We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here at your peril...”
Review of Caruso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caruso
Ranked #263 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stay here at your peril...”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I would not advise people to stay at this hotel for the following reasons:
1.On arrival, we were downgraded to an appartment hotel which had been graded a three star however in ireland this would not make 1 star.
2.The hotel charged the full amount for the stay on arrival rather than than the deposit and the outstanding amount on departure.
3.Reasonable reasons for the change of hotel was not given, although it was later disclosed by a member of staff that the hotel often overbooks. It was also suggested by staff that if the hotel charged more to tourist than this (i.e. overbooking) would not happen.
3.Customer service was atrocious and certainly staff did not make us feel welcomed.
4.On two of the three mornings we arrived down for breakfast at 10,00am and there was no bread or english breakfast tea left. When we mentioned it to staff, they pointed us in the direction of the table and no further efforts were made to see if there was anymore stock left in the kitchen. On the last morning we were down at 9.00am and luckily we had some croissants and tea.
5.The rooms were also not sound proof and doors were heard being constantly banged closed on the Friday night/saturday morning
6. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room and only net curtains in the room.
7. We booked a twin room but we all we got was a double bed and a single camp bed which was not suitable for sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eimear N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    143
    52
    25
    29
See reviews for
47
139
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We spent 3 night in the hotel, we arrived around 11:20 pm, but it wasn't a problem because the hotel is open 24h with kind front desk receptionists. The rooms are ok, in the TV there were only chech channels, and in bad quality but who cares, we didn't came for watching it, anyway there is free WiFi on every floor including -1 (dining hall) not to miss the news The view from the room was great, to the frontage of the Church of St. Simon and Judy.(half of the rooms has the same) The area is tranquil so you could sleep well. The bathroom was clean, refilled with soap and shampoo everyday if used, even they change the towels everyday from the hook, which we found wasting. The minibar was out of order, and empty as well, and it's usual so don't expect much, but we didn't need it. In the room the temperature was a bit high, so after returning from the all day long walk on the chily streets it's quiet good. Unfortunately the maid left our room open the first day, so for 2-3 hours it remained unattended, but we kept the money in the safe which functions good, and nothing has disappeared. The breakfast is from 7:30-10:30, but I guess it can vary. There were no big selection of food, 3types of cereal, orange/apple juice, toast+toaster, 1 type of ham, salami, cheese, scrambled egg, boiled egg, coffee and tea, and a few other things, the selection changes so if you are lucky you get the tasty croissant as well:) The main strength of the hotel is the location, because if you aren't lazy you can walk everywhere, we didn't spend on public transport and walked 10kms a day, but the main sights are within a 1-1,5 km circle (5-10 min walk), and the district Josefov is really trsanquil. So on the whole I could suggest this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88DanielV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hotel is very nice, the rooms are not so big but they are very clean, with a daily change of the towels. It's located near the centre of the city, which you can reach on foot. The staff is kind except for the the waiters in the dining room. The food is italian and quite good, even though sometimes it was cold.
P.S. The pillows are not very comfortable! I had stiff neck for all the week!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lo_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Very good hotel, perfect location.
Double room was big enough and quiet.
Service very good. Found the front desk friendly and helpful.
Only 5min to old town and shopping street. 1min to the river

Breakfast is basic and ok. Bread, eggs, sausages etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanne-M76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located at a mere 10 minute walk to the Old Town Square, in the heart of the Josefov quarter (the Spanish Synagogue is around the corner).

The double room we've stayed in was clean and rather spacious. The amenities are not those for a 4-star hotel (as they advertise) but are nonetheless comfortable and clean.

The breakfast was more than OK, with plenty to choose from and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreea_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for a week at the Caruso. We were 6 people (2 adults, 4 children) and had booked two rooms and asked for an extra bed in each.

The rooms turned out to be very big, so we ended up moving the extra beds to one room, thus making a separate room for the children. The hotel gives a good impression, being clean and with free wi-fi that generally worked very well. The bathrooms were also very nice and clean.

Breakfast is included, but it should be said that some days the staff had difficulty keeping up with the hungry guests. But still the buffet was nice with something for everybody, although a little bit on the Italian side with an ample supply of cakes and sweet stuff, but also fresh fruit every day.

The staff may seem a bit stuffy and authoritative, however they turned out to be very service minded. Our daughter had accidentally placed a bag with her swimwear and mobile in the wastepaper-bin. We found out two days later and told the concierge without expectations. However, amazingly they succeeded in revovering the bag. Furthermore, we were give a late check-out without surcharge.

If you are sensitive to noise, you should not have a room with windows to the street. Close to the hotels are two very popular bare (The Drunken Monkey and another boozing joint) and they attract noisy crowds. The windows are however very effective against noise, but a summer in Prague may be very hot and you will then like to sleep with your windows open.

In total, the Caruso is a nice family hotel, that perhaps should be rated with three or three and a half stars.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aagekrogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrocław
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Lovely hotel. Room was big enough, everything was clean, the service was as expected. My only complain could be about the breakfast which could offer more variety. The price/quality ratio was very good especially considering the great location of the hotel - it is very close to the old town but just far enough to provide privacy and good sleep (no noises from outside). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
President Hotel Prague
President Hotel Prague
#190 of 649 in Prague
1,067 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
No photo provided
Old Town Boutique hotel
#500 of 649 in Prague
1 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Brehova - Prague City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 649 in Prague
518 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Casa Marcello
Hotel Casa Marcello
#163 of 649 in Prague
556 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caruso

Property: Caruso
Address: U milosrdnych 867/2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caruso 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: In an ideal location for visiting Prague in absolute comfort in the heart of the Jewish Quarter 30 m away . from the Spanish Synagogue, 3 minutes walk from Namesti Starometke, 100 m. from Via Pariska, famous for its beautiful art nouveau buildings and the shops of the most prestigious brands in the world, housed in a liberty building of 1908, the Hotel Caruso, with new Italian management, offers elegant interiors and well furnished, rooms equipped with every comfort, minibar, safes, free Wi-Fi, flat screen satellite TV, direct dial telephone.The breakfast buffet, including delicious sweets mostly home-cooked, with cheese andItalian salami and Czech, salads and fruit, definitely represents the added value of the hotel.The bar offers an excellent espresso coffee ,a wide range of cocktails and Italian wines.A fine restaurant with excellent Italian cuisine is located in the cellar , where it is possible to book half-board with fixed menu or a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing