We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible quality”

Ristorante Pizzeria LaScala
Ranked #1,244 of 5,468 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Horrible quality”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is one of the worst italian restaurants I've been in my life.
It is a nice restaurant centrally located and with friendly staff. We ate downstairs, It was very hot and not pleasant at all.
My advice for them is that they travel to Italy to do a deep dive into Italian cooking

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    99
    63
    29
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't buy the water - all else is smooth sailing”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We were walking around the most central part of Prague near Old Town Square and wandered upon this charming little Italian place with both, outdoor and indoor eating - as well as a cosy basement. The breads were delicious and along with a salami pizza we ordered a portion of pork knuckles. Juicy, tender and a big helping - we were more than full. Made the mistake of buying water here, which cost as much as the whole pizza! But other that that, it's not too pricey and the service is good. Would definitely go here again if I visit! Yum.

Helpful?
Thank diwangnak
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Special dining experience in "hidden" basement”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stumbled upon this cosy Italian restaurant by accident. We were on our way to the Old Town Square when we saw the name on a handwritten signboard outside. It is located just off the Old Town Square, underneath the Tyn Church. The entrance is a little hidden but if you ask for it you will find it and it’s worth searching for.

There are two areas to sit inside the restaurant. The area on the ground floor, where you enter, is nice, but we sat in the “basement”, which we thought was really special, as you go down the rugged stairs. It feels like you are entering a medieval, underground chamber with the rugged stone walls and low, romantic lighting.(If you have trouble reading a menu in low light, take a torch with.) In summer there is also outside seating.

The service was friendly and professional and when we asked, our waiter gave us some good recommendations. For a small appetizer, on the house, they provide you with delicious ciabatta bread served with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and chive butter. For a main course I had the spaghetti Bolognaise and my husband had the traditional Czech Eisbein (pickled ham hock). The spaghetti serving was not huge but just enough and really good. The only thing left on my husband’s plate was the bones of the Eisbein – the meat was incredibly soft and tasty. We had it with a really delicious red house wine. We shared a carafe, which was enough for two and a half glasses of wine. Even though we were greatly tempted by the Panna cotta and Tiramisu we were to full to have dessert.

When the bill came we were pleasantly surprised by the reasonable price for such a good dinner. The restaurant takes Euros, if you prefer, however it seems like it works out a little cheaper if you pay in their local currency, Koruna.

We thought it is a great idea to have a restaurant located in an old basement in such an old city. It really makes it quite a special and very charming dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellersNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming eaterie in a touristy corner”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had heard that the Italian food was a winner in Prague and, being hungry in the extreme, came to LaScala without great expectation as it is in a very touristy corner of Old Town Square tucked in a fold of the church. We ate upstairs which was cosier than down. We had a pasta each and it was divine; really well cooked sauces with home-made pasta with a simple green salad and a good bottle of wine. Just what we needed. Reasonably priced in an area which is renowned for being over-priced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fortnight52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great building, nice food & prices”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We popped in here to get a simple dinner on out first night in Prague. It's a lot bigger than it looks from the outside with loads of seats downstairs in a great building.

2 courses & drinks was 500CZK, very reasonable and decent quality for the tourist area.

Helpful?
Thank John J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria LaScala also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria LaScala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing