We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy little hotel, conveniently situated”
Review of Caruso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caruso
Ranked #265 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy little hotel, conveniently situated”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for a week at the Caruso. We were 6 people (2 adults, 4 children) and had booked two rooms and asked for an extra bed in each.

The rooms turned out to be very big, so we ended up moving the extra beds to one room, thus making a separate room for the children. The hotel gives a good impression, being clean and with free wi-fi that generally worked very well. The bathrooms were also very nice and clean.

Breakfast is included, but it should be said that some days the staff had difficulty keeping up with the hungry guests. But still the buffet was nice with something for everybody, although a little bit on the Italian side with an ample supply of cakes and sweet stuff, but also fresh fruit every day.

The staff may seem a bit stuffy and authoritative, however they turned out to be very service minded. Our daughter had accidentally placed a bag with her swimwear and mobile in the wastepaper-bin. We found out two days later and told the concierge without expectations. However, amazingly they succeeded in revovering the bag. Furthermore, we were give a late check-out without surcharge.

If you are sensitive to noise, you should not have a room with windows to the street. Close to the hotels are two very popular bare (The Drunken Monkey and another boozing joint) and they attract noisy crowds. The windows are however very effective against noise, but a summer in Prague may be very hot and you will then like to sleep with your windows open.

In total, the Caruso is a nice family hotel, that perhaps should be rated with three or three and a half stars.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aagekrogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    141
    51
    25
    29
See reviews for
47
138
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrocław
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Lovely hotel. Room was big enough, everything was clean, the service was as expected. My only complain could be about the breakfast which could offer more variety. The price/quality ratio was very good especially considering the great location of the hotel - it is very close to the old town but just far enough to provide privacy and good sleep (no noises from outside). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Convenient location in Jewish Quarter, a few feet from Spanish Synogogue. Recently renovated in lovely old bldg. Restaurant is wonderfully decorated. Lobby is drab and uninviting. Breakfast is generous with good variety including several breads, eggs, sausage, juices, muesli, yogurt, all beverages, etc. Spacious room, comfortable bathroom, clean, internet, elevator, friendly staff. I would stay here again and recommend it with these caveats: No a/c; no comfortable chair in room for viewing TV or reading - only one wood, armless, ladderback chair. We asked for a reading chair and they could only provide us with an office task chair on wheels; flattest pillows I have ever seen made sitting up in bed to read or watch TV, impossible. Feather comforter too hot, no other bedding was available. What do people do in the summer? On our last night, we asked front desk to please order a taxi for our early morning departure. They were not allowed to call a taxi for us because the hotel provides its own shuttle service (at a higher cost). We also learned that we could not call the taxi ourselves because our room phones do not make outside calls. This was very strange and very off-putting. If Hotel Caruso can fix these easily fixable little problems, they will have a FABULOUS hotel instead of a merely good one. I don't fault the staff - they were very good - but management needs to address these issues if they wish to grow their business and not be penny wise and dollar foolish. We were here for 8 nights in June 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hailvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel is a rip off. They advertise themselves as a 4 star hotel, which they are not. Maximum star would be acceptable is between 2-3. The location is superb. BUT the hotel staff is really unfriendly and not too co operative. The food quality is very poor and the selection is very annoying! The trays were empty, there was no juice, no fruits, nothing but empty trays and omlette was being made from egg powder, but definitely not from egg. There is no air condition in the room, the carpets are dirty, there is NO minibar, there is an old fridge which is out of order, there is a min TV and very old type of furnitures. NO parking, even though if they promise. They don't put enough toilet paper in the room and no hangers either. I will never go back to this place, that is for sure, but of course it is up to you. Cos of its location, it can be a good choice for only one night though.

Room Tip: 408 has a beer view, but the interior of the rooms are rally poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week in mid-October; I cannot say anything but good things about this charming hotel in Josefov. The location was perfect: close to both Malá Strana and Hradčany across the river as well as to Staré Mesto, within walking distance from Staromestská Metro station, yet in a quiet neighbourhod. Big room, comfortable beds, in-room safe, electric kettle, bathroom area of a generous size, nice breakfast, helpful staff. On top of all this, very inexpensive compared to other Major European cities.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iglikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I found Hotel Caruso at a very discounted rate, and I would take that into account when ready my review. I had a single room, for 3 nights. Shower worked well (no problem with varying temperature), room was clean and overall space for a single bed room was pretty good. I liked having an empty fridge compared to a stocked mini bar. Found the front desk friendly and helpful. You could hear a lot in the halls but it was not that busy in October so it did not bother me. I did not try the breakfast in the morning. I did not find the hotel out of the way at all, old town in Prague is very compact and easy to get around.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawayplans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Hotel has a very good location, 5 min walk to the old-town and 1 min walk to the river. They advertise themselves as a 4* place, i'd give it max 3,5*... feels like the room doors are made of paper, you can hear everything that is going on in the hallway. Strangest thing was that in 4* hotel there is no minibar.

Overall feeling was rather average, with a little bit of work this hotel could be really nice. Next time in Prague i will probably try another place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vipu_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#74 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Brehova - Prague City Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
President Hotel Prague
President Hotel Prague
#190 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
No photo provided
Old Town Boutique hotel
#505 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Casa Marcello
Hotel Casa Marcello
#168 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#82 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caruso

Property: Caruso
Address: U milosrdnych 867/2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caruso 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: In an ideal location for visiting Prague in absolute comfort in the heart of the Jewish Quarter 30 m away . from the Spanish Synagogue, 3 minutes walk from Namesti Starometke, 100 m. from Via Pariska, famous for its beautiful art nouveau buildings and the shops of the most prestigious brands in the world, housed in a liberty building of 1908, the Hotel Caruso, with new Italian management, offers elegant interiors and well furnished, rooms equipped with every comfort, minibar, safes, free Wi-Fi, flat screen satellite TV, direct dial telephone.The breakfast buffet, including delicious sweets mostly home-cooked, with cheese andItalian salami and Czech, salads and fruit, definitely represents the added value of the hotel.The bar offers an excellent espresso coffee ,a wide range of cocktails and Italian wines.A fine restaurant with excellent Italian cuisine is located in the cellar , where it is possible to book half-board with fixed menu or a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing