We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caruso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caruso
Ranked #255 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

we booked this hotel through one of the web-sites, paid for it month in advance, one week before our stay we have been told that the owner has changed and we will have to pay again for this hotel. we wanted to cancel our stay but we were told by the hotel that even if we cancel - full rate will be taken from our account - so we went there.

the hotel was close to city centre and this would be the only one good point to go there

hotel is a 4 star hotel but I would give them only 1 star, the room was dirty, carpets need replacement, no views from the windows, we had room 505 on the last floor and all we could see it was a wall and roof of the church

bathroom sink was blocked and to drain water we had to wait good 5 minutes, shower was a disaster – for 4 days I could not wash my hair as water was going on the walls rather the person who was taking the shower, water was dripping – not good water pressure

we didn’t have breakfast in the hotel as I read bad review on trip advisor before, hotel didn’t look friendly – there are plenty of good bars around – including Irish pub just behind the corner ;-))

one morning cleaning lady just entered our room without knocking – and we were still in bed!

the other day after all day walking around Prague we came back to our room and noticed the door has not been locked by cleaning lady so everyone could enter our room and take whatever was inside - nightmare

at the checkout we were asked by receptionist to pay again for this hotel, they were other people checking out at the same time – all of us refused and we showed them our bank transfers that we already paid for this hotel already

I can see other comments and plenty of people complained as they had to pay twice for the same room - which for me was one big fraud

Room Tip: the heighest floor possible as this hotel is surrounded by other buildings so at the last floor at l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chuislemogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    139
    50
    24
    28
See reviews for
46
137
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had originally come to Prague for a day trip, then decided at last minute to stay the night. Tried a couple of hotels by the river and they were full, then found this one, and they did have a room. Attractive building from outside, and close to the old town, so we thought we were lucky. Price (70 euro one night inc. breakfast) seems fair for "walk up" rate, it may be cheaper booked online. Room was quite big, but let down by very old carpet with several stains, and the furniture was a bit dated, however the bed was very comfortable. There was a flat screen tv, but very small. Bathroom was reasonably big. The street was quiet apart from one or two inconsiderate tourist groups making a lot of noise. Breakfast (in basement) was average quality. Overall, not a bad place, but if some more renovation was done, it could be really nice. ps. for car parking, you can park in the spaces marked by white lines (NOT in the blue lined area) free until 8am, then you have to pay 1.20 Euro per hour (the meters also take euros)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jag552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The location of the hotel is great, right in the middle of everything and very easy to get to. The hotel was clean and comfortable although a little warm and the air conditioning didn't work. We were on the 5th floor so we left our windows open at all times. Breakfast was included, it mainly consisted of cakes, some cereal and buns. There was also a choice of scrambled eggs and sausages which didn't look very appealing. There's no restaurant and only a small bar next to reception which we used on one of the nights. Overall good for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Our room was too hot, no air con. Infested with black beatles, flushed about 30 of them down the toilet. Wifi didnt really work in the room, had to go to the lobby. Bathroom was missing the venting just a dirty black hole in the ceiling. On the positive side the location is great but that's all that's positive. Rude clerks at the check in. I can go on and on. If location is all you care about then by all means stay there. I wont again. Will try to upload pictures.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOT1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

When you get past the location being so nice, this hotel does not offer that much. The good things were that the hotel was clean and there is free wifi on every floor. The bad: the staff is slightly rude and only gave us 1 room key for two people. I think the hotel is doing all they can with the property they have but it is not much.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JarvisC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I would not advise people to stay at this hotel for the following reasons:
1.On arrival, we were downgraded to an appartment hotel which had been graded a three star however in ireland this would not make 1 star.
2.The hotel charged the full amount for the stay on arrival rather than than the deposit and the outstanding amount on departure.
3.Reasonable reasons for the change of hotel was not given, although it was later disclosed by a member of staff that the hotel often overbooks. It was also suggested by staff that if the hotel charged more to tourist than this (i.e. overbooking) would not happen.
3.Customer service was atrocious and certainly staff did not make us feel welcomed.
4.On two of the three mornings we arrived down for breakfast at 10,00am and there was no bread or english breakfast tea left. When we mentioned it to staff, they pointed us in the direction of the table and no further efforts were made to see if there was anymore stock left in the kitchen. On the last morning we were down at 9.00am and luckily we had some croissants and tea.
5.The rooms were also not sound proof and doors were heard being constantly banged closed on the Friday night/saturday morning
6. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room and only net curtains in the room.
7. We booked a twin room but we all we got was a double bed and a single camp bed which was not suitable for sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eimear N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We spent 3 night in the hotel, we arrived around 11:20 pm, but it wasn't a problem because the hotel is open 24h with kind front desk receptionists. The rooms are ok, in the TV there were only chech channels, and in bad quality but who cares, we didn't came for watching it, anyway there is free WiFi on every floor including -1 (dining hall) not to miss the news The view from the room was great, to the frontage of the Church of St. Simon and Judy.(half of the rooms has the same) The area is tranquil so you could sleep well. The bathroom was clean, refilled with soap and shampoo everyday if used, even they change the towels everyday from the hook, which we found wasting. The minibar was out of order, and empty as well, and it's usual so don't expect much, but we didn't need it. In the room the temperature was a bit high, so after returning from the all day long walk on the chily streets it's quiet good. Unfortunately the maid left our room open the first day, so for 2-3 hours it remained unattended, but we kept the money in the safe which functions good, and nothing has disappeared. The breakfast is from 7:30-10:30, but I guess it can vary. There were no big selection of food, 3types of cereal, orange/apple juice, toast+toaster, 1 type of ham, salami, cheese, scrambled egg, boiled egg, coffee and tea, and a few other things, the selection changes so if you are lucky you get the tasty croissant as well:) The main strength of the hotel is the location, because if you aren't lazy you can walk everywhere, we didn't spend on public transport and walked 10kms a day, but the main sights are within a 1-1,5 km circle (5-10 min walk), and the district Josefov is really trsanquil. So on the whole I could suggest this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88DanielV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#71 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Brehova - Prague City Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
President Hotel Prague
President Hotel Prague
#196 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
No photo provided
Old Town Boutique hotel
#508 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Casa Marcello
Hotel Casa Marcello
#165 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caruso

Property: Caruso
Address: U milosrdnych 867/2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caruso 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: In an ideal location for visiting Prague in absolute comfort in the heart of the Jewish Quarter 30 m away . from the Spanish Synagogue, 3 minutes walk from Namesti Starometke, 100 m. from Via Pariska, famous for its beautiful art nouveau buildings and the shops of the most prestigious brands in the world, housed in a liberty building of 1908, the Hotel Caruso, with new Italian management, offers elegant interiors and well furnished, rooms equipped with every comfort, minibar, safes, free Wi-Fi, flat screen satellite TV, direct dial telephone.The breakfast buffet, including delicious sweets mostly home-cooked, with cheese andItalian salami and Czech, salads and fruit, definitely represents the added value of the hotel.The bar offers an excellent espresso coffee ,a wide range of cocktails and Italian wines.A fine restaurant with excellent Italian cuisine is located in the cellar , where it is possible to book half-board with fixed menu or a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing