the Jewish cemetery, museums, and hundreds of shops, cafe's, bars and galleries. And trams and subways take you to the rest.

Helena and Annette (mother and daughter) were fantastic hosts, providing excellent recommendations for food, beer and song.

The apartment is very quiet when windows are closed, but when open, allow in the street talk - really nice area. We both tried Czech absinthe just a few doors down from hotel.

I also recommend the spa services. I had a 90 minute hot oil massage that was perfect after a day at Kutna Hora and Sedlec.

All in all, one of the best places we have stayed in many years of long weekend trips in Europe. Next time, I'll bring wife and kids for more nights and hope we can rebook this hotel!

Room Tip: No elevator, but steps are easy to navigate with bags. Breakfast is available across the street and...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Carolline and liked the hotel very much. The suite was gorgeous, location was excellent, and the hotel staff very personable. Delicious breakfasts were provided across the street. I had to seek medical attention at one point during our stay, and Annette was able to point me in the right direction immediately.

One issue to flag-- the suite on the third floor has a flight of steps up to the bedroom. They are beautiful, but treacherous to navigate at night. I would not recommend this room to anyone who has trouble with stairs, balance, or depth-perception.

We did encounter a problem: the hotel only gave us one key and they do not keep an extra on the premises. Consequently, when we split up one day, the person who arrived at the hotel early had to wait in the lobby for awhile.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Helena's hospitality and friendliness are the outstanding features of our experience. Her beautiful restoration of this heritage site is to be lauded. The fresh fruit, juices, breads, pastries, cheeses and meats delivered every morning were outstanding. The bath and kitchenette are modern and functional, the apartment was clean and the bedding comfortable. The rest is full of the charm of antiquity.
Having a glass of wine with Helena in the lobby in the early evening as her friends dropped by to say hello afforded the opportunity to meet and converse with locals. A very special memory.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Smetana Hotel
Smetana Hotel
#82 of 648 in Prague
1,465 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#71 of 648 in Prague
1,086 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 648 in Prague
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Royal Boutique Residence
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Red Chair Hotel
Red Chair Hotel
#16 of 364 in Prague
607 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Dolce Vita Suites
Dolce Vita Suites
#4 of 364 in Prague
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Carolline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Carolline

Address: Karoliny Svetle 285/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: £111 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Carolline 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Spa Carolline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing